Texas EcosySTEM

Texas EcosySTEM logo

 

Connecting STEM Education and the STEM Community

The Texas Education Agency is excited to announce that we were accepted into the community of practice of the national STEM Learning Ecosystems Initiative. Learning Ecosystems provide the architecture for cross-sector learning, offering all young people access to STEM-rich learning environments so they can develop important skills and engagement in science, technology, engineering and math throughout Pre-K-20. Strong STEM Learning Ecosystems feature dynamic collaborations among schools, out-of-school time programs, STEM expert institutions (such as museums, science centers, institutions of higher education and STEM professional associations), the private sector, community-based organizations, youth and families.

 

Texas EcosySTEM Resources

The Texas Education Agency has developed tools to help districts engage with families through STEM Education programming and build awareness throughout the community by expanding learning beyond the classroom.

Sample Texas EcosySTEM ideas for pre-school through professional degrees. (Pre-K-20) (PDF)

Sample Family Engagement Ideas (PDF)

Ecosystem Engagement Checklist (PDF)

STEM Event Planning Guide (PDF)

 

Texas EcosySTEM Regional STEM Hubs

Each Education Service Center will provide free membership for districts to join the local STEM ecosySTEM. EcosySTEM membership includes:

  • Monthly STEM communication including information from the state and federal level
  • Regional STEM goals developed by a local STEM Design Team and aligned to the local STEM labor market data
  • Regular STEM ecosySTEM meetings to share local STEM opportunities and address local concerns
  • All districts will have access to the free TEA STEM planning and implementation tools as well as family engagement tools

 

Contact your Education Service Center STEM Lead to get connected to your Regional Texas EcosySTEM.

Education Service Center Contact Person Email Address
Region 1 STEM Lead Gustavo Perez
Sylvia Escobar
gperez@esc1.net
sescobar@esc1.net
Region 2 STEM Lead Sonia Gamez
Simon Rios
sonia.gamez@esc2.us
simon.rios@esc2.us
Region 3 STEM Lead Laura Deiss ldeiss@esc3.net
Region 4 STEM Lead Edrice Bell
Allegra McGrew
edrice.bell@esc4.net
allegra.mcgrew@esc4.net
Region 5 STEM Lead Johnny Vines jvines@esc5.net
Region 6 STEM Lead Gregory Ship gshipp@esc6.net
Region 7 STEM Lead Paul Eyler peyler@esc7.net
Region 8 STEM Lead Kerri Bowles
Chrissie Allen
Lisa Ellermann
kbowles@reg8.net
callen@reg8.net
lellermann@reg8.net
Region 9 STEM Lead Elizabeth Reynolds elizabeth.reynolds@esc9.net
Region 10 STEM Lead Samantha Bradbury samantha.bradbury@region10.org
Region 11 STEM Lead Cheryl Bowden cbowden@esc11.net
Region 12 STEM Lead Andi Parr aparr@esc12.net
Region 13 STEM Lead Amber Reinecke amber.reinecke@esc13.txed.net
Region 14 STEM Lead John Lally jlally@esc14.net
Region 15 STEM Lead Beth Lehmann beth.lehmann@esc15.net
Region 16 STEM Lead Jennifer Garner jennifer.garner@esc16.net
Region 17 STEM Lead Tammy Motley tmotley@esc17.net
Region 18 STEM Lead Angela Johnson ajohnson@esc18.net
Region 19 STEM Lead Ernesto Herrera eherrera@esc19.net
Region 20 STEM Lead Joel Rodriguez joel.rodriguez@esc20.net

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Education Service Centers Map

Click Region of Texas to find a HSEP