Committee of Practitioners

The statutory purpose of the Title I Committee of Practitioners (COP) is to review any state rules, regulations and policies relating to Title I of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act, as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act, to ensure they conform to the purposes of Title I. The COP must review and approve each change to said rules, regulations and policies. When an emergency demands swift adoption of a rule or regulation to assist with the operation of a Title I program, the COP may not be able to review the proposed rule or regulation beforehand. In these cases, the TEA may issue a regulation without prior consultation and will immediately convene the COP to review the emergency regulation before finalizing it. The committee also conducts a peer review of Individual Programmatic Ed-Flex waiver applications and makes recommendations for approval to the Commissioner or his/her designee, thus functioning as the state’s Ed-Flex committee.


The COP conducts regular meetings four to six times per calendar year. In addition, TEA may call special meetings of the committee as needed. COP members set the meeting schedule on an annual basis. COP meetings are generally held at American Institutes for Research (AIR) at 4700 Mueller Blvd. Austin, Texas, in the first-floor conference room, from 9:00 am to 3:00 pm.  In the event that a virtual meeting is scheduled in place of a particular meeting, a link to access the meeting will be posted on this page.  In the event that a meeting is cancelled, it will be noted on this page.

Meetings will be held on the following dates:


  • October 9, 2019
    Meeting agenda | Meeting minutes
  • November 12, 2019
    Meeting agenda | Meeting minutes  
  • February 12, 2020
    Meeting agenda | Meeting minutes
  • April 14, 2020
    Meeting agenda | Meeting minutes
  • June 2, 2020
    Meeting agenda | Meeting minutes

Membership Rules

Statute requires committee membership include:

  • As a majority of its members, representatives from local educational agencies;
  •  Administrators, including the administrators described in other parts of Title I;
  • Teachers from traditional public schools, charter schools, and career and technical educators;
  •  Principals and other school leaders;
  •  Parents;
  •  Members of local school boards;
  •  Representatives of private school children;
  •  Specialized instructional support personnel and paraprofessionals;
  •  Representatives of authorized public chartering agencies; and
  •  Charter school leaders.

The Texas commissioner of education appoints COP representatives upon recommendation from the associate commissioner for the Department of Grant Compliance and Administration, and ensures representation among the ten membership categories.

The Texas Administrative Code limits advisory committees to state agencies to a maximum of 24 voting members. Therefore, the Association for Compensatory Educators of Texas (ACET) President and an Association of Migrant Educators of Texas (AMET) representative are non-voting members. These non-voting representatives may change each year with the officer cycle or as designated by the organizations.

In the event of a vacancy, the Agency will make recommendations to the Commissioner based on the following factors:  required membership category and geographic area.


Each state educational agency that receives funds under ESEA, as amended by ESSA of 2015, Title I, Part F, Section 1603(b) is required to create a state COP to advise the state in carrying out its responsibilities under Title I. The COP membership represents all geographic regions of the state and provides for an equitable balance among representatives of parents, educators and education officials. 

Membership Roster for the Committee of Practitioners:

Martha Anderson, Windham Schools Representative (Statewide)
Shirley Clark, COP Chairperson, Administrator (Region 16)
Laura Colangelo, TEPSAC - Private School Representative (Statewide)
Melody Collier, Parent, Hawley ISD (Region 14)
Alex Dominguez, Private School Cooperative, ESC Administrator (Region 20)
Pam Evans, Large Urban District, Houston ISD (Region 4)
Brenda Faz-Villarreal, Early Childhood Education Representative (Region 20)
Mia Hall, School Board Member, Crowley ISD (Region 11)
Marilyn Harris, Texas Juvenile Justice Department Representative (Statewide)
Angela Lengefeld, Counselor, University of Texas-University Charter School (Region 13)
Carrie Matthews, Title I Teacher, Holliday ISD (Region 9)
Cris Munoz, CTE and Assistant Principal, Mansfield ISD (Region 11)
Alexis Neumann, Charter School Administrator (Region 12)
Jayne Tavenner, ESC Administrator (Region 06)
Mary Thomas, LEA Administrator (Region 13)
Nadine Wolf, ACET (non-voting member)

Rules of Governance

Section 1603(b) of PL 114-95 defines the purpose and composition of the Title I COP. The COP chair is determined by the state director of Title I or his/her designee. The chair presides at meetings of the committee and performs other duties, as necessary, to assist the committee. Each voting member of the committee has one vote. Members who are absent may send a representative to participate in discussion, but the representative may only vote in the member’s place if the member gives a written signed proxy. Ex-officio members may participate in discussion; however, only active members may vote. Committee actions are approved/recommended by a majority vote of committee members present during a scheduled meeting.