District Type Data, 2007-08

TEA classifies Texas public school districts into community types using factors such as enrollment, growth in enrollment, economic status, and proximity to urban areas. These community types, or "district types," group districts into eight categories ranging from major urban to rural. Charter school districts make up a ninth category. The categories include:

  1. Major Urban
  2. Major Suburban
  3. Other Central City
  4. Other Central City Suburban
  5. Independent Town
  6. Non-Metropolitan: Fast Growing
  7. Non-Metropolitan: Stable
  8. Rural
  9. Charter School Districts

The agency uses district type classifications in reporting and monitoring systems. For more information on the 2007-08 district type category descriptions, see the glossary.

View and download Texas public school districts categorized by district type.

Contact Information

For questions or comments, please e‑mail the Division of Research and Analysis, Accountability Research Unit, or contact the unit by phone at 512-475-3523.

This page last updated January 21, 2011.