Approved Educator Standards

The State Board for Educator Certification creates standards for beginning educators. These standards are focused upon the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills, the required statewide public school curriculum. They reflect current research on the developmental stages and needs of children from Early Childhood (EC) through Grade 12. 

Additionally, the Commissioner of TEA has adopted new rules pertaining to Texas teaching standards:

Texas Teaching Standards Adopted in Chapter 149

The Classroom Teaching Certificate standards below are for all classroom teaching certificates.

Elementary Certificate Standards

Core Subjects/Generalist EC-6 standards include: 

Core Subjects/Generalist EC-6 Standards    

Art Generalist EC-6

Physical Education Generalist EC-6

English Language Arts and Reading Generalist EC-6  

Music Generalist EC-6

Health Generalist EC-6

Science Generalist EC-6

Mathematics Generalist

Social Studies Generalist EC-6


Bilingual Generalist (Grades EC-6): The standards include Generalist (EC-Grade 6) and Bilingual Education.

ESL Generalist (Grades EC- 6): The standards include Generalist (EC-Grade 6) and English as a Second Language.

Middle School Certificate Standards

Core Subjects/Generalist (Grades 4-8) standards include: 

Core Subjects/Generalist 4-8 Standards 

English Language Arts and Reading 4-8

Science 4-8

Mathematics 4-8  

Social Studies 4-8


Bilingual Generalist (Grades 4-8): The standards include Generalist (4-8) and Bilingual Education.

English Language Arts and Reading (Grades 4-8)

English Language Arts and Reading/Social Studies (Grades 4-8): The standards include English Language Arts and Reading (Grades 4-8) and Social Studies (4-8)

ESL Generalist (Grades 4-8): The standards include Generalist (4-8) and English as a Second Language.

Mathematics (Grades 4-8)

Mathematics/Science (Grades 4-8): The standards include Mathematics(Grades 4-8) and Science (Grades 4-8).

Science (Grades 4-8)

Social Studies (Grades 4-8)

Secondary Certificate Standards

The standards for secondary certificates are found below:

Agricultural Sciences and Technology (Grades 6-12)

Agriculture, Food, and Natural Resources (Grades 6-12)

Business and Finance (Grades 6-12)

Business Education (Grades 6-12)

Chemistry (Grades 7-12): The chemistry framework was developed from the physical science framework. The chemistry framework includes relevant standards in four domains: scientific inquiry and processes, matter and energy, chemical reactions, science learning, and instruction and assessment.

Computer Science (Grades 8-12) PDF: The sections of the standards that apply to Computer Science 8-12 are 1-7, 8, 9, 11, and 14.

Dance (Grades 8-12)

English Language Arts and Reading (Grades 8-12), English Language Arts and Reading (Grades 7-12)

Family and Consumer Sciences (Grades 6-12)

Health Science (Grades 6-12)

Health Science Technology Education (Grades 8-12)

History (Grades 7-12)

Hospitality, Nutrition, and Food Sciences The standards include sections I, IV, and V from Family and Consumer Sciences Composite (Grades 6-12).

Human Development and Family Studies (Grades 8-12): The standards include sections I, II, and III from Family and Consumer Sciences Composite (Grades 6-12).

Journalism (Grades 8-12)Journalism (Grades 7-12)

Life Science (Grades 7-12)

Marketing Education (Grades 8-12)Marketing (Grades 6-12)

Mathematics (Grades 7-12)

Mathematics/Physical Science/Engineering (Grades 8-12): The standards include Mathematics (Grades 8-12), Physical Science (Grades 8-12), and Engineering (Grades 8-12).

Mathematics/Physical Science/Engineering (Grades 6-12): The standards include Mathematics (Grades 7-12), Physical Science (Grades 6-12), and Engineering (Grades 8-12).

Mathematics/Physics (Grades 8-12): The standards include Mathematics (Grades 8-12) and the Physics portion of Physical Science (Grades 8-12).

Mathematics/Physics (Grades 7-12): The standards include Mathematics (Grades 7-12) and the Physics portion of Physical Science (Grades 6-12).

Pedagogy and Professional Responsibilities for Trade and Industrial Education (Grades 8-12)

Physical Science (Grades 6-12)

Science (Grades 7-12)

Social Studies (Grades 7-12)

Speech (Grades 7-12)

Technology Applications (Grades 8-12)

Technology Education (Grades 6-12)

Trade and Industrial Education: Professional Responsibilities (Grades 6-12)

All-level Certificate Standards

The standards for all-level certificates are found below:

American Sign Language - written (Grades EC-12)

Art (EC-Grade 12)

Deaf and Hard of Hearing (EC-Grade 12)

Health (EC-Grade 12)

Languages other than English (EC-Grade 12)

Music (Grades EC-12)

Physical Education (Grades EC-12)

Special Education (EC-Grade 12)

Technology Applications (EC-Grade 12) PDF: The sections of the standards that apply to Technology Applications EC-12 are 1-7, 10, 12, and 13.

Theatre (EC-Grade 12)

Supplemental Certificate Standards

The standards for supplemental certificates are found below:

Bilingual Education

Bilingual Target Language Proficiency

English as a Second Language  

Gifted and Talented (Supplemental)

Teacher of Students with Visual Impairments Supplemental (includes Braille) (Grades EC-12)

Standards for All Teachers

All teachers must meet the following standards:

Pedagogy and Professional Responsibilities (EC-Grade 12)

Technology Applications (All Beginning Teachers, PDF) The first seven standards of the Technology Applications EC-12 Standards are expected of all beginning teachers and are incorporated in to the Texas Examination of Educator Standards (TExES) Pedagogy and Professional Responsibilities (PPR) test.

Administrative Certificate Standards

The standards for administrative certificates are found below:

Principal (§241.15)


Student Services Certificate Standards

The standards for student services certificates are found below:

Educational Diagnostician (§239.83)

Reading Specialist (EC-Grade 12)

School Counselor (§239.15)

School Librarian (§239.55)

Master Teacher Certificate Standards

The standards for Master Teacher certificates are found below:

Master Mathematics Teacher

Master Reading Teacher

Master Science Teacher

Master Technology Teacher