SBOE Member District 15

 District 15 Marty Rowley (R)
P.O. Box 2129
Amarillo, TX 79105
(806) 374-4600
(806) 220-2812 FAX

Board Term: Jan. 1, 2017 - Jan. 1, 2021  

Marty Rowley, the District 15 State Board of Education member, is an attorney and certified mediator from Amarillo.

A Republican, he was elected to a four-year term on the State Board of Education in November 2012 and re-elected to a second term in 2016. Rowley serves as  vice chair of the board. He previously served as vice chair and then chair of the board's five-member Committee on School Initiatives, which oversees agenda items related to State Board for Educator Certification rules, the appointment of school board members for specialty districts such as those located on military bases and reviews the commissioner's recommendations of charter school awards. 

Rowley is now a member of the Committee on Instruction, which oversees areas such as curriculum, instructional material, graduation requirements, gifted and talented education, and the education of people with disabilities.

Additionally, Rowley served as the chair of the Ad Hoc Committee to review CSCOPE Social Studies lessons, the Ad Hoc Committee on the Long-Range Plan for Education, and the Long-Range Plan for Public Education.

Rowley is accustomed to handling complex issues after spending more than 20 years as a Board certified attorney and seven years as a pastor at an 8,000-member church. Active in his community, Rowley is a past president of the Maverick Boys and Girls Club of Amarillo; past president of the CareNet Pregnancy Centers of Amarillo; and past chairman of Governmental Affairs Council of the Amarillo Chambers of Commerce.

He earned a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration from Eastern New Mexico University. He holds a law degree from the Texas Tech School of Law, where he was on the 1982 National Championship Trial Advocacy Team. He has been president of the West Texas Chapter of the American Board of Trial Advocates.

Rowley is a member of the Texas State Bar Association, the Amarillo Bar Association, American Board of Trial Advocates, American Association of Mediators and the Texas Association of Mediators.

He and his wife have two sons and one daughter, who all graduated from the public schools.

Rowley represents citizens in the sprawling District 15, which includes these counties: Andrews, Archer, Armstrong, Bailey, Baylor, Borden, Briscoe, Callahan, Carson, Castro, Childress, Clay, Cochran, Coke, Coleman, Collingsworth, Cooke, Cottle, Crosby, Dallam, Dawson, Deaf Smith, Dickens, Donley, Fisher, Floyd, Foard, Gaines, Garza, Gray, Hale, Hall, Hansford, Hardeman, Hartley, Haskell, Hemphill, Hockley, Howard, Hutchinson, Jones, Kent, King, Knox, Lamb, Lipscomb, Lubbock, Lynn, Martin, Midland, Mitchell, Montague, Moore, Motley, Nolan, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Roberts, Runnels, Scurry, Shackelford, Sherman, Sterling, Stonewall, Swisher, Taylor, Terry, Throckmorton, Tom Green, Wheeler, Wichita, Wilbarger, Yoakum and Young.