TEA celebrates two Texas educators for receiving Terrel H. Bell Award

The U.S. Department of Education announced the recipients of the 2019 Terrel H. Bell Award for Outstanding School Leadership. Two of our Texas principals received the national award, which honors school leaders who are committed advocates of education.

Congratulations to Rachel Ayala from Hubert R. Hudson Elementary School in Brownsville ISD, and Sandra Barrios from Jack Lowe Sr. Elementary School in Dallas ISD. You both exemplify the outstanding leadership we have throughout Texas.

The Bell Award is given to principals of National Blue Ribbon Schools. Both Rachel and Sandra are proof that having exceptional leadership in schools, even ones with high levels of poverty, can lead to student success. The guidance you provide is essential to the future success of our students and Texas is thankful for the dedication of educators like you.

To learn more about the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program and the Terrel H. Bell Awards, click here.

Commissioner Mike Morath
October 23, 2019