Individual Graduation Committees


Individual Graduation Committees

TEC §28.0258 revises the state’s assessment graduation requirements for students enrolled in the 11th or 12th grade during and after the 2014-2015 school year. A student who has failed the end-of-course (EOC) assessment graduation requirements for no more than two courses may receive a Texas high school diploma if the student has qualified to graduate by means of an individual graduation committee (IGC) determination.

    Alternative Graduation Requirements for Students Who Entered High School Before 2011-2012 School Year

    TEC §28.02541 allows districts to award diplomas to certain students who entered high school before the 2011-2012 school year and did not receive a diploma after failing to meet assessment requirements. Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §74.1027 details the alternative graduation requirements that an individual can meet to qualify for a diploma. 

    Contact Information

    Curriculum Standards and Student Support Division

    For questions or additional information, please submit a Curriculum Request Form through the TEA Help Desk.

       Help Desk  

    Texas Education Agency
    1701 North Congress Avenue
    Austin, Texas 78701-1401
    (512) 463-9581