House Bill 3 (HB 3) Implementation: Reading Advisory Committee

Date:  October 17, 2019
Subject: House Bill 3 (HB 3) Implementation: Reading Advisory Committee
Category: School Programs – Reading Support 
Next Steps:  No Action Required 


The 86th Texas Legislature passed House Bill 3 and House Bill 3906 which, among other things, created five advisory committees to support public education:

  • Reading Standards K-3 Advisory Committee
  • Special Education Allotment Advisory Committee
  • Compensatory Education Allotment Advisory Committee
  • Financial Aid Advisory Committee
  • Assessment Educator Advisory Committee

In accordance with House Bill 3, Commissioner Morath is convening a Reading Advisory Committee to advise the agency on current plans that support reading. The following individuals have been selected for the committee appointment with three meetings to be held during the 2019-2020 school year:

Dr. Stephanie Al Otaiba, Ph.D.
Dallas, Texas
Dr. Whitney Lawrence, Ph.D.
Euless, Texas
Dr. Elsa Cárdenas-Hagan, Ph.D. 
Brownsville, Texas
Derek Little
Dallas, Texas 
Rebecca De Leon
San Antonio, Texas
Cynthia Montes-Bustamonte
El Paso, Texas
Dr. Jack Fletcher, Ph.D.
Houston, Texas
Barbara Page
Woodway, Texas
Elizabeth Franco 
Midland, Texas 
Dr. Susan Silva, Ph.D. 
League City, Texas 
Brett Gallini
Dallas, Texas
Dr. Sharon Vaughn, Ph.D.
Austin, Texas
Dr. Elizabeth Garza, Ph.D. 
Katy, Texas
Dr. David Vinson, Ph.D. 
Wylie, Texas
Dr. Mary Ellen Isaacs, Ph,D.
Austin, Texas
Dr. Tracy Weeden, Ph.D.
Houston, Texas


If you have any questions related to the Reading Advisory Committee, email or email

Jacquie Porter  
Statewide Director of Early Childhood Education