Civil Action 5281

Since 1971, all districts have operated under certain restrictions on accepting student transfers, the sale or lease of school property, and other reporting requirements. Civil Action 5281 is the longstanding statewide desegregation order that affects Texas School Districts. All conveyances of real property by the Texas School Districts are submitted to the Texas Education Agency for review and approval in accordance with the Civil Action 5281.

On September 27, 2010, the federal court who has jurisdiction over the statewide desegregation, entered an Order removing virtually all Texas school districts, except for nine districts that remain subject to the order. Copies of the Civil Action 5281 Administrative Addressed letter and court order are available upon request. You may contact our Legal Service Division at (512) 463-9720, by fax (512) 475-3662 or by email

The nine districts that are required to comply with the requirements of Civil Action 5281 are:

Buffalo ISD, Leon County
Colmesneil ISD, Tyler County 
Daingerfield ISD, Morris County
Fairfield ISD, Freestone County 
Malakoff ISD, Henderson County 
Nacogdoches ISD, Nacogdoches County 
Oakwood ISD, Leon/Freestone Counties 
Smithville ISD, Bastrop County 
Whitewright, Grayson County