26 Texas Public Schools Receive 2020 National Blue Ribbon Honors


All campuses nominated by TEA in February were awarded this prestigious designation

AUSTIN, Tex. – September 24, 2020 -- The United States Department of Education (USDE) announced today that 26 Texas Public Schools received 2020 national Blue Ribbon honors. 

The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program recognizes public and private elementary, middle, and high schools that have high student achievement and/or highlights where exemplary progress has been made in closing achievement gaps. Nationally, more than 9,000 schools have received this prestigious designation since the program’s founding in 1982. 

In the Lone Star State, public schools are considered for nomination based on student performance on the first administration of the previous year’s STAAR assessments. Each campus receiving Blue Ribbon honors this year has an economically disadvantaged population of 39 percent or more. All 26 campuses nominated by the Texas Education Agency in February received the designation. 

“There are amazing things happening on these campuses each and every day, and this National Blue Ribbon designation further validates that,” said Texas Education Commissioner, Mike Morath. “I’d like to thank the students on these campuses for making learning a top priority and thank the educators and staff members that work tirelessly to mold young minds into the next generation of successful citizens.”  

Below is a list of the recipient campuses: 

Exemplary High-Performing Schools

Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD Early College High School
Corpus Christi ISD    Windsor Park G/T Elementary
Corpus Christi ISD Early Childhood Development Center
Dallas ISD Henry W. Longfellow Career Exploration Academy
Dallas ISD  Dr. Wright L. Lassiter Jr. Early College High School
Eagle Pass ISD Maude Mae Kirchner Elementary
El Paso ISD  Transmountain Early College High School
Fort Worth ISD  Texas Academy of Biomedical Sciences
Houston ISD   High School for Law and Justice
Houston ISD  Young Women's College Preparatory Academy
Laredo ISD   Heights Elementary
Nederland ISD   Langham Elementary
Windthorst ISD   Windthorst Elementary

Exemplary Achievement-Gap-Closing Schools

Alvarado ISD  Alvarado El-South
Austin ISD Reilly Elementary School
Dallas ISD Edward Titche Elementary School
El Paso ISD Milam Elementary School
Grand Prairie ISD Hobbs Williams Elementary
Houston ISD Memorial Elementary
Lancaster ISD West Main Elementary School
Laredo ISD  John Z. Leyendecker Elementary School
Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD Kelly-Pharr Elementary
Redwater ISD Redwater Junior High School
Spring ISD Dr. Edward Roberson Middle School
Texas College Preparatory Academies Vista Academy of Austin-Mueller
Ysleta ISD  Desertaire Elementary School

The 2020 National Blue Ribbon Schools Awards Ceremony will be held virtually November 12 and 13.