

Prekindergarten Registration and Enrollment



ADA: Average Daily Attendance **ARM:** Administrator's Reference Manual **EB:** Emergent Bilingual **ECDS:** Early Childhood Data System **ECE:** Early Childhood Education **Eco Dis:** Economically Disadvantaged **ECSE:** Early Childhood Special Education **ESC:** Education Service Center **FAQ:** Frequently Asked Question **HQPK:** High-Quality Prekindergarten **LEA:** Local Educational Agency **NSLP:** National School Lunch Program

PK: Prekindergarten
SAAH: Student Attendance Accounting Handbook
TPEIR: Texas Public Education Information Resource
TDA: Texas Department of Agriculture
TEA: Texas Education Agency
TSDS: Texas Student Data System
TWC: Texas Workforce Commission
TWEDS: TSDS Web-Enabled Data Standards



- Enrollment is Ongoing Brief Eligibility Recap PK Tuition
- **Registration Information**
- **Enrollment and Documentation**
- **Common Registration Scenarios**
- Registration FAQs
- **Registration Resources**



In today's presentation, participants will:

- Understand prekindergarten registration and enrollment
- See tangible examples of documentation and common registration scenarios
- Discover resources for prekindergarten registration



Prekindergarten Enrollment is Ongoing



Families may enroll their eligible children for prekindergarten throughout the school year

A family may return to register their child if their income status changes at any time during the school year

TEXAS Prekindergarten Eligibility & Enrollment Resources

- <u>The Student Attendance</u> <u>Accounting Handbook</u>
- Section 7 Prekindergarten

Section 7.2 for PK eligibility information

Section 3 General Attendance including coding information



Home / Finance & Grants / Financial Compliance

Student Attendance Accounting Handbook

State law requires that every Texas school district adopts an attendance accounting system that includes procedures to ensure the accurate recording and reporting of student attendance data. The *Student Attendance Accounting Handbook* (SAAH) contains the official attendance accounting requirements that all public school districts and open-enrollment charter schools in Texas must meet. The agency collects student attendance data primarily to ensure that Foundation School Program (FSP) funds can be correctly allocated to Texas's public schools.

The SAAH

- · describes the FSP eligibility requirements for all students,
- · prescribes the minimum standards for all attendance accounting systems,
- · lists the documentation requirements for attendance audit purposes, and
- · details the responsibilities of all district personnel involved in student attendance accounting

The proposed version of the 2022-2023 SAAH has been added to the table below. The comment period for the proposed SAAH is from June 24, 2022 to July 25, 2022. Public comments can be sent to: https://form.jotform.com/210613401561138. The webpage will be updated with the final adopted version of the document after the completion of the comment period.

ААН	PDF Version	Change Document	PDF Version	



Eligibility



Must be three-years-old (**if a 3-year-old program is available**) or 4-years-old by September 1 of the current school year.

- AND must meet at least one of the following eligibility requirements: Emergent Bilingual
- Educationally Disadvantaged
- Students Experiencing Homelessness
- Child of Active-Duty Military/ Armed Forces
- Foster Care
- Star of Texas



- A child must be three or four years of age on September 1 of the current school year.
- An eligible 3-year-old, who enrolls at age 3, remains eligible for the following school year.
- Three- and four-year-olds may be served in the same pre-k class.



TEA SB 1697 as it relates to Prekindergarten

Parental Option for Student Retention, TEC 28.02124

- A parent or guardian may elect for a student to:
- (1) repeat prekindergarten

(2) enroll in prekindergarten, if the student would have been eligible to enroll in Prekindergarten during the previous school year under Section 29.13 (b) and the student has not yet enrolled in kindergarten

TEACH SB 1697 Impact on Emergent Bilingual Students

Frequently Asked Question:

A child did **not attend pre-k this year**, but the parent now wants to enroll the child in **pre-k for the upcoming year** rather than enrolling the child in kindergarten. How do you qualify a student based on previous year eligibility if **qualifying by language**? If a child did not attend pre-k this year, and considering that the child has had a year of language development, what documentation would be used to establish eligibility in this scenario?

ANSWER

If the child registered/was **eligible for pre-k last year**, never enrolled, and the parents **wish to enroll in pre-k again under SB 1697**, then the child is eligible to enroll in pre-k. Any pre-k eligibility qualification from the prior year remains in effect for the purpose of eligibility for the following pre-k year, regardless of change in language proficiency level.

If the child registered/was **eligible for pre-k last year**, never enrolled, and the parents **wish to enroll in in kindergarten based on the child's age**, then the regular guidance applies: a new Home Language Survey is administered, and the identification process begins again.

If the child **never registered or was not deemed eligible for PK enrollment** previously, the child would not be eligible to enroll in Pre-k. The student could still be identified as EB and qualify for language services as a kindergartener.



Once determined eligible, a student remains eligible for the remainder of the current school year in the district in which he or she resides or is otherwise entitled to attend for Foundation School Program benefits.

Each district must develop a system to notify families with eligible children of the availability of the program

Students may not be denied or excluded from participating in a prekindergarten program **for any reason** if they are deemed eligible

"Child" includes stepchild



Registration



Understand local population of eligible 3- and 4-year-old students in the area

Use TPEIR to look at past enrollment information

Contact TEA ECE Programs Team for support in understanding eligibility estimates



Simplify the registration process

Use family-friendly language. Avoid acronyms

Determine communication strategies to notify families of registration

Offer registration packets

Provide family friendly registration information

Provide examples of documentation needed for registration



Enrollment and Documentation



Remember districts may begin the process to verify eligibility on or after April 1st of each year.

Documentation related to prekindergarten eligibility and verification may not be collected until April 1 of each year.

SAAH Section 7:

Districts may begin communications about prekindergarten programs and begin collecting preliminary registration information such as student and parent contact information on January 1 of each year.



January-April

Collect contact information for students and parents.

Remind parents of eligibility criteria for free prekindergarten.

Share information on other LEA early childhood programs and partnerships.

April 1st or after

Collect documentation to verify eligibility for free prekindergarten. Continue planning for class size. All eligible 4-year-olds must be served in full-day.



PK3 eligibility requirements are the same as PK4 EligiblePK3 students generate ½ Average Daily Attendance Eligible and enrolled PK3 students are automatically eligible for PK4 Not all 3-year-old students must be served. Waitlists are acceptable It is a local decision to serve three-year-olds







Obtain proof that the student enrolling is three or four years old as of September 1 of the current school year (or upcoming school year for early registration).

Then, prekindergarten staff can determine eligibility based on the additional free prekindergarten eligibility criteria.

Any of the following documents is acceptable for proof of identity and age:

birth certificate

statement of the child's date of birth issued by the division of the Texas Department of State Health Services responsible for vital statistics for school admission purposes191

Passport

school ID card, records, or report card

military ID

hospital birth record

adoption records

church baptismal record

any other legal document that establishes identity and age



To be eligible for enrollment, a child must meet the age requirements and meet at least one of the following:

- Unable to speak and comprehend the English Language
- Educationally Disadvantaged
- Students Experiencing Homelessness
- Child of Active-Duty Military/ Armed Forces
- Child of Military/ Armed Forces, who was injured or killed while on active duty
- Foster Care
- Star of Texas



Emergent Bilingual (EB) Student Eligibility



Administered to all students enrolling for the first time in a Texas public school.

Standardized (TEA-developed) letter with 3 questions

"Which languages are used at home?"

"Which languages are used by the child at home?"

"If the child had a previous home setting, which languages were used? If there was no previous home setting, answer Not Applicable (N/A).

If the response to any question includes a language other than English, the identification process begins.



HLS contains a language other than English

Single Statewide Identification Assessment (pre-LAS)

Administered by trained staff

English listening and speaking sections required for EB student identification

Spanish pre-LAS administered for students in Spanish/English bilingual programs to get a complete picture of the student's linguistic profile only

Spanish/English comparison scores should <u>not</u> be used to determine bilingual vs. ESL program participation

LPAC meets to formally identify student and make program recommendation.



HLS and identification questions: <u>Frequently Asked Questions –</u> <u>LPAC and Emergent Bilingual Students (texas.gov)</u>

EB students also served by Special Education: <u>Guidance on</u> <u>Identification and Placement of English Learners Prior to</u> <u>Kindergarten (txel.org)</u>

LAS Links identification assessment information: <u>LAS Links Texas</u> <u>Page</u>



Student Attendance Accounting Handbook (SAAH) Section 7.2.2.1

Home Language Survey Proof that the student's score on the pre-LAS is below the level designated for English proficiency Documentation of the LPAC's identification of the student as emergent bilingual

Temporary placement, or placement pending EB identification, is not best practice.



Educationally Disadvantaged



PK eligibility is based on the student's eligibility to participate in the National School Lunch Program (NSLP).

Students are eligible based on income level or meeting automatic eligibility criteria, which is provided by the Texas Department of Agriculture.

Each district has a Food and Nutrition Specialist, sometimes referred to as a Child Nutrition Director (CND), who can provide additional support.



Squaremeals.org

Administrator's Reference Manual (ARM): Sections 3, 4, and 6

Local Child Nutrition Director

Educationally Disadvantaged- Documentation

Income Qualifiers:

Current paycheck stub

Current tax return, if selfemployed

Current TANF or SNAP eligibility letter (must have child's name listed)

NSLP Categorical Qualifiers: SNAP, TANF, or FDPIR Homeless Foster Migrant Head Start and Early Head Start Medicaid Free and Reduced, IF DIRECTLY CERTIFIED in TEXAS-ELMS Work with the LEA Child Nutrition Director or use ARM resources for documentation



Recommend 2 verifiers when checking income.

It is recommended to serve a student when a district calculation error has occurred.

Develop a process to include the Eco Dis application after July 1st.



Verification of educationally disadvantaged for PK eligibility purposes does not count for qualifying a student as economically disadvantaged

Verification for PK Eligibility

Can begin April 1

Must be verified against the following school year's NSLP income chart

Families provide documentation

Qualifying for Eco Dis to receive State Come Ed funding

Can begin July 1

Families fill out a local application or a federal application (with current income info)

Based on that application, students are determined to be eco dis and coded accordingly



A pre-K age student is determined educationally disadvantaged and eligible for free pre-K during spring registration after April 1, based on the documentation submitted for pre-K enrollment. At the beginning of the school year, the student does not qualify for free or reduced meals based on the federal NSLP application and is not coded as economically disadvantaged.

The student is eligible for pre-K, and his ADA eligibility code is 2 - Eligible for Half-Day Attendance.

The student is not considered economically disadvantaged and is coded 00 -Did Not Qualify As Economically Disadvantaged. The student will continue to draw half-day ADA for free pre-K but will not draw additional state compensatory education funds for an economically disadvantaged status.



Encourage LEAs to work with the ESCs, including ESC Data Champions. Seek support from local Child Nutrition departments

Submit a TIMS ticket when there is a coding question

- Guidance in <u>TWEDS</u>, scroll down to DR6, which starts Traditional Claiming
- Contact the State Comp Ed team and/or Texas Department of Agriculture for specific questions
- State Comp Ed Resources

State Comp Ed website

State Comp Ed FAQ


The income guidelines for the National School Lunch Program are available and can be found on the Texas Department of Agriculture's website, <u>https://squaremeals.org/FandN-</u> <u>Resources/Income-Eligibility-Guidelines</u>.

Please click on the section titled, "The following guidelines apply to the CACFP, NSLP, SBP, and SFSP."



Students Experiencing Homelessness



To be eligible based on homelessness, the district's local homeless education liaison identifies the student as homeless, regardless of the residence of the child, of either parent, or of the child's guardian or other person having lawful control of the child.

Documentation Required could be a letter from the local homeless education liaison is an acceptable form of documentation.



Military Service



Active duty uniformed members (parents or official guardians) of the US Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, or Coast Guard who have eligible children residing in Texas

Activated or mobilized uniformed members of the Texas National Guard (army or air guard), or activated or mobilized members of the reserve components of the US Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, or Coast Guard who have eligible children residing in Texas

Children of uniformed service members who are missing in action (MIA) or who were injured or killed while serving on active duty



Resources:

Student Attendance Accounting Handbook, Section 7.2.5 Early Childhood Pre-k Eligibility FAQs

Documentation:

Can include district employee verified documents, statements or service, line of duty determination documentation, Purple Heart orders or citations



Foster Care



A child who currently lives in Texas, and is or was previously in foster care either in Texas or in another state or territory.

If a student qualifies for pre-k on the basis of ever having been in foster care in Texas, the student remains eligible for enrollment after the student begins a pre-k class, even if that student is no longer in foster care.



Resources:

Student Attendance and Accounting Handbook (SAAH) Section 7.2.6

Texas Department of Family and Protective Services

TEA Foster Care Webpage



Documentation Required

Children who are or were previously in the conservatorship of the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services: PreK verification letter DFPS foster/kinship placement documentation

Children who are currently or were previously in foster care in another state or territory, but currently live in Texas: Foster care documents stating closure of a case Court documents stating "state foster care" involvement Adoption paperwork completed by the originating state



Star of Texas Award



For a student to be eligible, the parent must have been deemed eligible for the Star of Texas Award between 2004 and the current year of the awards ceremony.

Resources: The Office of the Governor, Criminal Justice Division Past years are also included online <u>Star of Texas Awards</u>

Documentation: Resolution (certificate) awarded to an individual for the Star of Texas Award



Prekindergarten Tuition



LEAs may offer a tuition-supported program to provide:

- An additional half-day of prekindergarten classes to eligible PK3 students; and
- Half-day and full-day prekindergarten classes to students not eligible for free prekindergarten. (TEC §29.1531)

If a district charges tuition:

- the tuition may not be higher than is necessary to cover the added costs of providing the additional prekindergarten classes, including any costs associated with data collection and reporting requirements; and
- the district must submit a proposed tuition rate letter to the commissioner for approval annually. See the Sample Proposed Tuition Rate Letter.

The letter must include:

- Proposed tuition rate
- A brief explanation of how the proposed tuition rate relates to current district costs for providing the program
- Assurance that the rate does not exceed current costs for providing the program

****Serving tuition students must not interfere with serving eligible students.****



Local education agencies will submit the following to the Early Childhood Education Division on an **annual basis**:

- Proposed Prekindergarten Tuition Rate Letter.
- Send tuition rate letter to Rebecca.matz@tea.texas.gov
- The letter will be reviewed by the agency. Additional information may be asked of the local education agency, if needed.
- Notification of approval will be sent to the person indicated in the proposed tuition rate letter.



Common Registration Scenarios



Question: My child's birthday is September 3rd. Is there any waiver for my soon-to-be 4-year-old to attend prekindergarten?

• Answer: No, there is no waiver for meeting the age criteria to attend prekindergarten. A prekindergarten 3-year-old program may be available with the LEA.

Question: I have a Medicaid card. Why can't I receive free prekindergarten?

• Answer: Medicaid alone is not an eligibility criterion for free prekindergarten. A student must meet eligibility by one of the eligibility criteria such as being considered educationally disadvantaged, i.e., eligible to participate in the National School Lunch Program (NSLP).



Question: Can Pre-K pre-registration be hosted prior to April 1st? PreK preregistration is in the spring. Is eligibility verified at that time?

• Answer: No, verification of eligibility begins on or after April 1st.

Question: Do families need to be re-verified after the income eligibility guidelines are released on July 1?

- Answer: When verifying income, the documentation should correlate the eligible school year with the qualifying NSLP year. In this case, the income guidelines for the 2025-2026 year should be used with the current income level documentation (on or after April 1st).
- To determine participation for a student to receive additional State Comp Ed funding, the appropriate process should be followed in conjunction with the Child Nutrition Director.



Question: A student is transferring to PK4 in our district and previously qualified as homeless in their previous district. Can they still qualify based on the qualification in the prior district?

• Answer: The LEA should request the documentation/verify that the student was appropriately determined eligible in the first district, where the student was initially enrolled, even if the student no longer meets eligibility for this criterion at the new LEA.



Contact us:

- TEA Early Childhood Education Division
- ECE Support Portal





Registration Resources and Upcoming Support Sessions



- <u>Student Attendance Accounting Handbook (SAAH), Section</u>
 <u>7 Prekindergarten</u>
- <u>Prekindergarten 3</u>
- <u>Early Childhood Education FAQs including eligibility and program FAQs</u>
- <u>Prekindergarten Tuition</u>
- <u>Texas Workforce Commission Childcare Scholarship</u>
 <u>Assistance</u>
- <u>Texas Child Care Availability Portal (also available in Spanish)</u>



- Identification questions: <u>Frequently Asked Questions LPAC and</u> <u>Emergent Bilingual Students (texas.gov)</u>
- EB students also served by Special Education: <u>Guidance on</u> <u>Identification and Placement of English Learners Prior to</u> <u>Kindergarten (txel.org)</u>
- LAS Links identification assessment information: <u>LAS Links Texas</u> <u>Page</u>
- <u>Star of Texas Awards</u>



- For NSLP eligibility information and resources: <u>www.squaremeals.org</u> Administrator's Reference Manual (ARM):
 - <u>Section 3</u>
 - <u>Section 4</u>
 - <u>Section 6</u>
- Military and Armed Services: <u>Student Attendance Accounting</u> <u>Handbook, Section 7.2.5</u>
- Foster Care: <u>Student Attendance and Accounting Handbook</u> (SAAH) Section 7.2.6, Texas Department of Family and Protective Services <u>https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/</u>, & <u>TEA Foster Care</u> <u>Webpage</u>



Early Childhood Education Website:

- Educator Resources
- ECE Resources
- Family Resources
- <u>Frequently Asked Questions</u>



Thank You!