Educator Testing

Texas law requires that educators pass appropriate tests to become certified. The office of Educator Testing oversees testing requirements for the state of Texas.

Testing Information

Information related to testing is available below:

Additional Information Related to Testing

Additional testing information is available below:

Testing Announcements and Updates

Proposed technology applications educator standards are posted for public comment. Comments are due to Becky McCoy or Michael Vriesenga by August 30, 2015.

Core Subjects Registration Information

In October 2014, the Texas Education Agency (TEA) approved a “data collection period” for the new Core Subjects test administrations in order to gather data on actual educator performance on the EC–6 and 4–8 tests. During this period, the Core Subjects EC–6 (291) and 4–8 (211) tests were administered free of charge to test takers.

At the June 12, 2015 State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC) meeting, TEA staff confirmed we now have sufficient test taker data, so the data collection period for the Core Subjects EC–6 (291) and 4–8 (211) ended on June 30, 2015. Regular registration fees for the Core Subjects EC–6 (291) and 4–8 (211) tests apply for individuals registering on or after July 16, 2015. The current passing standards for the Core Subjects tests will remain in place through August 31, 2015.

At the June 12, 2015 SBEC meeting, the SBEC approved a decrease of the minimum passing standards for the Core Subjects EC–6 (291), 4–8 (211), and individual subject tests (801–809) for a period of one year. This change will go into effect on September 1, 2015, and test takers who did not pass one or more individual subject tests (801-809) will need to re-take and pass the individual subject test(s) at the new passing standard(s). The SBEC will provide TEA staff with more direction on any further changes to the Core Subjects tests at their August 7, 2015 meeting.

As previously announced, the Generalist 4-8 (111) and Generalist EC-6 (191) tests will be administered for the last time on August 31, 2015. The August 2017 deadline for completion of all certificate requirements and the October 2017 deadline for submission of online applications, certificate application fees, and educator preparation program recommendations remain in place as previously announced.

The new Core Subjects EC-6 (291) and 4-8 (211) tests are now being offered on a continuous basis. Educators must take the overall 291 or 211 test on their first attempt, but in future attempts will be allowed to retake only the individual subject test(s) that they do not pass. They also have the option of retaking the overall test (211 or 291) again if they prefer. Both options require candidates to wait 45 days to retest.