







How do you determine salary & service once you have the required documents?





Service Record from all previous school districts

Verification of Accreditation

Private School or University

Out-of-Country Schools and Universities

TEA Steps to Determine Salary & Service



TEA 1. Confirm days worked in each school year

- The Commissioner's Rules on Creditable Years of Service, Title 19, Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §153.1021 serve as a baseline for minimum requirements when determining an individual's years of experience.
- Days of Service required (applicable to all entities)
 - Beginning with the 1998–1999 school year, 90 days of full-time or 180 days of part-time employment are required for the year to count as creditable.
 - The 90 days required at 100% may be equivalent to 4 ½ months or a full semester.
 - The 180 days required at 50–99% of the day may be equivalent to 90 full-time equivalent days, using the % of day employed multiplied by the number of days employed.

TEA 2. Determine if Entity is Recognized

- 1. Texas public elementary and secondary schools, including charter schools
- 2. State regional education service centers
- 3. State departments of education
- 4. Texas Department of Corrections--Windham Schools
- 5. Public elementary and secondary schools in all other states in the United States or within the boundaries of any of its territorial possessions
- 6. Overseas schools operated by the U.S. Government
- 7. Texas public or private colleges or universities
- 8. Texas private elementary and secondary schools
- 9. Texas non-public special education contract schools
- 10. Texas Department of State Health Services (formerly the Texas Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation)--state hospitals and state schools

- 11. Texas veterans' vocational schools
- 12. Public or private colleges or universities and private elementary and secondary schools in all other states in the United States or within the boundaries of any of its territorial possessions
- 13. Foreign public or private colleges or universities, or elementary and secondary schools
- 14. U.S. Department of Interior--Bureau of Indian Affairs
- 15. U.S. service academies
- 16. U.S. military service
- 17. Job Corps
- 18. Peace Corps (in a professional capacity only)

TEA 3. Review Requirements based on Entity

Commissioner's Rules on Creditable Years of Service

§153.CC.

Chapter 153. School District Personnel

Subchapter CC. Commissioner's Rules on Creditable Years of Service

Using the Commissioner's Rules, review the requirements based on that entity.

https://tea.texas.gov/sites/default/files/ch153cc.pdf



- Certification is required.
- Proper state or national licensure as required by the position or the educational requirements for the job assigned.
- Service record is required.
 - Attach any supporting documentation to the service record.
 - For permits that are not reflected online, such as old permit renewals, attach a copy to the service record.



- An educator that does not hold a valid Texas certificate does not earn service for salary increment purposes.
- This does not mean you cannot pay them according the minimum salary schedule, but it will be a local district decision.
- Tip: It can be helpful to specify on a service record that the position was as a non-certified teacher.



Employment must have been in a professional capacity

- Teacher certification is required only if it is a special education or bilingual assignment, or it is stated in the charter application.
- Service record is required.



- There are 2 search options to find charter schools on the TEA website.
 - AskTed
 - From <u>tea.texas.gov</u>, Select Reports & Data, School Performance, Accountability Rating System, then select the appropriate year and then Charter School Ratings
- The Division of Charter School Administration has advised that if a charter is listed here, it was operating as a public school in Texas, even if "Not Rated."
- A charter school may change its name, but the district ID number never changes.



If a charter school is taken over by another charter or ISD, those records would go to the new school.

If a charter school is truly closed, then the educator will need to contact Region 13.

You can access closed charter school information on <u>the TEA website</u> <u>under **Texas Schools**</u>, then **Charter Schools**, and select **Closures** at the bottom of the page.



- Certification is not required.
- Service record is required.
- Valid accreditation at the time of service is required.
 - Service beginning 1989 and still current today: Texas Private School Accreditation Commission (<u>TEPSAC</u>).
 - Prior to 1986-1987: TEA or Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS)
 - 1986-87 through 1988-89: TEA or recognized regional accrediting agency



• Public Schools

- Certification is not required
- Private Schools
 - Must be accredited
 - In <u>states or territories that have no provisions</u> for accrediting, licensing, or approving private elementary or secondary schools, the educator must have a certification where the school was located or a Texas teaching certificate.
- Service record is required.



- All college or university experience must be recorded on the teacher service record and must be accredited.
 - A supporting letter or form must be attached to the teacher service record verifying that either the full-time or part-time employment was at faculty status or its equivalent and that the schedule of work and the pay constituted that of other similar faculty employees.
 - Professional Administrative or Instructional staff is acceptable.
 - Graduate Assistant, Assistant Instructor, Instructor on a fellowship do NOT count.
 - Full-time –required prior to 1990-1991
 - Part-time -beginning in 1990-1991 employment must have been at least 3 ½ hours each day



- Certification is not required.
- Service Record and Verification of Accreditation form is required.
- For foreign <u>public</u> schools, colleges, and universities, accreditation by a recognized agency of the foreign country or by a recognized accrediting agency in the United States is required.
- For foreign <u>private</u> schools, colleges, and universities, accreditation must be by a recognized regional accrediting agency listed in the Commissioner's Rules
- A supporting letter or form must be attached to the teacher service record verifying that either the full-time or part-time employment was at <u>faculty status</u> or its equivalent and that the schedule of work and the pay constituted that of other similar faculty employees.



Beginning in 2004-2005, a certified teacher's aide who obtains teacher certification may count up to 2 years for salary purposes.

The "may" does not mean it is a district choice. It means that the educator may not have the necessary minimum days for the full 2 years.



Example scenarios of service that is eligible

- 1. Served as full-time certified aide from 1995-2002, became a certified teacher in 2008
- 2. Served as a certified aide in 2012 -2013 for 96 days, became a certified teacher in 2014, eligible for 1 year of service



Example scenarios of service that is NOT eligible

- 1. Full time certified aide through 1995-2000, became a teacher in 2003
- 2. Served as an aide but did not hold a certificate
- 3. Served as an aide 2006-2007, but only for 60 days and then became a teacher in 2008
- 4. Became a teacher in 2005, served as an aide in 2007



- Must have held a valid Texas certificate.
 - A valid emergency permit is sufficient
- Certification is required in the state where the school is located or a Texas certificate at the time the service was earned.
- Service record is required.
- Substitute experience in another country is not supported by Commissioner's Rule.



- There are only 3 certificates that require work experience:
 - Trade and Industrial Education
 - Health Science (previously Health Science Technology)
 - Marketing
- Employed at least 50% in an approved CTE position
- If experience is based on a skill-based certificate that has been added by examination, note on the service record the first date the educator worked 50% of the day in the appropriate assignment.
- Once earned, it cannot be taken away, even if no longer working in a CTE assignment.



- Must have worked full time at a recognized accredited university-operated hospital as an RN
- Verified Peace Corps nursing experience
 - The person must have held a valid teaching certificate or appropriate license that would qualify for service credit from any state in the United States during the period of employment.
 - Employment must have been with a school system (Grades K-12) in a foreign country.
- Service record required



Most important questions to ask before sending the educator to obtain all documentation:

- 1. What were you doing the 12 months before entering the military?
- 2. When did you enter the military after leaving your previous employer?

If they were employed in a professional position by an entity recognized for years of service and then entered the military within 12 months into active duty, review the required documents listed in the Commissioner's Rules.



- Effective September 1, 2015 the TEA will waive certain fees for eligible military service members, military veterans, and military spouses.
- Refer your educator to the <u>Military Community and First Responders</u> <u>page</u> of the TEA Website for fee exemption requirements



- A person teaching **adult basic education** is eligible for creditable service if the program was operated by a public school and the person held a valid teaching certificate.
- Beginning in 1998-1999, service as an instructor in an agricultural extension service operated by an accredited college or university may be recognized for salary increment purposes as long as the person held a valid Texas teaching certificate at the time the service was rendered.



- A legible copy of the service record must be kept by the employing school district for 75 years.
- The original signed service record should be given to the employee or sent to the next ISD or charter school once employment is terminated.
- If an original service record is lost a copy from the district is valid for determining service.
- A scanned version of the original service record may be considered official if sent directly from one employing district to another employing district



- Digital service records are valid only for the designated recipient.
 - A digital version that includes information from previous employing districts is acceptable if the most recent school district is the designated recipient of the information from the previous districts.
 - A digital copy is not official from the educator.
- Digital service records must still be signed. There are many digital signature options and districts are free to choose an option that works best for their district.



- All supporting documentation, such as a Statement of Qualifications (SOQ), aide experience, etc., should be kept with the original. A legible copy of any supporting documents needs to be kept with the district copy of service records.
- Signed by educator" has been replaced with "verified by educator" in the Commissioner's rules.

Service Records that have been Lost, Damaged, or Destroyed

- Lost service records
 - The employing ISD should do their best to recreate the information to the best of their ability.
 - Some of the things you may request are paystubs or W2's.
 - Check with your PEIMS contact.
 - If additional PEIMS data is needed to recreate the service record, please email <u>pir@tea.texas.gov</u>.
 - TEA does not track an educator's service.



• <u>Texas Education Agency (TEA) Website</u>

- <u>https://tea.texas.gov/</u>
- Click on Texas Educators
- Select Salary Service Record
- Select <u>Commissioner's Rules on Creditable Years of Service</u>, §153.1021 and §153.1022.

TEA Helpful Contact Information & Links

Help Desk Ticket	 <u>https://helpdesk.tea.texas.gov/hc/en-us</u> Click "Educator Certification and CPE" In the Educator Certification box, click "Submit a Request" 	Helpful Links Electronic interactive service record (PDF) (must download to view) Blank Service Record (PDF)
Educator Certification	512-936-8400 Option 2	College Verification, Full-Time (PDF) College Verification, Part-Time (PDF)
Educator Preparation Programs	512-936-8400 Option 5, then Option 1	Verification of Accreditation Status (PDF) Charter School Closures
Fingerprinting	512-936-8400 Option 3	Texas Private School Accreditation Commission (TEPSAC) TEA Military Fee Exemption Requirements
Charter School Division	512-463-9575 <u>charterschools@tea.texas.gov</u>	Commissioner's Rules on Credible Years of <u>Service</u>
https://tea.texas.gov/texas-educators/salary-and-service-record		List of States Without Provisions for Accrediting,

Licensing, or Approving Private Schools (PDF)