Purple Star Campus Designation Awardees SY 2021-22

Date:  August 12, 2021                
Subject: Purple Star Campus Designation Awardees SY 2021-2022
Category: Notice
Next Steps:  Share with appropriate staff


The Purple Star Campus Designation recognizes Texas school district and open-enrollment charter school campuses that show their support and commitment to meeting the unique needs of military-connected students and their families. The Texas Education Agency (TEA) accepted applications for the 2021-2022 school year from April 5, 2021, through June 1, 2021, for campuses to apply for the designation and demonstrate they have met the following established criteria:

  1. Designating a campus-based military liaison; 
  2. Creating and maintaining an easily accessible web page that includes information for military-connected students and their families;
  3. Implementing a campus transition program; and 
  4. Offering at least one of the following initiatives:
  • A resolution showing support for military-connected students and families; 
  • Participation in Month of the Military Child or Military Family Month; or 
  • Partnership with a school liaison officer to encourage and provide opportunities for active duty military members. 

Any Texas school can become a Purple Star Campus, regardless of the size of its military-connected student population. Districts and charter schools are encouraged to support campuses and help them meet the criteria for Purple Star Campus Designation status. Applications are accepted on an annual basis, and the designation lasts for two years. After the two-year period, campuses that were previously awarded the designation must re-apply.

For a full list of the Purple Star Campus Designation criteria, visit Purple Star Campus Designation

To see the rule that supports this designation, visit: 19 TAC Chapter 61, Subchapter FF, Commissioner's Rules Concerning Veterans and Military Dependents.

Forty-five campuses across Texas have met the established criteria and earned Purple Star Campus Designations for the 2021-2022 school year. (See below.) 

For the list of previously awarded campuses that received the designation in the 2020-2021 school year, see Purple Star Campus Designation Awardees| Texas Education Agency.

If you have any questions concerning the Purple Star Application process and supporting military-connected students, please contact MilitaryConnectedStudents@tea.texas.gov

Below is a list of recipient campuses by region: 

ESC Region 1 

Rio Grande City CISD Ringgold Middle

ESC Region 2

Corpus Christi ISD Veterans Memorial H S
Flour Bluff ISD Flour Bluff J H
Riviera ISD Kaufer H S


ESC Region 4

Houston ISD Texas Connections Academy at Houston


ESC Region 11

Lake Worth ISD Effie Morris Early Learning Academy
Lake Worth ISD Lake Worth H S
Lake Worth ISD Lucyle Collins Middle
Lake Worth ISD Marilyn Miller Language Academy
Lake Worth ISD Marine Creek Leadership Academy
Lake Worth ISD N A Howry Steam Academy
North Texas Collegiate Academy North Texas Collegiate Academy-North Campus


ESC Region 12

Killeen ISD Brookhaven EL
Killeen ISD Pathways Academic Campus


ESC Region 14

Wylie ISD Wylie H S


ESC Region 15

San Angelo ISD Belaire EL
San Angelo ISD Central H S
San Angelo ISD Glenmore EL
San Angelo ISD Glenn Middle
Texas Leadership Texas Leadership of San Angelo


ESC Region 17

Texas Tech University K-12 Texas Tech H S


ESC Region 19

El Paso ISD Richardson Middle School
San Elizario ISD L G Alarcon EL
San Elizario ISD Ann M Garcia-Enriquez Middle
Socorro ISD Eastlake H S
Socorro ISD Horizon Heights EL
Socorro ISD Jane A Hambric School
Socorro ISD Desert Wind EL
Socorro ISD Robert R Rojas EL
Vista Del Futuro Charter School Vista Del Futuro Charter School


ESC Region 20

North East ISD Garner Middle
North East ISD Johnson H S
North East ISD Roosevelt H S
North East ISD White Middle
North East ISD Bulverde Creek
North East ISD Frank M Tejeda Academy
North East ISD Harris Middle
North East ISD Jackson Middle
Northside ISD Brennan H S
Northside ISD Bernal Middle
Northside ISD Hoffmann EL
Schertz-Cibolo-Universal City ISD Cibolo Valley EL
Schertz-Cibolo-Universal City ISD Green Valley EL
Schertz-Cibolo-Universal City ISD Ray D Corbett J H
School of Science and Technology Discovery School of Science and Technology Advancement