Change	2011–2012 Version 1	2011–2012 Version 2
Revision	3.5 Compulsory Attendance PK and kindergarten students Unless specifically exempted by the TEC, §25.086, a child who is at least 6 years of age,	3.5 Compulsory Attendance PK and kindergarten students Unless specifically exempted by the TEC, §25.086, a child who is at least 6 years of age,
	A person who is 18 years of age or older and is enrolled in public school is required to attend school each day. Your school district's board of trustees may adopt a policy requiring a student who voluntarily enrolls in school or voluntarily attends school after his or	A person who voluntarily enrolls in or attends school after turning 18 years of age is also required to attend school each day.
	year if the student is under age 21. The offense of failure to attend applies to a student who is subject to the district policy.	Note that, because of recent statutory changes ³ , the offense of failure to attend school applies only to an individual who is 12 years of age or older and younger than 18 years of age.
Addition	3.6.2 Time of Day for Attendance Taking Each campus	3.6.2 Time of Day for Attendance Taking Each campus
	 Your campus may select The policy may — allow for each campus to choose an alternate attendance-taking time for the campus as a whole, allow for each campus to choose an alternate attendance-taking time for certain groups of students as described in 3.6.2.2, or allow for both of these circumstances. 	 Your campus may select The policy may — allow for each campus to choose an alternate attendance-taking time for the campus as a whole, allow for each campus to choose an alternate attendance-taking time for certain groups of students as described in 3.6.2.2, or allow for both of these circumstances.
		The policy may be adopted at any time during a school year. If the policy allows for a campus to choose an alternate attendance-taking time for certain groups of students as described in 3.6.2.2, a campus is free to choose an alternate attendance-taking time for a group of students as soon as the policy is adopted. If the policy allows for a campus to choose an alternate attendance-taking time for the campus as a whole and the policy is adopted after the start of the school year, a campus that wishes to change the attendance-taking time for the campus as a whole must wait until the next school year to do so.
	Addition	3.5 Compulsory Attendance PK and kindergarten students Unless specifically exempted by the TEC, §25.086, a child who is at least 6 years of age, A person who is 18 years of age or older and is enrolled in public school is required to attend school each day. Your school district's board of trustees may adopt a policy requiring a student who voluntarily enrolls in school or voluntarily attends school after his or her eighteenth birthday to attend school until the end of the school year if the student is under age 21. The offense of failure to attend applies to a student who is subject to the district policy. Addition 3.6.2 Time of Day for Attendance Taking Each campus Your campus may select The policy may — • allow for each campus to choose an alternate attendance-taking time for the campus as a whole, • allow for each campus to choose an alternate attendance-taking time for certain groups of students as described in 3.6.2.2, or

 ³ TEC, §25.094(a) [SB 1489, 82nd Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2011]
 ³ TEC, §25.094(a) [SB 1489, 82nd Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2011]
 ³ TEC, §25.094(a) [SB 1489, 82nd Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2011]

Section	Change	2011–2012 Version 1	2011–2012 Version 2
		These	These
		3.6.2.1 Attendance Taking and Delayed Start of School Day	3.6.2.1 Attendance Taking and Delayed Start of School Day
		3.6.2.2 Alternate Attendance-Taking Time for Certain Student Populations Your campus To implement as described in 3.6.2. The alternate	3.6.2.2 Alternate Attendance-Taking Time for Certain Student Populations Your campus To implement as described in 3.6.2. (The policy may be adopted at any time during the school year.) The alternate
Section 3 General Attendance Requirements	Addition and Revision	3.6.3 Requirements for a Student's Being Considered Present or Absent for FSP (Funding) Purposes For official attendance accounting purposes, "excused" and "unexcused" absences	3.6.3 Requirements for a Student's Being Considered Present or Absent for FSP (Funding) Purposes For official attendance accounting purposes, "excused" and "unexcused" absences
		Students who	Students who
		Note: These attendance provisions do not apply to the OFSDP or the Texas Virtual School Network. For special attendance provisions that apply to these programs, please refer to Section 11, on nontraditional programs. A student not actually on campus at the time attendance is taken may be considered in attendance for FSP purposes if the student	Note: These attendance provisions do not apply to the OFSDP, the HSEP, or homebound programs (general education homebound [GEH], special education homebound, or Compensatory Education Home Instruction [CEHI]). For special attendance provisions that apply to these programs, please refer to the applicable sections of the handbook.
			A student not actually on campus at the time attendance is taken may be considered in attendance for FSP purposes if the student
		 is enrolled in and attending an off-campus dual credit program course (see 3.6.2.2 Alternate Attendance- Taking Time for Certain Student Populations for instructions on how to record attendance for these students). 	 is enrolled in and attending off-campus dual credit program courses and is not scheduled to be on campus during any part of the school day.
			Students who are enrolled in and attending an off- campus dual credit program course and are scheduled to be on campus during any part of the school day should have their attendance recorded while they are on campus. See 3.6.2.2 Alternate Attendance-Taking Time for Certain Student Populations for instructions on how to record attendance for these students if they are not scheduled to be on campus during the official attendance-taking time.

Section Char	nge 2011–2012 Version 1	2011–2012 Version 2
	 is participating in an activity Texas. is temporarily absent because of a documented appointment with a health care professional. A documented appointment, such as a note from the health care professional. ⁴ The appointment must be professional. is in his or her junior or higher education. Your school district must allow a student whose absence is excused for any of the previously listed reasons a reasonable amount of time to make up school work missed on these days. If 	 is enrolled full-time in TxVSN courses. See 11.9 Texas Virtual School Network (TxVSN) for information on recording daily attendance. Students who are enrolled in one or more TxVSN courses but attend part of the day at a regular campus and who are not scheduled to be on campus during the official attendance-taking time should have their attendance recorded during the part of the day they are on campus. See 3.6.2.2 Alternate Attendance-Taking Time for Certain Student Populations for instructions on how to record attendance for these students. is participating in an activity Texas. is temporarily absent because of a documented appointment with a health care professional licensed to practice in the United States. A documented appointment , such as a note from the health care professional. The appointment must be professional. is in his or her junior or higher education. Your school district must allow a student whose absence is excused for any of the previously listed reasons (with the exception of the first two reasons, for which this paragraph does not apply) a reasonable amount of time to make up school work missed on these days. If
Section 4 Addit Special	4.2.10 PEIMS Coding Charts for Students With	4.2.10 PEIMS Coding Charts for Students With

⁴ 19 TAC §129.21(k), TEC, §25.087(b)(1)(A) ⁵ You can access the Texas Medical Board's searchable database of licensed physicians at http://reg.tmb.state.tx.us/OnLineVerif/Phys_SearchVerif.asp. ⁶ 19 TAC §129.21(k)

Section	Change			2011-	-2012 Versi	on 1				2011–2012 Version 2
Education		Disabilities								Disabilities
		First page of	PK and	d Speci	ial Educatio	n Serv	ices ch	art, I	ower	First page of PK and Special Education Services chart, lower
		part of chart:		-						part of chart:
			PK an	d Spec	ial Education	on Serv	/ices		PK and Special Education Services	
			Student Age ⁴	Elig.	Instructional Setting Code		PPCD Ind.	ECI Ind.	Child Count	Student Age ⁴ Code Setting Code Level Ind. Count
			7.90	Code	John S Com					Code Setting Code Level IIId. IIId. Codiit
		A student eligi	ble for s	special e	ducation AND	PK ser	vices w	no is	_	A student eligible for special education <u>AND</u> PK services who is —
		A student eligi		special e	ducation serv	rices AN	<u>ID</u> inelig	ible f	or PK	A student eligible for special education services <u>AND</u> ineligible for PK
		services who i	s —	ı		1	1		ı	services who is — served in the PK
		classroom for ½		0 1-14						classroom for 1/2
		day and in a S-C	3 or 4	2 half- day	43	EE	1	0	3	day and in a S-C 3 or 4 2 half- day day EE 1 0 3
		classroom for the other ½ day ⁵		,						classroom for the other ½ day ⁵
		served in the PK								served in the PK
		classroom by		O half						classroom by PK and special 2 and 2 half-
		PK and special education	3 or 4	2 half- day	42	EE	1	0	3	PK and special 3 or 4 2 Alf- 42 BE 1 0 3
		teachers for ½								teachers for ½
		day ^{5, 7} served in the PK								day ^{5, 7} served in the
		classroom by								PK classroom
		PK and special	3 or 4	1 full-	42	EE	1	0	3	by PK and
		education teachers for the		day						special
		full day ^{5, 7}								teachers for ½ 3 or 4 day 43 EE 1 0 3
		served								day ^{5,7} and in a
										day
										served in the PK classroom by
										DK and engoing 1 full
										leducation day leading to the
										teachers for the full day ^{5,7}
										served
Section 4	Revision	4.2.10 PEIM Disabilities	S Cod	ing Ch	arts for St	udents	s With			4.2.10 PEIMS Coding Charts for Students With Disabilities
		ווומסטווונופט								Disabilities

Section	Change			2011	-2012 Vers	ion 1							2011	-2012 Vers	ion 2			
Special		Second pag	e of PK	and S	pecial Educ	ation S	ervice	s cha	rt:		Second pag	e of PK	and S	pecial Educ	ation S	ervice	s cha	rt:
Education			1/ 10		= 1	<u> </u>		4 \		1	_	17 10		= 1	<u> </u>	,	41	
		Р		peciai ADA	Education Instructional		1				Р			Education Instructional				
			Student Age ⁴	Elig.	Setting	Grade Level	PPCD Ind.	ECI Ind.	Child Count			Student Age ⁴	Elig.	Setting	Grade Level	PPCD Ind.	ECI Ind.	Child Count
		Δ student eli		Code	Code education se	rvices re	ceiving		es in		Δ student w	_	Code	Code special educa	tion ser	vices is	recei	
		a childcare f			- caacation sc		Joonving	301 VI	JCO III		services in a	a commur	nity-bas	sed childcare	acility, a	and is —	-	g
		served (in a collaborative effort with childcare personnel) by a special education teacher for at least 2 hours but	3 or 4	2 half- day	40	EE	1	0	3		served (in a collaborative effort with childcare personnel) by a special education teacher for at least 2 hours but	3 or 4	2 half- day	91	EE	1	0	3
		served (in a collaborative effort with childcare personnel) by a special education teacher for 4 or more	3 or 4	1 full- day	40	EE	1	0	3		served (in a collaborative effort with childcare personnel) by a special education teacher for 4 or more	3 or 4	1 full- day	91	EE	1	0	3
		hours a day								<u> </u>	hours a day							
Section 4 Special	Revision	4.2.10 PEIN Disabilities		ing C	harts for S	tudent	s With				4.2.10 PEIN Disabilities		ing C	harts for S	tudent	s With)	

Section	Change		2011–2	2012 Vei	sion 1					2011–2012 Version 2
Education		Last section change docu	of same chart iment:	as show	n in previ	ous i	ow (of		Last section of same chart as shown in previous row of change document:
		available chil	gible for special e dcare setting with t childcare facility	nin the co	mmunity, re					A student who is eligible for special education services, is receiving services in a district-operated childcare facility, and is —
		···	t crindcare racinty	, and with	13 —					 :::
		served in a S-C classroom within a childcare								served in a S-C classroom within a childcare facility by a
		facility by a special education teacher for at least 2 hours but fewer than 4 hours each day	3 or 4	2 half- day	97	EE	1	0	3	special 3 or 4 education teacher for at least 2 hours but fewer than 4 hours each day served in a
		served in a S-C classroom within a childcare facility by a special education teacher for more than 4 hours each day	3 or 4	1 full- day	97	EE	1	0	3	S-C classroom within a childcare facility by a special education teacher for more than 4 hours each day
Section 4 Special Education	Revision	4.6.2.1 Hom In making	nebound Note	s						4.6.2.1 Homebound Notes In making
		arrangement/	ved in the specionsections was defined to the contraction of the contr	served b	y a highly	qualit	ied s	spec	ial	The teacher serving a student at home or hospital bedside ("homebound teacher") while the student is in the special education homebound instructional arrangement/setting must be a highly qualified special education teacher if the homebound teacher is the teacher of record and is providing the student with direct instruction in the core academic subject area. However, the homebound teacher does not have to be highly qualified (but must be a special education teacher) if the homebound teacher is not the teacher of record and is serving in a support role by providing the student with only direct assistance. See 4.13 Teacher Requirements and

Section	Change	2011–2012 Version 1	2011–2012 Version 2
			the TEA Guidance for the Implementation of NCLB Highly Qualified Teacher Requirements, available on the TEA Highly Qualified Teachers web page at http://www.tea.state.tx.us/index4.aspx?id=4650&menu_id=798 .
		A student	A student
		A student	A student
		A student otherwise eligible for special education services who meets the four criteria above does not need to meet the criteria in the federal definition for other health impairment (OHI) to be eligible for homebound services.	A student otherwise eligible for special education services who meets the three criteria above does not need to meet the criteria in the federal definition for other health impairment (OHI) to be eligible for homebound services.
Section 5 Career and Technical	Revision	5.2 Eligibility and Eligible Days Present Your district following four criteria:	5.2 Eligibility and Eligible Days Present Your district following four criteria:
Education		1. Each CTE course	1. Each CTE course
		2. Your district	2. Your district
		3. Your district	3. Your district
		 To be eligible for CTE contact hour funding, your district must offer one or more programs of study in at least three different clusters. 	 To be eligible for CTE contact hour funding, your district must offer one or more coherent sequences of courses in at least three different career clusters⁷.
Section 5 Career and Technical	Revision	5.7.2 Practicum Course Eligibility Requirements CTE Practicum course for definitions.	5.7.2 Practicum Course Eligibility Requirements CTE Practicum course for definitions.
Education		Practicum courses a	Practicum courses a
		Each Practicum course using a work-based learning instructional arrangement must consist of student participation in training appropriate to the student's program of study plus participation in related CTE classroom instruction. The course	Each Practicum course using a work-based learning instructional arrangement must consist of student participation in training appropriate to the student's coherent sequence of courses plus participation in related CTE classroom instruction. The course
Section 6 Bilingual/ESL	Revision and Addition	6.4.2 Exit Criteria TEXT OF CELL FOR 9TH GRADE ENGLISH READING AND ELA:	6.4.2 Exit Criteria TEXT OF CELL FOR 9TH GRADE ENGLISH READING AND ELA:

⁷ A career cluster is one of the 16 career clusters around which CTE is organized. A list of the 16 career clusters and links to recommended sequences of courses can be found on the following TEA web page: http://www.tea.state.tx.us/index2.aspx?id=5415.

Section	Change	2011–2012 Version 1	2011–2012 Version 2
		State of Texas Assessmts. of Academic Readiness (STAAR)	EOC English I Reading State of Texas Assessmts. of Academic Readiness (STAAR) ³
		LABEL FOR THIRD ROW: Writing	LABEL FOR THIRD ROW: English Writing
		TEXT OF CELL FOR 9TH GRADE WRITING: Agency-Apprvd. Writing Test	TEXT OF CELL FOR 9TH GRADE ENGLISH WRITING: EOC English I Writing STAAR ⁴
			NEW TABLE FOOTNOTES: ² For eligible LEP students receiving special education services
			³ Exception: TELPAS Reading Advanced High will be used for students repeating grade 9 in the 2011–2012 school year (since these students will graduate under the TAKS, not STAAR, program).
			⁴ Exception: An agency-approved writing test from the 2011–2012 list of approved tests will be used for students repeating grade 9 in the 2011–2012 school year (since these students will graduate under the TAKS, not STAAR, program).
Section 6 Bilingual/ESL	Revision	6.9.3 Students in Grades 9 Through 12 Students in grades 9 through 12 may be counted for funding in a bilingual or ESL education program if they are served by at least one teacher who is certified in ESL for that grade level and who is responsible for meeting the linguistic needs of the LEP students. However, ESOL I and ESOL II must be taught by teachers who have an English or English Language Arts certification plus an ESL or Bilingual certification.	6.9.3 Students in Grades 9 Through 12 Students in grades 9 through 12 may be counted for funding in a bilingual or ESL education program even if they are served by staff members who are not bilingual/ESL-certified, but only if the staff members have received professional development in sheltered instruction. However, ESOL I and ESOL II must be taught by teachers who have an English or English Language Arts certification plus an ESL or Bilingual certification.
Section 7 Prekinder- garten	Revision	7.2 Eligibility To be eligible for enrollment in a PK class, a child must be 3 or 4 years of age on September 1 of the current school year and must —	7.2 Eligibility To be eligible for enrollment in a PK class, a child must be 3 or 4 years of age on September 1 of the current school year and must —
		 1 6. have ever been in the conservatorship (foster care) of the Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) following an adversary hearing. Once 	 1 6. have ever been in the conservatorship of the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services (foster care) following an adversary hearing. Once
Section 9 Pregnancy Related Services	Revision	9.14 Test Administration During CEHI Students confined	9.14 Test Administration During CEHI Students confined

Section	Change	2011–2012 Version 1	2011–2012 Version 2
(PRS)			
		A student receiving CEHI who returns to his or her campus to	A student receiving CEHI who returns to her campus to
Section 10 Nontraditional Schools	Revision	10.10 Expulsion Your school district To the extent authorized by the MOU, a student placed in a DAEP may be expelled if the student engages in serious misbehavior as defined by the TEC, §37.007(c).8 The following table [TABLE] Students who	10.10 Expulsion Your school district must also adopt consistent procedures for determining when a student has engaged in serious or persistent misbehavior violating the student code of conduct while placed in an alternative education program, for the purposes of expelling students from a DAEP for this reason (disciplinary action code 20). The following table [TABLE] Expulsion from a DAEP can result in JJAEP placement if the conduct or expulsion warrants such placement and depending on the local student code of conduct and the MOU. Students who
Section 10 Nontraditional Schools	Revision	 10.11.1 JJAEPs and School Districts in Counties With Populations Greater Than 125,000 If your school district is in a county with a population greater than 125,000, then your school district and the county juvenile board must annually enter into a joint memorandum of understanding (MOU), an annual written agreement that — outlines; defines; establishes that a student may be placed in the JJAEP if the student engages in serious misbehavior as defined by the TEC, §37.007(c) 10; 	 10.11.1 JJAEPs and School Districts in Counties With Populations Greater Than 125,000 If your school district is in a county with a population greater than 125,000, then your school district and the county juvenile board must annually enter into a joint memorandum of understanding (MOU), an annual written agreement that — outlines; defines; identifies those categories of conduct that the school district has defined in its student code of conduct as constituting serious or persistent misbehavior for

 $^{^8}$ TEC, §37.007(c) and §37.011(k)(3) and (l) [HB 968, 82nd Legislature, Regular Session, 2011] 9 TEC, §37.007(c) 10 [HB 968, 82nd Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2011]

Section	Change	2011–2012 Version 1	2011–2012 Version 2
		4. identifies	which a student may be placed in the JJAEP; 4. identifies
Section 11 Nontraditional Programs	Addition	11.9 Texas Virtual School Network (TxVSN) For more information, please refer to the TEA Texas Virtual School Network web page at http://www.tea.state.tx.us/index2.aspx?id=4840&menu_id=2147483665 and to the main TxVSN website at http://www.txvsn.org/.	11.9 Texas Virtual School Network (TxVSN) The Texas Virtual School Network (TxVSN) is a statewide network that provides students throughout the state with access to online courses that address all of the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) and meet national standards for quality online courses. The network was established by Senate Bill 1788, passed by the 80th Texas Legislature, Regular Session, in May 2007. The TEC, Chapter 30A, which established the TxVSN, does not affect the provision of distance learning courses offered under other law. The TxVSN creates an additional distance learning option for districts. Courses approved through the TxVSN review process first became available for grades 9 through 12 through the TxVSN statewide course catalog in January 2009. TxVSN online courses can be provided through the TxVSN statewide course catalog by a TxVSN provider school district or school, defined as a school district or open-enrollment charter school that meets certain eligibility requirements; Texas public and private institutions of higher education; and regional education service centers (ESCs), per commissioner's rule. For more information on the TxVSN and to view the list of available courses in the TxVSN course catalog, visit the TxVSN website at http://www.txvsn.org/ . The information and provisions in this subsection (Subsection 11.9, including 11.9.1 through 11.9.4) apply specifically to the TxVSN and TxVSN courses. They do not apply to any other form of electronically delivered instruction. See 3.2.2.3 Time Spent in Self-Paced Course for requirements related to time spent in self-paced computer courses.
			A student who is enrolled in a school district or open-

Section	Change	2011-2012 Version 1	2011–2012 Version 2
			enrollment charter school in this state may take one or more electronic courses through the TxVSN, provided the student meets eligibility criteria.
			A student is eligible to enroll in a course provided by the TxVSN only if the student meets the following three criteria —
			 the student, on September 1 of the school year — is younger than 21 years of age; or is younger than 26 years of age and entitled to the benefits of the FSP under the TEC, §42.003;
			2. the student has not graduated from high school; and
			 a. is otherwise eligible to enroll in a public school in this state; or b. meets the following requirements: i. is a dependent of a member of the United States military; ii. was previously enrolled in high school in this state; and iii. no longer resides in this state as a result of a military deployment or transfer.
			11.9.1.1 Student Eligibility for Full-Time Enrollment in TxVSN Courses "Full-time enrollment" means enrollment in five or more TxVSN courses.
			A student is eligible to enroll full time in TxVSN courses only if the student meets one of the following three criteria:
			the student was enrolled in a public school in this state in the preceding school year;
			2. the student has been placed in substitute care ¹¹ in this state, regardless of whether the student was enrolled

¹¹ Per the Texas Family Code, §263.001(a)(4), "substitute care" means the placement of a child who is in the conservatorship of the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services or an authorized agency in care outside the child's home. The term includes foster care, institutional care, adoption, placement with a relative of the child, or commitment to the Texas Youth Commission. Note that, effective December 1, 2011, a reference in this handbook to the Texas Juvenile Probation Commission or the Texas Youth Commission means the Texas Juvenile Justice Department.

Section	Change	2011–2012 Version 1	2011–2012 Version 2
			in a public school in this state in the preceding school year; or
			 3. the student — a. is a dependent of a member of the United States military; b. was previously enrolled in high school in this state; and c. no longer resides in this state as a result of a military deployment or transfer.
			TxVSN Receiver Districts
			Students in Grades 9 Through 12: For the 2011–2012 school year, a student in grades 9 through 12 who is enrolled in a registered TxVSN receiver district is eligible to enroll full time in courses offered through the TxVSN statewide course catalog only if the student meets one of the three eligibility criteria above.
			TxVSN Online Schools
			Students in Grades 3 Through 11: For the 2011–2012 school year, a student in grades 3 through 11 is eligible to enroll full time in TxVSN courses that make up the full-time virtual instructional program offered by a TxVSN Online School only if —
			the student meets one of the three eligibility criteria above and
			2. the student is enrolled in a school district or open- enrollment charter school that applied and was approved to participate in the full-time virtual school option called the TxVSN Online Schools (formerly known as the Electronic Course Program [eCP]) authorized under the TEC, §29.909, as that section existed on January 1, 2009. 12

As of the publication date of this handbook, the following three local education agencies (LEAs) meet this requirement: 1) Houston Independent School District (ISD): Texas Connections Academy at Houston, 2) Responsive Education Solutions: IQ Academy, and 3) Texarkana ISD: Texarkana ISD Virtual Academy. These LEAs will offer a full-time virtual program rather than instruction in individual content areas. For the 2011–2012 school year, these LEAs will not offer their virtual programs through the TxVSN course catalog.

Section	Change	2011–2012 Version 1	2011–2012 Version 2
			11.9.1.2 Student Eligibility and Documentation For a student whose eligibility to enroll full-time in TxVSN courses is based on having been placed in substitute care, a court order related to the placement is acceptable documentation of eligibility. A copy of documentation showing that the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services or an authorized agency placed the student in substitute care is also acceptable.
			For a student whose eligibility to enroll in TxVSN courses is based on being a dependent of a member of the United States military and no longer residing in Texas because of a military deployment or transfer, the following must be on file:
			documentation that a district employee verified the student's Department of Defense (DoD) photo identification for children of active duty service members. The documentation must include the printed name and signature of the person who verified the identification and the date that it was verified. Important: Your district should not make a copy of the identification.
			If the student has not been issued such an ID, then documentation must be on file that a district employee verified the military member's DoD photo identification (or other DoD-issued documentation indicating that the person is an active-duty member of the military) and verified documentation showing that the student is a dependent of the military member. The documentation to be kept on file must include the printed name and signature of the person who verified the DoD and other documentation and the date that they were verified, as well as a photocopy of the documentation showing that the student is a dependent of the military member. Important: Your district should not make a copy of the DoD identification.
			and
			DoD-issued orders or other DoD-issued

Section	Change	2011–2012 Version 1	2011–2012 Version 2
			documentation showing that the military member has been deployed or transferred outside of Texas.
			11.9.2 TxVSN FSP Funding and Attendance Accounting If an eligible student participates in course(s) offered through the TxVSN and meets the requirements for enrollment in a Texas school district or charter school, the student is eligible to generate FSP funding in the same manner as a student who receives instruction in a traditional classroom generates FSP funding.
			Enrollment in courses taken through the TxVSN may apply toward ADA eligibility status. For a TxVSN course to count toward ADA eligibility status, the student must successfully complete the course regardless of whether or not the student is physically present at the school when taking the online course. Successful completion is defined as earning credit for the online semester course.
			For purposes of determining the initial ADA eligibility code of a student enrolled in one or more TxVSN courses, the student is considered to be scheduled for and receiving instruction for 55 minutes each day for each virtual course taken through the TxVSN.
			To determine a student's ultimate ADA eligibility status for a semester, the district must consider whether the student successfully completed each TxVSN online semester course in which the student was enrolled. A student who was enrolled in an online semester course but did not successfully complete the course is no longer considered to have been scheduled for and receiving instruction for 55 minutes each day for that course. If the student did not successfully complete a TxVSN course, the district must adjust the student's ADA eligibility code and attendance accordingly and report this adjusted information in the third PEIMS submission.
			For purposes of recording a student's daily attendance, a student enrolled full-time in TxVSN courses (enrolled in five TxVSN courses) is considered to have been present (in attendance) for each day of instruction in the reporting period.

Section	Change	2011–2012 Version 1	2011–2012 Version 2
			The daily attendance of a student who is not enrolled full-time in TxVSN courses is determined by whether that student was present or absent at the official attendance-taking time, or, if the student is not scheduled to be on campus at the official attendance-taking time, whether the student was present or absent at the alternate attendance-taking time set for that student. See 3.6.2 Time of Day for Attendance Taking and 3.6.2.2 Alternate Attendance-Taking Time for Certain Student Populations.
			A student's enrollment in one or more TxVSN courses does not necessarily preclude your district from serving the student in other special programs, such as special education, career and technical education, bilingual/English as a Second Language education, or Pregnancy Related Services. Nor does it necessarily preclude your district from receiving weighted funding for serving the student in those programs, provided all program requirements are met. See the applicable sections of the handbook for specific program requirements. The determination of whether a TxVSN course will meet the needs of a student with a disability must be made by that student's admission, review, and dismissal committee in a manner consistent with state and federal law. ¹³
			11.9.3 Additional TxVSN Requirements and Information A student who has begun enrollment in an electronic course and transfers from one educational setting to another is entitled to continue enrollment in the course.
			Your school district or open-enrollment charter school may not require a student to enroll in an electronic course.
			A student who resides in this state but who is not enrolled in a school district or open-enrollment charter school in this state as a full-time student may 14 enroll in electronic courses through the TxVSN. A student to whom this paragraph applies —
			may not in any semester enroll in more than two electronic courses offered through the state virtual

¹³ TEC, §30A.007 (SB 1, 82nd Texas Legislature, First Called Session, 2011)
14 Subject to the TEC, §30A.155

Section	Change	2011–2012 Version 1	2011–2012 Version 2
			school network,
			is not considered to be a public school student and is not eligible to generate FSP funding,
			 must obtain access to a course provided through the network through the school district or open-enrollment charter school attendance zone in which the student resides,
			 is not entitled to enroll in a course offered by a school district or open-enrollment charter school other than an electronic course provided through the network, and
			is not entitled to any right, privilege, activities, or services available to a student enrolled in a public school, other than the right to receive the appropriate unit of credit for completing an electronic course.
			11.9.4 Examples
			Example 1
			A student who was scheduled for and receiving instruction in traditional classes for 185 minutes each day and who was enrolled in one TxVSN course would initially be reported with an ADA eligibility code of 1 - Eligible for Full-Day Attendance because the online course would be considered to be 55 minutes of daily instructional time. However, if the student did not successfully complete the online course, then the student would be reported with an ADA eligibility code of 2 - Eligible for Half-Day Attendance because the 55 minutes for the online course could not be considered instructional time.
			Regardless of whether the student completed the TxVSN course successfully, the student's daily attendance would be determined by whether the student was present or absent at the official attendance-taking time or at the alternate attendance-taking time set for that student.
			Example 2

Section	Change	2011–2012 Version 1	2011–2012 Version 2
			A student who was scheduled for and receiving instruction in traditional classes for 4 hours (240 minutes) each day and who was enrolled in one or more TxVSN courses would be reported with an ADA eligibility code of 1 - Eligible for Full-Day Attendance. Whether the student successfully completed the TxVSN course(s) would not impact the student's ADA eligibility code because the student would not need the additional 55 minutes generated by the online course to be eligible for full-day attendance.
			Regardless of whether the student completed the TxVSN course(s) successfully, the student's daily attendance would be determined by whether the student was present or absent at the official attendance-taking time or at the alternate attendance-taking time set for that student.
			Example 3
			A student who was scheduled for and receiving instruction in traditional classes for 1 hour (60 minutes) each day and was enrolled in two TxVSN courses would initially be reported with an ADA eligibility code of 2 - Eligible for Half-Day Attendance because each TxVSN course would be considered to be 55 minutes of daily instructional time (110 minutes total for both TxVSN courses). However, if the student did not successfully complete both TxVSN courses, then the student would be reported with an ADA eligibility code of 0 - Enrolled, Not in Membership, because the minutes for the TxVSN courses could not be considered instructional time.
			Regardless of whether the student completed the TxVSN courses successfully, the student's daily attendance would be determined by whether the student was present or absent at the official attendance-taking time or at the alternate attendance-taking time set for that student. If the student did not successfully complete both TxVSN courses and was subsequently reported with an ADA eligibility code of 0, the student would not generate any FSP funding.
			Example 4
			A student who was enrolled full-time in TxVSN courses (i.e.,

Section	Change	2011–2012 Version 1	2011–2012 Version 2
			was enrolled in five TxVSN courses) would initially be reported with an ADA eligibility code of 1 - Eligible for Full-Day Attendance. If the student successfully completed all five courses, his or her ADA eligibility code would not change. If the student successfully completed only three or four of the courses, his or her ADA eligibility code would be changed to 2 - Eligible for Half-Day Attendance. If the student successfully completed only two or fewer of the courses, his or her ADA eligibility code would be changed to 0 - Enrolled, Not in Membership.
			Regardless of whether the student completed the TxVSN courses successfully, the student would be considered to have been present (in attendance) for each day of instruction in the reporting period. If the student did not successfully complete at least three of the TxVSN courses and was subsequently reported with an ADA eligibility code of 0, the student would not generate any FSP funding.
Section 13 Glossary	Addition	Career and Technical Education Career Preparation and Practicum Courses – Teacher industry.	Career and Technical Education Career Preparation and Practicum Courses – Teacher industry.
		Center-Based Instruction – The instructional arrangement/setting code ADA.	Career Cluster – One of the 16 career clusters around which career and technical education is organized. A list of the 16 career clusters and links to recommended sequences of courses can be found on the following TEA web page: http://www.tea.state.tx.us/index2.aspx?id=5415 .
			Center-Based Instruction – The instructional arrangement/setting code ADA.
Section 13 Glossary	Addition	Student Detail Report – A data of each student (Section 2).	Student Detail Report – A data of each student (Section 2).
3.3333,		Suspension – See In-School Suspension and Out-of-School Suspension.	Substitute Care – The placement of a child who is in the conservatorship of the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services or an authorized agency in care outside the child's home. The term includes foster care, institutional care, adoption, placement with a relative of the child, or commitment to the Texas Youth Commission 15.16
			Suspension – See In-School Suspension and Out-of-School

Effective December 1, 2011, a reference in this handbook to the Texas Juvenile Probation Commission or the Texas Youth Commission means the Texas Juvenile Justice Department.

16 Texas Family Code, §263.001(a)(4)

Section	Change	2011–2012 Version 1	2011–2012 Version 2
		Suspension.	