Individual Graduation Committees

House Bill 999

House Bill (HB) 999 became effective on May 31, 2021. HB 999 allows students who are in 12th grade during the 2020-2021 school year to graduate regardless of the number of required assessments they have failed by going through the Individual Graduation Committee process.

House Bill 999 Frequently Asked Questions--updated June 3, 2021 (PDF)

Individual Graduation Committees

Texas Education Code §28.0258 revises the state’s assessment graduation requirements for students enrolled in the 11th or 12th grade during the 2014-2015, 2015-2016, 2016-2017, 2017-2018, 2018-2019, 2019-2020, or 2020-2021 school years. A student who has failed the EOC assessment graduation requirements for no more than two courses may receive a Texas high school diploma if the student has qualified to graduate by means of an individual graduation committee (IGC) determination.

Individual Graduation Committee Frequently Asked Questions--updated April 3, 2020 (PDF)

Alternative Graduation Requirements for Students Who Entered High School Before 2011-2012 School Year

Texas Education Code §28.02541 allows districts to award diplomas to certain students who entered high school before the 2011-2012 school year and did not receive a diploma after failing to meet assessment requirements. Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §74.1027 details the alternative graduation requirements that an individual can meet to qualify for a diploma. 

19 TAC §74.1027 Frequently Asked Questions

Contact Information

Curriculum Standards and Student Support Division
Texas Education Agency
1701 North Congress Avenue
Austin, Texas 78701-1401
(512) 463-9581