School District Teaching Permits
Application for any SDTP Other Than Noncore Academic CTE teaching assignment issued by authority of the commissioner of education. Since 1995, Texas law has allowed school districts to issue a school district teaching permit (SDTP) to someone who does not hold a teaching certificate (Texas Education Code §21.055). A teacher employed on a school district teaching permit is not certified by the State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC).
Local districts should carefully consider the courses the individual with a school district teaching permit will be teaching and ensure the individual has sufficient education and expertise to provide the instruction necessary to meet the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) for the courses.
Frequently Asked SDTP Questions (FAQs)
Our agency receives numerous inquiries about the differences between SDTP, Waivers and Emergency Permits. The guide below provides the district with a general description of the different options.
Guidance for School Districts Comparing Permit and Waiver Options
|General State Certificate
Allows a school district to employee
A teacher serving on a school district
Valid only in the district where issued and remains valid unless the district issuing the permit revokes it for cause.
Allows a district to employee a person to teach without the necessary certification requirements for a limited time.
Valid only in the district where approved for a term of 1-3 years, maximum.
A State Board for Educator Certification permit for those enrolling in an educator preparation program (EPP) who need to pass a certification exam to meet EPP admission requirements or for certified educators needing to pass an exam to add certification to their certificate.
Valid only in the issuing district for one-year, non-renewable.
|Districts apply electronically using one of the applications below.||Districts apply online through the TEAL system for Waivers.||Districts apply online through the TEAL system selecting ECOS for Entities.
Phone: (512) 463-960
Contact Educator Certification
A school district teaching permit is valid for classroom teaching assignments only and is not available for any other assignment, including:
- school counselor
- school librarian
- any other professional assignment outside of classroom teacher; or
- special education, bilingual education, or English as a second language
Classroom Management Training
Individuals teaching under a school district teaching permit for noncore academic career and technical education (CTE) courses must obtain at least 20 hours of classroom management training and must comply with any other continuing education requirements determined by the local board of trustees.
Before issuing a school district teaching permit to an individual, a district must ensure that the individual has completed the criminal background check in compliance with State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC) rules mandated by TEC §22.0833 for a non-certified employee.
State law requires the superintendent to certify to the board of trustees that the individual has undergone a criminal history background check and is capable of proper classroom management.
If the candidate meets the criteria, the district may employ the individual and submit the school district teaching permit form no later than the 31st day of employment. State law requires the district to provide the commissioner with a written statement identifying the person, the courses he or she will teach, and his or her qualifications to teach the course. The school district teaching permit application form (PDF) is used to satisfy the district requirement to notify the commissioner of education of the SDTP issued.
Submit only the completed SDTP application form. Any documents sent accompanying the application form will be rejected and securely discarded. The district is responsible for retaining all supporting documentation of the individual’s qualifications for the SDTP being issued. These documents shall be maintained by the district and readily available upon request for five years beyond the individual’s last day of employment.
Noncore Academic CTE SDTP application for teaching assignments issued by authority of the local school district board of trustees.
Application for any SDTP Other Than Noncore Academic CTE teaching assignment issued by authority of the commissioner of education.
School District Teaching Permits