Lone Star Governance Exemplar Cohort

The Lone Star Governance (LSG) Exemplar Cohort is an intensive program designed for committed governing teams—school boards with their superintendents—dedicated to continually cultivating and sharpening their focus on one primary objective: improving student outcomes.

The LSG Exemplar Cohort is a yearlong program (with an option for a one-year extension) that includes the following at no cost to school systems:

  • Attendance at a two-day LSG workshop with fellow cohort members
  • A dedicated LSG Coach
  • Monthly implementation support tailored for the board, board chair, superintendent, and staff
  • Quarterly board self-evaluation support
  • Statutorily required board member training in teambuilding, needs (based on the framework for governance leadership), and evaluating and improving student outcomes
  • Early access to Lone Star Governance-related training
  • Collaboration with, learning from, and learning with other high-performing governing teams

All school district and charter governing teams are eligible. Each cohort is generally limited to 12 governing teams. All eligible expenses of participating school systems will be reimbursed monthly—up to a predetermined amount for the entire first year of the cohort.

To receive reimbursements for LSG-related expenses, a governing team must commit to the following:

  • Continued, frequent engagement with a certified LSG coach
  • Timely submission of the quarterly self-evaluation report (QR)
  • Active promotion of and advocacy for the LSG initiative, including presenting about the LSG philosophy and practices at meetings and conferences

Please visit Lone Star Governance for updates and additional information.

Exemplar Cohort Districts

The Lone Star Governance Exemplar Cohort program launched in 2018. The following tables list the school systems and Lone Star Governance coaches for each cohort. Contact information for LSG coaches is available on the Lone Star Governance Coaches web page.

2023–2024 Exemplar Cohort

School System Lone Star Governance Coach
A+ Academy / Inspired Vision Academy Kara Belew
Bay City ISD Tony Williams
Bloomington ISD Tony Williams
Crystal City ISD To be determined
Edcouch-Elsa ISD Kara Belew
Goliad ISD To be determined
Lancaster ISD Delic Loyde
The Lawson Academy Delic Loyde
Premont ISD Jacinto Ramos
Rocketship Texas Kathy Ferrell
Texans Can Academy Kara Belew
Wharton ISD Tony Williams
Yorktown ISD Tony Williams


2022–2023 Exemplar Cohort

School System Lone Star Governance Coach
Edna ISD Tony Williams
Frankston ISD Laurie Elliott
Marfa ISD Larry Lee
Pecos-Barstow-Toyah ISD Larry Lee
Runge ISD Tony Williams
Woodsboro ISD Tony Williams


2021–2022 Exemplar Cohort

School System Lone Star Governance Coach
Cedar Hill ISD Travis Whisenant
DeSoto ISD Laurie Elliot
Sweetwater ISD Alan Richey
Vanguard Academy Kara Belew
West Sabine ISD Delic Loyde


Exemplar Cohort Two (2019–2020)

School System Lone Star Governance Coach
Cumby ISD Delic Loyde
Donna ISD Marcia McMahon
New Frontiers Public Schools Dee Ann Drummond
Round Rock ISD Marcia McMahon


Previous Cohort Members

School System Lone Star Governance Coach
Anthony ISD Mónica Jaloma
Aristoi Classical Academy Kara Belew
Brooks County ISD Rick Alvarado
Canutillo ISD Mónica Jaloma
Ector County ISD Larry Lee
Fabens ISD Mónica Jaloma
Grand Prairie ISD  
Hidalgo ISD Laurie Elliot
Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD Kelli Crain
Jarrell ISD Travis Whisenant
Kenedy ISD Tony Williams
Mansfield ISD Dale Latham
Midland ISD Larry Lee
Natalia ISD Dee Ann Drummond
Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD Marcia McMahon
Roscoe Collegiate ISD Laurie Elliot
Royal ISD Laurie Elliot
San Elizario ISD Mónica Jaloma
Sierra Blanca ISD Mónica Jaloma
South San Antonio ISD Ed Vara
Tornillo ISD Mónica Jaloma
Snyder ISD Laurie Elliot


Contact Information

Lone Star Governance
Phone: (512) 936-1533