
Continuing Professional Education (CPE) hours for certificate renewal 
Superintendent:  200 CPE hours required 

Continuing Professional Education, as amended by SB 11 and HBs 18, 403, and 2424, 86th Texas 
Legislature, 2019. 
 
 

 

  

Continuing education requirements for superintendents shall be related to the certificate(s) 
being renewed and focus on the standards required for issuance of the certificate(s), 
including: 

• Content area knowledge and skills; and 
• Professional ethics and standards of conduct 

 
An educator holding multiple classes of certificates shall complete the higher number of 
required CPE clock-hours in the classes held during each five-year renewal period unless 
otherwise specified in applicable State Board for Educator Certification rules. 
 
Completion of each CPE activity should be evidenced by documentation (e.g., transcripts certificates of 
completion, or attendance logs). 
 

An individual who holds a superintendent certificate that is renewed on or after January 1, 
2021, must complete at least 2.5 hours of training every five years on identifying and 
reporting potential victims of sexual abuse, human trafficking, and other maltreatment of 
children, in accordance with TEC, §21.054(h). For purposes of this subsection, "other 
maltreatment" has the meaning assigned by Human Resources Code, §42.002. 
 
Other CPE hours that may apply and may be used for certificate renewal: 

 Professional development activities that include: 
o an evidence-based mental health first aid training program or an evidence-

based grief-informed and trauma-informed care program that is offered 
through a classroom instruction format that requires in person attendance.  A 
person receiving this training will receive twice the number of hours of 
instruction provided under that program, not to exceed 16 hours; 

o suicide prevention training; 
o an instructional course on the use of an automated external defibrillator (AED) 

that meets guidelines for AED training approved under Texas Health and 
Safety Code; and 

o education courses that: 
o use technology to increase the educator’s digital literacy; and 
o assist the educator in the use of digital technology in learning activities 

that improve teaching, assessment, and instructional practices. 
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The following are acceptable types of CPE activities: 
 participating in institutes, workshops, seminars, conferences, interactive distance 

learning, video conferencing, online activities, and in -service or staff development 
activities given by an approved provider or sponsor.  Staff development activities 
completed through accredited public and private schools in order states, United 
States territories, and countries other than the Unites States may be accepted; 

 completing undergraduate courses, graduate courses, or training programs that are 
taken through an accredited institution of higher education that at the time was 
accredited or otherwise approved by an accrediting organization recognized the Texas 
Higher Education Board – 1 semester credit hour is equivalent to 15 CPE clock-hours. 

 participating in an independent study in content area knowledge and skills related to 
the certificate(s) being renewed, not to exceed 20% of the required clock-hours, 
which may include: 

• self-study of relevant professional materials (e.g., books, journals, periodicals, 
video and audio tapes, computer software, interactive distance learning, video 
conferencing, or online activities; 

• developing curriculum; or 
• authoring a published work. 

 developing, teaching or presenting a CPE activity not to exceed 10% of the required 
clock-hours; and 

 providing professional guidance as a mentor to another educator, not to exceed 30% 
of the required clock-hours. 


