Vertical Alignments

In the early childhood years, children gain a multitude of knowledge and skills related to all areas of development and learning. Understanding the progression across the early childhood continuum allows teachers, administrators, and families to offer the supports needed to foster optimal development and learning. In Texas, there are three sets of standards that cover the knowledge, skills, and behaviors across the early childhood years. They include the Texas Early Learning Guidelines for Infants, Toddlers, and Three-Year-Olds, the Texas Prekindergarten Guidelines, and the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills. Displayed below is a visual representation of the alignment of these three sets of standards.

To see accessible versions, click on the links below.

Fine Arts

Health and Wellness

Language and Literacy


Physical Development


Social Studies


Contact Information
Texas Education Agency
1701 North Congress Avenue
Austin, Texas 78701-1401