Press Release masthead

TEA News Releases Online June 1, 2018

Commissioner Morath appoints twelve to TEA Policy Committee on Public Education Information

AUSTIN – Commissioner of Education Mike Morath announced that twelve superintendents from across the state have been appointed to serve on the Texas Education Agency’s Policy Committee on Public Education Information (PCPEI). 

The PCPEI is an influential committee comprised of a small group of school leaders from around the state that provides guidance affecting all Texas public schools. Specifically, this advisory committee addresses policy issues regarding information and data requirements that support students’ educational needs statewide.

The Commissioner’s twelve new PCPEI appointments include: Dr. Andrew Kim (Comal ISD); Dr. Xavier De La Torre (Ysleta ISD); Dr. John Wink (Blue Ridge ISD); Dr. John Allen (Frankston ISD); Dr. Orlando Riddick (Midland ISD); Dr. Clark Ealy (College Station ISD); Dr. Cody Newcomb (Center Point ISD); Dr. Patti Blue (Gustine ISD); Dr. Kevin Worthy (Royse City ISD); Dr. Kathy Rollo (Lubbock ISD); Dr. Jason Marshall (Palestine ISD); and Dr. Brian Stroman (Bloomburg ISD).

“Solid and useful information is critical when making decisions regarding public education in our state,” said Commissioner Morath. “Through their efforts, PCPEI members help determine what information will be available to state, district and campus leaders. I thank these superintendents for bringing local-level insights on data that will lead to successful student outcomes throughout Texas.”

Created by the Texas Legislature, the PCPEI consists of representatives from school districts, education service centers, state government and educational associations. The committee meets three to four times a year to review and approve current and ongoing data collections, as well as recommend policies that promote data quality. The first PCPEI meeting (with the Commissioner’s new appointees) took place on May 1 in Austin.

# # #