STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics)

According to labor projections, Texas is expected to have the second-highest percentage of the nation’s future STEM job opportunities. To ensure our students are prepared for this future workforce, The Texas Education Agency developed a STEM Framework for districts to use a guide for STEM programming and is working to establish a Texas EcosySTEM – a collaborative effort which unites various stakeholders to work towards the common goal of increasing access for young people to STEM-rich learning environments so that they are engaged and have mastered the necessary skills for success in STEM careers.

Texas STEM Education Definition

STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) education is a method of hands-on teaching and learning where students learn to apply academic content by creatively solving real-world problems with innovative design-based thinking to prepare students for future career opportunities.

Elementary student blowing on windmall at science exhibit

 

Texas STEM Education Framework

The STEM Education Framework provides the definition, theory of action, and objectives for implementing STEM education across Texas. The framework includes strategies for success, differentiated STEM implementation models, research-based methods of instruction, and high-quality STEM indicators. Stakeholders will be able to use this framework as a guide when creating their customized STEM programs. Additional resources are provided in the STEM toolkit and are to be used in conjunction with the STEM framework.

Texas EcosySTEM logo

Connecting STEM Education and the STEM Community

The Texas Education Agency is excited to announce that we were accepted into the community of practice of the national STEM Learning Ecosystems Initiative. Learning Ecosystems provide the architecture for cross-sector learning, offering all young people access to STEM-rich learning environments so they can develop important skills and engagement in science, technology, engineering and math throughout Pre-K-20. Strong STEM Learning Ecosystems feature dynamic collaborations among schools, out-of-school time programs, STEM expert institutions (such as museums, science centers, institutions of higher education and STEM professional associations), the private sector, community-based organizations, youth and families.

Texas EcosySTEM Resources

The Texas Education Agency has developed tools to help districts engage with families through STEM Education programming and build awareness throughout the community by expanding learning beyond the classroom.

Sample Texas EcosySTEM ideas for pre-school through professional degrees. (Pre-K-20) (PDF)

Sample Family Engagement Ideas (PDF)

Texas EcosySTEM Regional STEM Hubs

Each Education Service Center will provide free membership for districts to join the local STEM ecosySTEM. EcosySTEM membership includes:

  • Monthly STEM communication including information from the state and federal level
  • Regional STEM goals developed by a local STEM Design Team and aligned to the local STEM labor market data
  • Regular STEM ecosySTEM meetings to share local STEM opportunities and address local concerns
  • All districts will have access to the free TEA STEM planning and implementation tools as well as family engagement tools

Contact your Education Service Center STEM Lead to get connected to your Regional Texas EcosySTEM.

Education Service Center Contact Person Email Address
Region 1 STEM Lead Gustavo Perez gperez@esc1.net
Region 2 STEM Lead Sonia Gamez
Jodi Ferguson
sonia.gamez@esc2.us
joanne.ferguson@esc2.us
Region 3 STEM Lead Laura Deiss ldeiss@esc3.net
Region 4 STEM Lead Edrice Bell edrice.bell@esc4.net
Region 5 STEM Lead Johnny Vines jvines@esc5.net
Region 6 STEM Lead Crissie Fowler cfowler@esc6.net
Region 7 STEM Lead Paul Eyler peyler@esc7.net
Region 8 STEM Lead Kerri Bowles kbowles@reg8.net
Region 9 STEM Lead Cindy Dyes cynthia.dyes@esc9.net
Region 10 STEM Lead Samantha Bradbury samantha.bradbury@region10.org
Region 11 STEM Lead Cheryl Bowden cbowden@esc11.net
Region 12 STEM Lead Andi Parr aparr@esc12.net
Region 13 STEM Lead Kimberly Galloway kimberly.galloway@esc13.txed.net
Region 14 STEM Lead John Lally jlally@esc14.net
Region 15 STEM Lead Beth Lehmann beth.lehmann@esc15.net
Region 16 STEM Lead Kyle Vannoy kyle.vannoy@esc16.net
Region 17 STEM Lead Tammy Motley tmotley@esc17.net
Region 18 STEM Lead Kristen Whittenburg kwhittenburg@esc18.net
Region 19 STEM Lead Ernesto Herrera eherrera@esc19.net
Region 20 STEM Lead Jessica Nombrana jessica.nombrana@esc20.net

 

Education Service Centers Map

Click Region of Texas to find a HSEP