2017–2018 Tax Collection Survey for School Districts Affected by Hurricane Harvey

PDF Version

November 28, 2017

Subject: 2017–2018 Tax Collection Survey for School Districts Affected by Hurricane Harvey


Because local tax revenue is an important component in determining Foundation School Program (FSP) funding, the Texas Education Agency (TEA) is requiring school districts located in the 60 counties within Governor Greg Abbott’s disaster proclamation to submit current projections for tax year 2017 maintenance and operations (M&O) and interest and sinking (I&S) tax collections to help determine the statewide impact on taxable property values from Hurricane Harvey during the 2017–2018 school year.

The 2017–2018 Tax Information Survey (tax survey) will be open from November 27, 2017 until January 31, 2018. Only districts in the 60-county disaster declaration area are required to report. This information will be used to inform the Legislature on the potential cost of adjusting district property values affected by a disaster per Texas Education Code, Section 42.2523. Please ensure that your district completes and submits the tax survey using the online FSP application by January 31, 2018.

The FSP application is an application within the Texas Education Agency Secure Environment (TEASE). If you already have a TEASE account but do not have access to the FSP application, please apply for access by clicking the Add/Modify Application Access button found in the upper-right corner of the TEASE Application List page. If you already have access to the FSP Application, please check that you have the appropriate role assigned for submitting the data. The FSP application requires that a designated “data survey user” submit the tax survey data to the TEA.

For more information regarding the tax survey on the FSP application, including information on applying for specific roles in the application, please see the TEA FSP application web page. For help with accessing the FSP application or submitting the 2017–2018 tax survey, please contact Nancy Kuhn by phone at (512) 463-6313 or email at nancy.kuhn@tea.texas.gov.


Leo Lopez, RTSBA
Associate Commissioner
School Finance/Chief School Finance Officer