Educator Testing

Texas law requires that educators pass appropriate tests to become certified. The office of Educator Testing oversees testing requirements for the state of Texas.

Testing Information

Information related to testing is available below:

Additional Information Related to Testing

Additional testing information is available below:

Testing Announcements and Updates 

Educator Testing Transition

The Texas Educator Certification Examination Program will transition to a new vendor, NCS Pearson, Inc., beginning September 1, 2018, for the following tests: TExES, TExMaT, TASC, and TASC-ASL. ETS will administer the new Performance Assessment for School Leaders (PASL) when it becomes effective in fall 2019. The Educator Testing Transition flyer (PDF, 56 KB) provides more information about the transition. Ongoing updates will be provided by both vendors and the Texas Education Agency in the coming weeks.

Educator Certification Examination Retake Limit Change

Candidates are limited to a total of 5 attempts to pass a certification examination under Texas Education Code §21.048. A subsection of the law, which currently counts all attempts of the same examination taken before September 1, 2015 as only one attempt, is set to expire. Beginning September 1, 2018, all attempts of the same examination, no matter when they occurred, will count toward the 5-attempt testing limit regardless of when the examination was first attempted.  

Candidates, educators, and others who took certification examinations before September 1, 2015 and have not yet passed those examinations will find more information in the candidate guidance document. Testers impacted by the change must take their examination(s) by August 31, 2018 if the new test attempt counting method will make them ineligible on September 1, 2018. Candidates who reach the 5-time testing limit must apply for a test-limit waiver to retest.

Note: Individuals who did not test before September 1, 2015 are not affected by the change since all examination attempts have always been included in the attempt count for these testers.

Principal Certification Redesign

TEA is redesigning Texas’ principal certification standards and corresponding tests. For more information, visit the Principal Certification Redesign homepage  

Test Deadline Information

There are 4 certification examinations that will be eliminated as of 9/1/2018Educators that have passed tests for any of these certificates must meet all deadlines or the new test will be required. 

Test-Limit Waiver Information

Section 21.048(a-1) of the Texas Education Code specifies that a person may not retake a certification examination more than four times unless the State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC) waives the limitation for good cause. The SBEC has defined the waiver application process in Chapter 230, Subchapter C of the Texas Administrative Code. To request a waiver, you must complete all waiver requirements as specified in the waiver application. After we receive your completed waiver application, you will be contacted about submitting the $160 waiver application fee through our online system. Applicants and educator preparation program staff should review the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) document about the test waiver process for answers to common questions and further information on completing the waiver application.

Payments for Test Registrations Now Processed Through

Beginning July 23, 2016, when registering for tests through the ETS registration system (outside source), you will be directed to, the official website of Texas, to submit payment. The price of this service, which is not refundable, includes funds that support the ongoing operations and enhancements of, which is provided by a third party in partnership with the state. Depending on the services ordered, you may have to make two separate payments.

New Test Refund Policy

Effective July 23, 2016, all past and future processed test and service orders will be refundable up to 180 days from completion of initial order payment. The 180-day refund policy begins with the date the initial payment transaction was processed. If a test or service order is changed (e.g., change of test date), the 180-day refund policy applies to the date the payment was initially processed.

Core Subjects Registration Information

The Core Subjects EC-6 (291) and 4-8 (211) tests are offered on a continuous basis. Educators must register for and take the overall 291 or 211 test on their first attempt. After the first attempt, educators may register for the overall 291 or 211 test or the individual subject area tests. Each testing session counts as another attempt in the 4-retest limit allowed by law; therefore, educators are cautioned against signing up for an individual subject area test when multiple subject area tests are left to pass. Both options require candidates to wait 45 days to retest.