Charter Schools - Resources

The following links contain information on various resources for charter schools.

Information for Charter Operators

Charter operators who are looking for resources regarding orientation, governance, amendments, funding, or laws and rules can visit our Charter Operators page to find links to pages regarding those topics.

AskTED Updates

Charter schools needing to update their AskTED pages must email the Charter AskTED inbox.  It will then be addressed by the AskTED coordinator.

Record and Information Requests

While a charter school is in operation, the charter holder is responsible for maintaining school and personnel records.  To receive records from operating charter schools, please contact the charter holder.

For most closed charter schools, the Education Service Center in Region 13 fills student and personnel record requests.  The ESC 13 closed charter school page (outside source) has a list of schools for which they maintain the records.

TEA stores certain student records based on data collected through the school year.  A list of the student records maintained by TEA can be found on our Public Information Request (PIR) page

The PIR page also has information on submitting requests for other types of documents and information maintained by the TEA.  The commissioner of education has designated one e-mail address (PIR@tea.texas.gov) and one fax number (512-463-9838) to receive all agency-related requests under the Public Information Act (PIA).  Requests for information received at any other agency e-mail address or fax number are not PIA requests and do not trigger the PIA requirements.  In addition, members of the public can also submit a request through the Public Information Office online form, or visit to the William B. Travis building to submit a request in person.  Visitors must register at the main reception desk on the 2nd floor.

    ESC Contact Information

    There are twenty Education Service Centers (ESC) in the state of Texas.  These service centers provide assistance to public schools in their regions, including to charter schools.  For more information about the services they provide, or to reach out to the local ESCs, please review the list of charter contacts at each ESC.

      ESC  

     Location

    Name  

     Phone

    Email  

    1

    Edinburg

    Mr. Heriberto Villarreal

    956-984-6000

    Hvillarreal@esc1.net

    2

    Corpus Christi

    Mr. Dan Baen

    361-561-8415

    dan.baen@esc2.net

    3

    Victoria

    Ms. Charlotte Baker

    361-573-0731 x204

    cbaker@esc3.net

    4 Houston Ms. Kristi Hernandez 713-744-6569 khernandez@esc4.net
    Ms. Kelley Watt 713-744-6363 kelley.watt@esc4.net

    5

    Beaumont

    Mr. Danny Lovett

    409-781-4722

    dlovett@esc5.net

    Mr. Byron Terrier 409-951-1758 bterrier@esc5.net

    6

    Huntsville

    Mr. Jerry Hall

    936-435-8210

    Jhall@esc6.net

    7

    Kilgore

    Mr. Marvin Thompson

    903-988-6830

    McThompson@esc7.net

    8

    Mount Pleasant

    Ms. Stacy Elledge

    903-575-2616

    selledge@reg8.net

    Ms. Richele Langley 903-575-8551 rlangley@reg8.net

    9

    Wichita Falls

    Ms. Micki Wesley

    940-322-6928

    Micki.Wesley@esc9.net

    10

    Richardson

    Ms. Josie Eatman

    972-348-1324

    Josie.Eatman@Region10.org

    Ms. Karen Barnes 972-348-1024 Karen.Barnes@Region10.org
    Ms. Karen Slaughter 972-348-1690 Karen.Slaughter@Region10.org
    11 Fort Worth Mr. Dale Latham 817-740-3692 dlatham@esc11.net

    12

    Waco

    Mr. John Bullion

    254-297-1212

    jbullion@esc12.net

    13

    Austin

    Ms. Sally Partridge

    512-919-5220

    Sally.Partridge@esc13.txed.net  

    Ms. Shirley Samford 512-919-5375 Shirley.Sanford@esc13.txed.net  
    Dr. Millie Klein 512-919-5105 Millie.Klein@esc13.txed.net  
    Mr. Jesse Lopez 512-919-5306 Jesse.Lopez@esc13.txed.net

    14

    Abilene

    Ms. Lisa White

    325-675-8616

    lwhite@esc14.net

    15

    San Angelo

    Ms. Laura Strube

    325-481-4065

    Laura.Strube@esc15.net

    Mr. Michael Bohensky 325-658-6571 Michael.Bohensky@esc15.net

    16

    Amarillo

    Mr. Troy Seagler

    806-677-5075

    troy.seagler@esc16.net  

    17

    Lubbock

    Mr. Phil Warren

    806-792-4000

    pwarren@esc17.net

    Ms. Debbie Weaks

    806-281-5866

    Dweaks@esc17.net

    Mr. Wayne Blount

    806-281-5846

    wblount@esc17.net

    18

    Midland

    Ms. Linda Jolly

    432-561-4305

    ljolly@esc18.net

    19

    El Paso

    Mr. Juan Alderete

    915-780-6570

    jalderete@esc19.net

    20

    San Antonio

    Ms. DeeAnn Drummond-Estlack

    210-370-5719

    DeeAnn.Drummond@esc20.net

    Other Agency Contacts

    If you have questions that are best addressed to another division, please visit the agency contact page for assistance.

    If you have any questions about the information on this page, contact the Division of Charter School Administration by e-mail at CharterSchools@tea.texas.gov or by phone at (512) 463-9575.