TEA Excited to Announce the Nomination of 26 Texas Schools as 2022 National Blue Ribbon Designees


AUSTIN, Texas– February 8, 2022 - The Texas Education Agency announced today the nomination of 26 Texas public schools as 2022 National Blue Ribbon School designees.

Initiated by the United States Department of Education (USDE) in 1982, the National Blue Ribbon Schools program recognizes public and private elementary, middle, and high schools that have high student achievement and/or highlights where exemplary progress has been made in closing achievement gaps among student subpopulations. Since the program’s founding, 9,000 schools across the nation have received this prestigious designation.

In the Lone Star State, public schools are considered for nomination based on student performance on the first administration of the previous year’s STAAR assessments, as well as College and Career data and Graduation rates if applicable. This year’s nominees highlight the diverse learning environments found across the state, with the inclusion of traditional elementary, middle, and high school campuses, along with magnet and early college high schools. These nominees also represent 12 of the state’s 20 Education Service Center regions, spanning from the Panhandle down to the Coastal Bend and from the Piney Woods of East Texas to the Plains of West Texas.

The nominated schools must now complete a rigorous application process conducted by the USDE. National award winners will be announced in September of 2022. Schools that receive the designation will be recognized at the National Blue Ribbon Schools Awards Ceremony in Washington, D.C.

For more information on how the state of Texas nominates campuses each year, please visit Texas Blue Ribbon Schools.  

The nominated schools in Texas for 2022 include the following honorees:

Exemplary High-Performing Schools

Kerr High School Alief ISD
East Elementary  Brownwood ISD
School for the Talented and Gifted Dallas ISD
School of Science and Engineering Dallas ISD
Devers Elementary Devers ISD
Garden City Elementary  Glasscock County ISD
Grand Prairie Collegiate Institute Grand Prairie ISD
Gruver Elementary Gruver ISD
Gruver Junior High Gruver ISD
Happy High School   Happy ISD
Early College High School at Midland College  Midland ISD
Nursery Elementary Nursery ISD
Vega Elementary Vega ISD

Exemplary Achievement-Gap-Closing Schools

Bynum School   Bynum ISD
Claude Schools Claude ISD
Dekalb Elementary Dekalb ISD
Terrell Elementary  Denison ISD
J L Everhart Magnet Elementary Longview ISD
Muleshoe High School   Muleshoe ISD
Smyer Schools  Smyer ISD
Somerset Elementary  Somerset ISD
Sonora Secondary School  Sonora ISD
Springlake-Earth Elementary/Middle School Springlake-Earth ISD
Three Rivers Elementary Three Rivers ISD
Valley Mills High School   Valley Mills ISD
Wink Elementary  Wink-Loving ISD