Science TEKS Review Content Advisors

The science content advisors provide feedback on the science TEKS to the SBOE and work groups during the TEKS review process. The content advisors' reviews can be found on the following web page.

Science TEKS Content Advisor Reviews

The following list includes individuals appointed by the SBOE to serve as content advisors for the 2019 review and revision of the science Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS).


Dr. Raymond G. Bohlin                                             Science Teacher, Richardson

Dr. Raymond G. Bohlin is a graduate of the University of Illinois (B. S., zoology, 1971-1975), the University of North Texas (M. S., population genetics, 1977-1980), and the University of Texas at Dallas (M. S., Ph.D., molecular and cell biology, 1984-1991). He has numerous publications. Dr. Bohlin has served previously as a content advisor for the State Board of Education on the 2009 science standards as well as serving on the 2017 biology streamlining review committee. For the last six years he has been teaching high school biology, chemistry, anatomy and physiology and physics for the Richardson Home School Association (RHSA).

Focus areas: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Anatomy and Physiology


Gloria Chatelain                                                          Science/STEM Consultant, Colleyville

Ms. Gloria Chatelain is currently a Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) consultant for various school districts.  She has been in public education for over 40 years, as a classroom teacher, district coordinator, curriculum consultant and staff development trainer for prekindergarten through grade 12.  She has presented workshops at the district, state and national level, served as Texas Science Educators Leadership Association (TSELA) treasurer for five years, and is currently a member of Science Teachers Association of Texas (STAT) and National Science Teaching Association (NSTA).  Ms. Chatelain is passionate about helping teachers with science curriculum, State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) preparedness, and understanding the science Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS).  She has a strong foundation regarding the K-12 TEKS due to her extensive background in writing K-12 science curriculum, training teachers on content and hands-on activities that complement the TEKS.

Focus areas: Prekindergarten through high school science curriculum


Dr. Janice A. Fischer                                                   Professor, Austin

Dr. Janice A. Fischer is a professor of molecular biosciences and director of the biology instructional office at The University of Texas at Austin. She received the 2012 College of Natural Sciences Teaching Excellence Award. Dr. Fischer is one of the principal authors of the textbook Genetics From Genes to Genomes. She is one of two higher education officials appointed by Texas Higher Education Commissioner Harrison Keller to help the State Board of Education revise the science curriculum standards.

Focus areas: cell biology; developmental biology; genes, genetics and genomics; and molecular biology


Dr. Catherine H. Howard                                             Professor, Texarkana

Dr. Catherine H. Howard is dean of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) and distance learning, as well as a professor of chemistry and biology, at Texarkana College. She is an adjunct professor at Texas A&M University Texarkana. Dr. Howard has K-12 experience, having taught science at Hooks High School in the Hooks Independent School District. She served on the 60x30 advisory committee that assisted the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board with the preparation of a new Lower-Division Academic Course Guide Manual.  She is one of two higher education officials appointed by Texas Higher Education Commissioner Harrison Keller to help the State Board of Education revise the science curriculum standards.

Focus areas:  biology, chemistry, STEM


Dr. Cynthia Ontiveros                                                  Principal, El Paso

Dr. Cynthia Ontiveros is the principal at the Young Women’s STEAM Research and Preparatory Academy, the first single-gender New Tech Network Academy in the nation and the first single-gender campus in the El Paso Independent School District. She has been an officer in the Texas Science Education Leadership Association. Dr. Ontiveros is the author of Copper Stain: Asarco’s Legacy in El Paso along with researcher Elaine Hampton. The book focuses on the stories of the men and women who worked at the now-closed Asarco smelter plant and the impact they had on El Paso.  She holds three degrees from the University of Texas at El Paso, including a Doctor of Philosophy degree in teaching, learning, and culture.

Focus areas: science education and research


Amy Senato                                                                Science Coordinator, Mansfield

Ms. Amy Senato is in her 26th year as an educator. She has served in leadership positions at both the campus and district levels.  She has taught grades 3-12 science, reading, special education, biology, Advanced Placement (AP) Biology and Integrated Physics and Chemistry (IPC).  Currently, she serves as the K-6 science coordinator for the Mansfield Independent School District and has been in this position for 10 years. She has had the pleasure of working with K-6 science teachers on curriculum, professional development, lessons and grants.

Focus Areas:  science curriculum and related professional development


Dr. Ron Wetherington                                                 Professor Emeritus, Dallas

Dr. Ron Wetherington is a professor emeritus of anthropology at Southern Methodist University, where he has been on the faculty since 1964. Dr. Wetherington is a widely published author of books and articles. His books include Understanding Human Evolution and Readings in the History of Evolutionary Theory. He served as a science expert for the State Board of Education in 2008-2009 as it rewrote curriculum standards and he has reviewed science books proposed for use in the Texas public schools. He was appointed to a review panel for high school biology textbooks in 2013 and served as a member of the science streamlining team for the high school biology course in 2017.

Focus areas: anthropology, human evolution, science pedagogy


Dr. Dale Woerner                                                         Associate Professor, Lubbock

Dr. Dale Woerner is an associate professor and nationally recognized researcher in Texas Tech University’s Department of Animal and Food Sciences. Dr. Woerner is an award-winning teacher, has authored or co-authored more than 270 scholarly articles, technical reports or other publications, presented more than 200 guest lectures and presentations and holds a prestigious endowed professorship at Texas Tech. Previously, Dr. Woerner was a member of Colorado State University’s teaching and research faculty.

Focus areas: animal sciences, food science, microbiology, biotechnology, anatomy and physiology, research.


Jane Arden Zimmerman                                             Science Department Chair, Manvel

Ms. Jane Arden Zimmerman heads the science department at Friendswood High School in the Friendswood Independent School District. She works with science teachers in designing and planning student learning experiences to align with campus curriculum and state standards. Ms. Zimmerman taught biology at Friendswood High School for a number of years and coached the state-recognized Academic Decathlon team.

Focus areas: Biology