Welcome to the office of Educator Testing at the Texas Education Agency. The office of Educator Testing is responsible for the overall management and monitoring of the statewide educator certification testing contract as well as the development and implementation of testing rules. This page provides testing information related to obtaining a Texas educator certificate. Texas law requires that educators pass appropriate tests to become certified. The appropriate examination(s) required for certification are specified in the Texas Administrative Code, §230.21(e). Further information about current, past, and future tests may be found below:
Information related to testing is available below:
- Test Registration and Preparation
- Pre Admissions Content Testing (PACT)
- Test Approval
- Test Scores and Reports
- Test Center Comments and Complaints
- Test-Limit Waiver Information
Additional Information Related to Testing
Additional testing information is available below:
- Deaf and Hard of Hearing Test Exemption Instructions (PDF, 79KB)
Testing Announcements and Updates
Educator Testing Staff Unavailable
Staff in the Division of Educator Testing will be unavailable by phone until further notice. In addition, we will not be available to assist visitors. If you need assistance, please submit a helpdesk ticket. Allow several business days for staff to respond to your ticket. Tickets are answered in the order received. Please make sure your email is updated in ECOS to receive any registration updates.
TEA is closely monitoring the novel Coronavirus outbreak. Please visit the Coronavirus (COVID-19) Support and Guidance webpage for important updates.
Testing Vendor Updates:
Pearson - 1-800-877-4599
Pearson reopened the Texas-based Pearson VUE-owned test centers (PPCs) for Texas Educator Certification Examination Program testing on May 1, 2020, where local guidance permits.
In support of candidates’ health and safety and the health and safety of their employees, Pearson will follow recommendations from the CDC and the World Health Organization for preventing the spread of COVID-19. Therefore, Pearson asks that candidates comply with the health and safety guidelines outlined on Pearson's COVID-19 webpage, including, but not limited to:
• acknowledging that you have not been diagnosed with COVID-19, have not had any flu-like symptoms in the last 14 days, and have not been under 14 days’ quarantine or centralized observation;
• participating in social distancing;
• wearing a face mask in locations where required; and,
• in some locations, permitting a temperature check upon arrival.
In addition, Pearson is outfitting test centers with hand sanitizer, increasing their cleaning and disinfecting regimens between testing appointments, permitting the use of disposable gloves, and, in locations where they are not required, permitting the optional use of face masks.
Many of Pearson’s partner sites, some of which may be located at colleges and universities, have been and continue to remain open. Those that have been closed are making the determination to reopen based on local guidance Please visit the Texas Educator Certification Examination Program web site at www.tx.nesinc.com for more information.
ETS – Performance Assessment for School Leaders 1-855-628-5088
Fall registration closed on October 19, 2020 at 11:59 p.m. ET.
ETS has updated their website with virtual learning environment information.
The Important Updates page contains a link to the guidance document for candidates who may be submitting their PASL assessment tasks while working in a virtual learning environment.
The PASL Assessment Task 3 Library of Examples page has been updated to include a virtual learning response for each textbox.
We will continue to provide updates periodically. This information is also available at https://www.ets.org/ppa.
The Science of Teaching Reading (STR) Exam Requirement
House Bill 3, passed during the 86th Texas Legislature, established the requirement that all teacher candidates who teach students in grades Pre-K-6 demonstrate proficiency in the science of teaching reading on a new, standalone certification exam. This requirement takes effect on January 1, 2021. Additional information can be found here: www.tea.texas.gov/str
Test-Limit Waiver Application Processing Update
No changes have currently been made to the submission process of test-limit waivers. The evaluation process takes approximately 6-8 weeks after all required documentation and the waiver fee payment have been received. You will find detailed information and helpful tips for each section of the application on the Test-Limit Waiver Information webpage.
December 1, 2020 is the deadline for candidates to submit new, missing information or corrections for the Test-Limit Waiver application for: Core Subjects EC-6, Core Subjects 4-8, English Language Arts & Reading 4-8, and English Language Arts & Reading/Social Studies 4-8.
Given the timing of this change, it is imperative that all new, missing information, and corrections are submitted as soon as possible to allow for application processing, test registration and certificate issuance prior to the new Science of Teaching Reading (STR) Requirement beginning January 1, 2020. Keep in mind that we expect our processing time frames to increase because of the major change.
TEA will not guarantee review and completion of your application before the implementation of the Science of Teaching Reading (STR) requirement if you fail to accurately complete and submit your Test-Limit Waiver application by December 1, 2020. You will not be eligible for a refund and must also pass the Science of Teaching Reading (STR) exam beginning January 1, 2020.
Test Retake Update Effective June 2, 2020
Effective June 2, 2020, the waiting period to retake a Texas educator certification examination will change from 45 days to 30 days. Please review the complete retake policy that is available on the Pearson Texas Educator Certification Examination website.
TEA ID Number Required for Test Registration
Beginning January 21, 2020, you must know your TEA ID to set up your testing account. If you are registering for the first time, you must click "ECOS for Educators" on the top toolbar and create a TEA Login (TEAL) account. When you create your account, you will complete an Educator Profile and obtain a TEA ID number. Once you have obtained a TEA ID number, go to the online registration system for the testing vendor. Be sure to enter your full name exactly as it appears on your ID. For help with TEAL account access, please submit a request to TEAL Access through the TEA Help Desk.
New Test for Pre-Admission Content Test (PACT) Applicants
Pre-Admission Content Test (PACT) candidates will take a new series of exams beginning January 27, 2020. Applicants enrolling in a preparation program that requires a PACT exam beginning January 27, 2020, must complete a passing score on the appropriate new content certification examination that corresponds with each certificate area. The PACT Transition flyer provides additional information and answers to frequently asked questions. The new TX PACT exams are not used for standard certification.
HB 3 Update - Master Teacher Update
Effective September 1, 2019, as mandated by House Bill 3 (HB 3), the State Board for Educator Certification may no longer issue new or renew master teacher certificates. In addition, master teacher certificates already issued will be updated to include the word “legacy” as part of the certificate title. The implementation of HB 3 will impact educator preparation programs (EPPs), candidates seeking master teacher certification, and current master teacher certificate holders.
Family and Consumer Science Update
Beginning July 16, 2019, Texas candidates will use the Pearson website to register and schedule exam appointments for the following AAFCS certification exams:
#200 Family & Consumer Sciences Composite
#201 Hospitality, Nutrition, & Food Science
#202 Human Development & Family Studies
Appointments for these exams will be available starting on September 9, 2019. Please visit the Pearson website to learn more about the transition. The exam questions and content will not change.
Educator Testing Transition
Beginning September 1, 2018, Pearson is the testing vendor for the Texas Educator Certification Examination Program, which includes administration of the following tests: TExES, TExMaT, TASC, and TASC-ASL. ETS will administer the new Performance Assessment for School Leaders (PASL) when it becomes effective in fall 2019. The Educator Testing Transition flyer (PDF, 56 KB) provides more information about the transition.
Educator Certification Examination Retake Limit Change
Candidates are limited to a total of 5 attempts to pass a certification examination under Texas Education Code §21.048. A subsection of the law, which currently counts all attempts of the same examination taken before September 1, 2015 as only one attempt, has expired. Beginning September 1, 2018, all attempts of the same examination, no matter when they occurred, will count toward the 5-attempt testing limit regardless of when the examination was first attempted.
Candidates, educators, and others who took certification examinations before September 1, 2015 and have not yet passed those examinations will find more information in the candidate guidance document. Testers impacted by the change must take their examination(s) by August 31, 2018 if the new test attempt counting method will make them ineligible on September 1, 2018. Candidates who reach the 5-time testing limit must apply for a test-limit waiver to retest.
Note: Individuals who did not test before September 1, 2015 are not affected by the change since all examination attempts have always been included in the attempt count for these testers. TX PACT examinations taken for intensive pre-service are subject to the 5-time test limit. TX PACT examinations taken for all other purposes are not subject to the 5-time test limit.
Principal Certification Redesign
TEA is redesigning Texas’ principal certification standards and corresponding tests. For more information, visit the Principal Certification Redesign homepage. The TExES Principal (068) exam will be available to first-time test takers through December 31, 2018, and for retesters only through August 31, 2019.
Test-Limit Waiver Information
Test takers are limited to 5 attempts on any certification examination under Texas Education Code §21.048(a-1). The State Board for Educator Certification has defined the waiver application process in Chapter 230, Subchapter C of the Texas Administrative Code and authorized TEA staff to administer the waiver process. Application information is provided on the Test-Limit Waiver Information webpage.
New Test Refund Policy
Effective September 1, 2018, all processed fees for exam registrations will be refundable up to 170 days from the completion of the initial order payment. The 170-day refund policy begins with the date the initial payment transaction was processed. If an exam is changed (e.g., change of test date), the 170-day refund policy applies to the date the payment was initially processed.
Core Subjects Registration Information
The Core Subjects EC-6 (291) and 4-8 (211) tests are offered on a continuous basis. Educators must register for and take the overall 291 or 211 tests on their first attempt. After the first attempt, educators may register for the overall 291 or 211 test or the individual subject area test if only one subject area remains to be passed. Each testing session counts as another attempt in the 5-time testing limit allowed by law. Both options require candidates to wait 45 days to retest. The score for your best attempt on each subject test is always retained, so a candidate retaking the overall exam does not need to respond to questions in subtests previously passed.
Submit a ticket through the TEA Help Desk.
Educator Testing is currently unavailable by phone. Please submit a Help Desk ticket through the link above.
TEA is closely monitoring the novel Coronavirus outbreak. Please visit the Coronavirus (COVID-19) Support and Guidance page for important updates as they become available.