23 Texas public schools receive 2018 national Blue Ribbon honors

Oct. 1, 2018

AUSTIN – The U.S. Department of Education announced today that the 23 public schools nominated by the Texas Education Agency (TEA) have been awarded Blue Ribbon honors for 2018.

Founded in 1982, Blue Ribbon Schools is a U.S. Department of Education program that recognizes public and private elementary, middle and high schools where students perform at very high levels or where exemplary progress has been made toward closing achievement gaps among subpopulations while maintaining high achievement levels among all students. 

Each school in Texas receiving national Blue Ribbon honors has an economically disadvantaged population of 39 percent or greater. All schools are honored in one of two performance categories: Exemplary High Performing Schools or Exemplary Achievement Gap Closing Schools. The schools in Texas include the following:

Exemplary High-Performing Schools 
  • Canutillo ISD – Northwest Early College High School
  • Houston ISD (3) – Challenge Early College High School; Debakey High School for Health Professions; East Early College High School
  • La Joya ISD – Jimmy Carter Early College High School
  • Mercedes ISD – Mercedes Early College Academy
  • Mumford ISD – Mumford Elementary School
  • Socorro ISD – Mission Early College High School
  • Valley View ISD (2) – Valley View Elementary School; Valley View South Elementary School (Pharr)
  • Walcott ISD – Walcott Elementary School
Exemplary Achievement-Gap-Closing Schools 
  • Arrow Academy – Arrow Academy - Liberation Academy (Meadows Place)
  • Edinburg CISD (2) – Anne L. Magee Elementary School; Hargill Elementary School
  • Golden Rule Charter School – Golden Rule School-Sunnyside Campus (Dallas)
  • Harlingen CISD – Dishman Elementary School
  • Hidalgo ISD – J.C Kelly Elementary School
  • IDEA Public Schools – IDEA Mission Academy (Mission)
  • Lamar CISD – Jackson Elementary School
  • Laredo ISD – J. Kawas Elementary School
  • Nacogdoches ISD – Nettie Marshall Academy of Dual Language
  • Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD (2) – Carmen Anaya Elementary School; Cesar Chavez Elementary School

“The work taking place at Blue Ribbon schools is a reflection of the commitment of our teachers to every student in their classroom and on their campus,” said Commissioner of Education Mike Morath. “I congratulate this year’s Blue Ribbon honorees.”

The schools completed a rigorous application process through the U.S. Department of Education. Schools that receive the award will be recognized by the Secretary of Education and the U.S. Department of Education at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C. in November.

For more information about the national Blue Ribbon Schools program, visit the U.S. Department of Education’s website at http://www2.ed.gov/programs/nclbbrs/index.html.


# # #