26 Texas schools nominated for 2019 national Blue Ribbon honors

Jna. 16, 2019

 AUSTIN – The Texas Education Agency today announced the nomination of 26 Texas public schools for national 2019 Blue Ribbon Schools recognition.

Founded in 1982, Blue Ribbon Schools is a U.S. Department of Education program that recognizes public and private elementary, middle, and high schools where students perform at very high levels or where exemplary progress has been made toward closing achievement gaps among subpopulations while also maintaining high achievement levels among all students. The following schools in Texas have been nominated:

Exemplary High-Performing Schools

  • Brownsville ISD                  Putegnat Elementary School
  • Caddo Mills ISD                  Kathryn Griffis Elementary School
  • Dallas ISD                           Judge Barefoot Sanders Law Magnet School
  • Dallas ISD                           Walnut Hill Elementary School
  • Dublin ISD                          Dublin Elementary School
  • George West ISD                George West Primary School
  • Grand Prairie ISD                Grand Prairie Fine Arts Academy
  • Houston ISD                        Field Elementary School
  • Houston ISD                        Project Chrysalis Middle School
  • McAllen ISD                       Houston Elementary School
  • Rice CISD                           Garwood Elementary School
  • Roma ISD                            Emma Vera Elementary School
  • Valley View ISD                 Wilbur E. Lucas Elementary School

Exemplary Achievement-Gap-Closing Schools

  • Brownsville ISD                  Hudson Elementary School
  • Dallas ISD                           Jack Lowe Sr. Elementary School
  • Hawkins ISD                       Hawkins Elementary School
  • Hidalgo ISD                        Hidalgo Park Elementary School
  • Idea Public Schools             Idea Quest College Preparatory School
  • La Joya ISD                         Elodia R. Chapa Elementary School
  • Laredo ISD                          H. B. Zachry Elementary School
  • Laredo ISD                          Dovalina Elementary School
  • Laredo ISD                          Ryan Elementary School
  • Laredo ISD                          J. C. Martin Jr. Elementary School
  • Mission CISD                      Hilda C. Escobar/Alicia C. Rios Elementary School
  • United ISD                          Judith Zaffirini Elementary School
  • Valley View ISD                 Valley View North Elementary School

Each nominated school has an economically disadvantaged population of 30.9 percent or greater.

Nominated schools must now complete a rigorous application process through the U.S. Department of Education. Announcements of the national award winners will be made in September 2019. Schools that receive the award will be recognized at the Blue Ribbon Schools awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.

# # #