Educator Testing

Texas law requires that educators pass appropriate tests to become certified. The office of Educator Testing oversees testing requirements for the state of Texas.

Testing Information

Information related to testing is available below:

Additional Information Related to Testing

Additional testing information is available below:

Testing Announcements and Updates


Payments for Test Registrations Now Processed Through

Beginning July 23, 2016, test registration payments will be processed through, the official website of Texas. The price of this service, which is not refundable, includes funds that support the ongoing operations and enhancements of, which is provided by a third party in partnership with the state. Candidates will still go through the regular ETS registration system to register for a test and pay for ancillary fees (e.g., change fees, score review fees, international site fees) but will be taken to the website to pay for test registration fees. Also effective July 23, 2016, all past and future processed test and service orders will be refundable up to 180 days from completion of initial order payment. The 180-day refund policy begins with the date the initial payment transaction was processed. If a test or service order is changed (e.g., change of test date), the 180-day refund policy applies to the date the payment was initially processed.

Educator Certification Examination Retake Limit FAQs

Beginning September 1, 2015, candidates will be limited to five attempts to take a certification test. The five attempts include the first attempt to pass the examination and four retakes. The five attempts include any of the test approval methods (PACT, EPP, out of state, charter, and CBE). The Texas Education Agency (TEA) is implementing this change to Texas Education Code §21.048 in response to House Bill 2205, 84th Texas Legislature, 2015. For more information, please see the Educator Certification Examination Retake Limit FAQs.

Fee Increase - Effective September 1, 2015

On August 7, 2015, the State Board for Educator Certification approved a test and ancillary fee increase. Test fees will increase $11, going from $120 to $131. Ancillary fees, e.g., late registration and score review fees, will increase by $5, and the test cancellation fee will increase to $65. The $5 ancillary fee increase also applies to the Core Subjects individual subject tests (Test Codes 801-809), changing the test fee from $60 to $65. This fee increase goes into effect on September 1, 2015. These are the first increases in certification fees since 2008. For a complete listing of all test and ancillary fees, please refer to the Registration Bulletins.



Core Subjects Registration Information

In October 2014, the Texas Education Agency (TEA) approved a “data collection period” for the new Core Subjects test administrations in order to gather data on actual educator performance on the EC–6 and 4–8 tests. During this period, the Core Subjects EC–6 (291) and 4–8 (211) tests were administered free of charge to test takers.

At the June 12, 2015 State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC) meeting, TEA staff confirmed we now have sufficient test taker data, so the data collection period for the Core Subjects EC–6 (291) and 4–8 (211) ended on June 30, 2015. Regular registration fees for the Core Subjects EC–6 (291) and 4–8 (211) tests apply for individuals registering on or after July 16, 2015. The current passing standards for the Core Subjects tests will remain in place through August 31, 2015.

At the June 12, 2015 SBEC meeting, the SBEC approved a decrease of the minimum passing standards for the Core Subjects EC–6 (291), 4–8 (211), and individual subject tests (801–809) for a period of one year. This change will go into effect on September 1, 2015, and test takers who did not pass one or more individual subject tests (801-809) will need to re-take and pass the individual subject test(s) at the new passing standard(s). The SBEC will provide TEA staff with more direction on any further changes to the Core Subjects tests at their August 7, 2015 meeting.

As previously announced, the Generalist 4-8 (111) and Generalist EC-6 (191) tests will be administered for the last time on August 31, 2015. The August 2017 deadline for completion of all certificate requirements and the October 2017 deadline for submission of online applications, certificate application fees, and educator preparation program recommendations remains in place as previously announced.

The new Core Subjects EC-6 (291) and 4-8 (211) tests are now being offered on a continuous basis. Educators must take the overall 291 or 211 test on their first attempt. After the first attempt, educators may register for the overall 291 or 211 test or the individual subject area tests; however, each testing session counts as another attempt in the 4-retest limit allowed by law. Both options require candidates to wait 45 days to retest.