Lone Star Governance Exemplar Cohort

The Lone Star Governance (LSG) Exemplar Cohort is an intensive program designed for committed governing teams—school boards with their superintendents—dedicated to continually cultivating and sharpening their focus on one primary objective: improving student outcomes.

The LSG Exemplar Cohort is a yearlong program (with an option for a one-year extension) that includes the following at no cost to local education agencies (LEAs):

  • Attendance at a two-day LSG workshop with fellow cohort members
  • A dedicated LSG Coach
  • Monthly implementation support tailored for the board, board chair, superintendent, and staff
  • Quarterly board self-evaluation support
  • Statutorily required board member training in teambuilding, needs (based on the framework for governance leadership), and evaluating and improving student outcomes
  • Early access to Lone Star Governance-related training
  • Collaboration with, learning from, and learning with other high-performing governing teams

All school district and charter governing teams are eligible. Each cohort is generally limited to 12 governing teams. All eligible expenses of participating LEAs will be reimbursed monthly—up to a predetermined amount for the entire first year of the cohort.

To receive reimbursements for LSG-related expenses, a governing team must commit to the following:

  • Continued, frequent engagement with a certified LSG coach
  • Timely submission of the quarterly self-evaluation report (QR)
  • Active promotion of and advocacy for the LSG initiative, including presenting about the LSG philosophy and practices at meetings and conferences

Please visit Lone Star Governance for updates and additional information.

Exemplar Cohort Districts

The Lone Star Governance Exemplar Cohort program launched in 2018. The following tables list the local education agencies and Lone Star Governance coaches for each cohort. Contact information for LSG coaches is available on the Lone Star Governance Coaches web page.

2022–2023 Exemplar Cohort

District/Charter Lone Star Governance Coach
Edna ISD Tony Williams
Frankston ISD Laurie Elliott
Jarrell ISD Travis Whisenant
Marfa ISD Larry Lee
Pecos-Barstow-Toyah ISD Larry Lee
Runge ISD Tony Williams
Woodsboro ISD Tony Williams


2021–2022 Exemplar Cohort

District/Charter Lone Star Governance Coach
Anthony ISD Monica Jaloma
Aristoi Classical Academy Kara Belew
Brooks County ISD Rick Alvarado
Cedar Hill ISD Travis Whisenant
DeSoto ISD Laurie Elliot
Grand Prairie ISD To be determined
Kenedy ISD Tony Williams
Roscoe Collegiate ISD Laurie Elliot
Royal ISD Laurie Elliot
Sweetwater ISD Alan Richey
Vanguard Academy Kara Belew
West Sabine ISD Delic Loyde


Exemplar Cohort Two (2019–2020)

District/Charter Lone Star Governance Coach
Cumby ISD Delic Loyde
Donna ISD Marcia McMahon
Fabens ISD Monica Jaloma
Natalia ISD Dee Ann Drummond
New Frontiers Public Schools Dee Ann Drummond
Round Rock ISD Marcia McMahon


Exemplar Cohort One (2018–2019)

District/Charter Lone Star Governance Coach
Canutillo ISD Monica Jaloma
Midland ISD Larry Lee


Previous Cohort Districts

District/Charter Lone Star Governance Coach
Ector County ISD Larry Lee
Hidalgo ISD Laurie Elliot
Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD Kelli Crain
Mansfield ISD Dale Latham
Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD Marcia McMahon
San Elizario ISD Monica Jaloma
Sierra Blanca ISD Monica Jaloma
South San Antonio ISD Ed Vara
Tornillo ISD Monica Jaloma
Snyder ISD Laurie Elliot