If you would like to request a hearing or file an appeal for contract termination, non-renewal, or suspension without pay, refer to the information on this page.
To search for decisions issued by the commissioner and recommendations issued by an independent hearing examiner, search the commissioner's decisions and local hearing recommendations database.
Independent Hearing Examiner
Independent Hearing Examiner
The Texas Education Agency is seeking qualified
attorneys to act as independent hearing examiners in local school district
employment hearings. The independent hearing examiner will preside over
hearings involving a nonrenewal or termination of educator employment
contracts. Click here for more information.
Application for Independent Hearing Examiner Recertification Affidavit for returning Independent Hearing Examiners
Information on the certification criteria for Independent Hearing Examiners can be found in Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 157, subchapter D.
If you would like to file a complaint against an Independent Hearing Examiner, you may download and complete the form and submit it to our office. Please click here complaint form.
Request for an assignment of an Independent Hearing Examiner
If you are a teacher and have a received a notice from your school board that your contract has been proposed for termination, non-renewed, or suspended without pay, you have the option to request a hearing to the commissioner of education. You must file a written request not later than the 15th day after the date you receive written notice. If you have a continuing contract you must notify the board of trustees not later than the 10th day after the date you receive notice. Texas Education Code, Chapter 21, section 21.159.
Please also refer to Texas Education Code, Chapter 21, Subchapter F and Hearings Conducted by an Independent Hearing Examiner.
File an Appeal
TEA does not provide forms or pleading examples due the variety of cases that are filed.
If you filed a parent or employment grievance and a decision has been reached by your district's school board, you may file an appeal in writing to the commissioner of education. Please refer to Texas Education Code 7.057. If you believe your appeal is governed by this statue, you have 45 days from the date you were told about the decision to file a Petition for Review in writing with the commissioner. Please refer to Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 157, Subchapter AA and BB for detailed information on this process.
Texas Education Code, Section 7.057(a) says:
A person may appeal in writing to the commissioner if the person is aggrieved by:
(1) the school laws of this state; or
(2) actions or decisions of any school district board of trustees that violate:
(A) the school laws of this state; or
(B) a provision of a written employment contract between the school district and a school district employee, if a violation causes or would cause monetary harm to the employee.
If you are a teacher and your contract has been terminated, non-renewed, or you have been suspended without pay by your district's school board, please refer to Texas Education Code, Chapter 21. If you believe your appeal is governed by Texas Education Code Chapter 21, you have 20 days after the decision of the school board of trustees has communicated to you, to file a Petition for Review to the commissioner of education. Other timelines may be included in the statue.
Once you have determined the type of case you will filing, please refer to Chapter 157 Texas Administrative Code, Subchapter AA to find out where and how to file your documents.
Email submission of documents is not permitted. Please refer to Chapter 157 regarding the filing procedure on the above mentioned link.
For information on Texas Education Code (TEC), Chapter 21 teacher contracts, refer to the following: