Teacher Vacancy Task Force Membership

The Task Force is comprised of teachers and school system leaders in public education hailing from a variety of districts and geographies, and serving student populations that are representative of the diversity of Texas.

The Task Force will meet every other month for one year, with Commissioner Morath and agency leadership regularly facilitating discussions with Task Force members, while including insights gathered from experts and additional education stakeholders throughout the State of Texas.

Task Force member biographies will be added later this summer.

Teacher Members

  • Chair: Josue Tamarez Torres
    Cesar Chavez Learning Center, Dallas ISD
    4th & 5th Grade Bilingual Math
  • Melina Recio
    McAllen High School, McAllen ISD
    English 2, AP Composition and Literature
  • Jean Streepey
    Highland Park Middle School, Highland Park ISD
    5th - 8th Grade STEAM
  • Linda Galvan
    Los Fresnos United, Los Fresnos CISD
    High School English 1 & 2, SPED/Resource, ESL
  • Cynthia Hopkins
    Kaffie Middle School, Corpus Christi ISD
    7th & 8th Grade Science
  • Kimberly Davis
    Goliad Middle School, Goliad ISD
    7th Grade ELAR, 6th-8th Grade Gifted and Talented
  • Vania Amado
    Lula Belle Goodman Elementary, Fort Bend ISD
    4th Grade Bilingual ELAR & Social Studies
  • Changela Burns
    Summer Creek High School, Humble ISD
    High School English 1
  • Sadie Atha
    East Chambers High School, East Chambers ISD
    High School English 3 & 4, AP Literature
  • Cody Knott
    Caldwell High School, Caldwell ISD
    6th-12th Grade Band Director, Fine Arts Director
  • Brian Kruk
    Pineywoods Community Academy, Lufkin, Texas
    High School Government/Economics, Coach
  • Joshua Sciara
    DeKalb Middle School, DeKalb ISD
    7th Grade Science, 6th-8th Grade STEAM, 8th Grade CTE Horticulture
  • Alexandra Fain
    Booker T. Washington Elementary, Wichita Falls ISD
    3rd Grade ELAR
  • Eric Hale
    David G. Burnet Elementary, Dallas ISD
    1st & 2nd Grade Self-Contained
  • Tiffany Kilcoyne
    Hurst Junior High School, Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD
    7th Grade English
  • Pam Fischer
    Provident Heights Elementary, Waco ISD
    PreK-5th Grade Physical Education
  • Valerie Haywood
    Bastrop Middle School, Bastrop ISD
    6th - 8th Grade ESL
  • Jennifer Kuehne
    Teacher, Round Rock ISD
    K-5th Grade Special Education
  • Faye Urich
    Haskell Elementary School, Haskell CISD
    Early Childhood Special Education, PreK-3rd Grade
  • Tiffany Klaerner
    Mason Elementary School, Mason ISD
  • Kisaundra Harris
    Tascosa High School, Amarillo ISD
    High School Anatomy and Physiology, Forensic Science
  • Natasha Garcia
    Akin Elementary, Hale Center ISD
    1st Grade Self-Contained
  • Raymond Falcón
    Matthews Academy, Lubbock ISD
    High School Algebra 1 & 2, Geometry, Mathematical Models, Spanish 1 & 2
  • Suzanne Kirkland
    Forsan JR/SR High School, Forsan ISD
    Business Information Management
  • Sergio Estrada
    Riverside High School, Ysleta ISD
    AP Physics
  • Janie Coheen
    Elolf Elementary School, Judson ISD

School System Administrator Members

  • Greg Rodriguez
    Superintendent, Edcouch Elsa ISD
  • Narciso Garcia
    Superintendent, Vanguard Academy
  • Roland Hernandez
    Superintendent, Corpus Christi ISD
  • Brandon Chandler
    Chief Human Resources Officer, Gregory-Portland ISD
  • Diana Barrera Ugarte
    Superintendent, Kenedy ISD
  • LaTonya Goffney
    Superintendent, Aldine ISD
  • Jay Killgo
    Superintendent, Vidor ISD
  • Jason Hewitt
    Superintendent, Shepherd ISD
  • Brandon Enos
    Superintendent, Cushing ISD
  • Judd Marshall
    Superintendent, Mount Pleasant ISD
  • Leah Tunnell
    Assistant Superintendent for Administrative Services, Burkburnett ISD
  • Justin Terry
    Superintendent, Forney ISD
  • Sherry Taylor
    Executive Director of Human Resources, Aledo ISD
  • Norma Castillo
    Executive Director of Talent, Austin ISD
  • Chane Rascoe
    Superintendent, Lampasas ISD
  • Dave Lewis
    Superintendent, Rochelle ISD
  • Christie Volmer
    Chief Human Resources Officer, Hereford ISD
  • Chris Tatum
    Chief Human Resources Officer, Amarillo ISD
  • Rick Rodriguez
    Chief Operations Officer, Lubbock ISD
  • Ashley Osborne
    Executive Director Talent Development, Ector County ISD
  • Andrew Kim
    Superindendent, Comal ISD
  • Roland Toscano
    Superintendent, East Central ISD
  • Rosie Vega-Barrio
    Superintendent, Tornillo Independent School District
  • Casey Morgan
    Executive Director of Human Resources, ResponsiveEd