ATTACHMENT II Text of Proposed Amendments to 19 TAC

Chapter 249. Disciplinary Proceedings, Sanctions, and Contested Cases

Subchapter B. Enforcement Actions and Guidelines

§249.15. Disciplinary Action by State Board for Educator Certification.

- (a) Pursuant to this chapter, the State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC) may take any of the following actions:
 - (1) place restrictions on the issuance, renewal, or holding of a certificate, either indefinitely or for a set term;
 - (2) issue an inscribed or non-inscribed reprimand;
 - (3) suspend a certificate for a set term or issue a probated suspension for a set term;
 - (4) revoke or cancel, which includes accepting the surrender of, a certificate without opportunity for reapplication for a set term or permanently;
 - (5) impose any [additional] conditions or restrictions upon a certificate that the SBEC deems necessary to facilitate the rehabilitation and professional development of the educator or to protect students, parents of students, school personnel, or school officials; or
 - (6) impose an administrative penalty of \$500-\$10,000 on a superintendent or director who fails to file timely a report required under \$249.14(d) of this title (relating to Complaint, Required Reporting, and Investigation; Investigative Notice; Filing of Petition) or on a principal who fails to timely notify a superintendent or director as required under \$249.14(e) of this title under the circumstances and in the manner required by the Texas Education Code (TEC), \$21.006.
- (b) The SBEC may take any of the actions listed in subsection (a) of this section based on satisfactory evidence that:
 - (1) the person has conducted school or education activities in violation of law;
 - (2) the person is unworthy to instruct or to supervise the youth of this state;
 - (3) the person has violated a provision of the Educators' Code of Ethics;
 - the person has failed to report or has hindered the reporting of child abuse pursuant to the Texas Family Code, §261.001, or has failed to notify the SBEC, the commissioner of education, or the school superintendent or director under the circumstances and in the manner required by the TEC, §21.006, §21.0062, §22.093, and §249.14(d)-(f) of this title;
 - (5) the person has abandoned a contract in violation of the TEC, §§21.105(c), 21.160(c), or 21.210(c);
 - (6) the person has failed to cooperate with the Texas Education Agency (TEA) in an investigation;
 - (7) the person has failed to provide information required to be provided by §229.3 of this title (relating to Required Submissions of Information, Surveys, and Other Data);
 - (8) the person has violated the security or integrity of any assessment required by the TEC, Chapter 39, Subchapter B, as described in subsection (g) of this section or has committed an act that is a departure from the test administration procedures established by the commissioner of education in Chapter 101 of Part 2 of this title (relating to Assessment);
 - (9) the person has committed an act described in §249.14(k)(1) of this title, which constitutes sanctionable Priority 1 conduct, as follows:
 - (A) any conduct constituting a felony criminal offense;
 - (B) indecent exposure;

- (C) public lewdness;
- (D) child abuse and/or neglect;
- (E) possession of a weapon on school property;
- (F) drug offenses occurring on school property;
- (G) sale to or making alcohol or other drugs available to a student or minor;
- (H) sale, distribution, or display of harmful material to a student or minor;
- (I) certificate fraud;
- (J) state assessment testing violations;
- (K) deadly conduct; or
- (L) conduct that involves inappropriate communication with a student as described in §247.2(3)(I) of this title (relating to Code of Ethics and Standard Practices for Texas Educators), inappropriate professional educator-student relationships and boundaries as described in §247.2(3)(H) of this title, or otherwise soliciting or engaging in sexual conduct or a romantic relationship with a student or minor;
- (10) the person has committed an act that would constitute an offense (without regard to whether there has been a criminal conviction) that is considered to relate directly to the duties and responsibilities of the education profession, as described in §249.16(c) of this title (relating to Eligibility of Persons with Criminal History for a Certificate under Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 53, and Texas Education Code, Chapter 21). Such offenses indicate a threat to the health, safety, or welfare of a student or minor, parent of a student, fellow employee, or professional colleague; interfere with the orderly, efficient, or safe operation of a school district, campus, or activity; or indicate impaired ability or misrepresentation of qualifications to perform the functions of an educator and include, but are not limited to:
 - (A) offenses involving moral turpitude;
 - (B) offenses involving any form of sexual or physical abuse or neglect of a student or minor or other illegal conduct with a student or minor;
 - (C) offenses involving any felony possession or conspiracy to possess, or any misdemeanor or felony transfer, sale, distribution, or conspiracy to transfer, sell, or distribute any controlled substance defined in the Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 481;
 - (D) offenses involving school property or funds;
 - (E) offenses involving any attempt by fraudulent or unauthorized means to obtain or alter any certificate or permit that would entitle any person to hold or obtain a position as an educator:
 - (F) offenses occurring wholly or in part on school property or at a school-sponsored activity; or
 - (G) felony offenses involving driving while intoxicated (DWI);
- (11) the person has intentionally failed to comply with the reporting, notification, and confidentiality requirements specified in the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, §15.27(a), relating to student arrests, detentions, and juvenile referrals for certain offenses;
- (12) the person has failed to discharge an employee or to refuse to hire an applicant when the employee or applicant was employed in a public school and on the registry of persons who are not eligible to be employed under TEC, §22.092, when the person knew that the employee or applicant had been adjudicated for or convicted of having an inappropriate relationship with a minor in accordance with the TEC, §21.009(e), or when the person knew or should have known through a criminal history record information review that the employee or applicant had been placed on community supervision or convicted of an offense in accordance with the TEC, §22.085;

- (13) the person assisted another educator, school employee, contractor, or agent in obtaining a new job as an educator or in a school, apart from the routine transmission of administrative and personnel files, when the educator knew or had probable cause to believe that such person engaged in an inappropriate relationship with a minor or student;
- the person is a superintendent of a school district or the chief operating officer of an openenrollment charter school who falsely or inaccurately certified to the commissioner of education that the district or charter school had complied with the TEC, §22.085; or
- (15) the person has failed to comply with an order or decision of the SBEC.
- (c) The TEA staff may commence a contested case to take any of the actions listed in subsection (a) of this section by serving a petition to the certificate holder in accordance with this chapter describing the SBEC's intent to issue a sanction and specifying the legal and factual reasons for the sanction. The certificate holder shall have 30 calendar days to file an answer as provided in §249.27 of this title (relating to Answer).
- (d) Upon the failure of the certificate holder to file a written answer as required by this chapter, the TEA staff may file a request for the issuance of a default judgment from the SBEC imposing the proposed sanction in accordance with §249.35 of this title (relating to Disposition Prior to Hearing; Default).
- (e) If the certificate holder files a timely answer as provided in this section, the case will be referred to the State Office of Administrative Hearings (SOAH) for hearing in accordance with the SOAH rules; the Texas Government Code, Chapter 2001; and this chapter.
- (f) The provisions of this section are not exclusive and do not preclude consideration of other grounds or measures available by law to the SBEC or the TEA staff, including child support arrears. The SBEC may request the Office of the Attorney General to pursue available civil, equitable, or other legal remedies to enforce an order or decision of the SBEC under this chapter.
- (g) The statewide assessment program as defined by the TEC, Chapter 39, Subchapter B, is a secure testing program.
 - (1) Procedures for maintaining security shall be specified in the appropriate test administration materials.
 - (2) Secure test materials must be accounted for before, during, and after each test administration. Only authorized personnel may have access to secure test materials.
 - (3) The contents of each test booklet and answer document are confidential in accordance with the Texas Government Code, Chapter 551, and the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974. Individual student performance results are confidential as specified under the TEC, §39.030(b).
 - (4) Violation of security or confidential integrity of any test required by the TEC, Chapter 39, Subchapter B, shall be prohibited. A person who engages in conduct prohibited by this section may be subject to sanction of credentials, including any of the sanctions provided by subsection (a) of this section.
 - (5) Charter school test administrators are not required to be certified; however, any irregularity in the administration of any test required by the TEC, Chapter 39, Subchapter B, would cause the charter itself to come under review by the commissioner of education for possible sanctions or revocation, as provided under the TEC, §12.115(a)(4).
 - (6) Conduct that violates the security and confidential integrity of a test is evidenced by any departure from the test administration procedures established by the commissioner of education. Conduct of this nature may include, but is not limited to, the following acts and omissions:
 - (A) viewing a test before, during, or after an assessment unless specifically authorized to do so;
 - (B) duplicating secure examination materials;
 - (C) disclosing the contents of any portion of a secure test;

- (D) providing, suggesting, or indicating to an examinee a response or answer to a secure test item or prompt;
- (E) changing or altering a response or answer of an examinee to a secure test item or prompt;
- (F) aiding or assisting an examinee with a response or answer to a secure test item or prompt;
- (G) fraudulently exempting or preventing a student from the administration of a required state assessment:
- (H) encouraging or assisting an individual to engage in the conduct described in paragraphs (1)-(7) of this subsection; or
- (I) failing to report to an appropriate authority that an individual has engaged in conduct outlined in paragraphs (1)-(8) of this subsection.
- (7) Any irregularities in test security or confidential integrity may also result in the invalidation of student results.
- (8) The superintendent and campus principal of each school district and chief administrative officer of each charter school and any private school administering the tests as allowed under the TEC, §39.033, shall develop procedures to ensure the security and confidential integrity of the tests specified in the TEC, Chapter 39, Subchapter B, and shall be responsible for notifying the TEA in writing of conduct that violates the security or confidential integrity of a test administered under the TEC, Chapter 39, Subchapter B. A person who fails to report such conduct as required by this subsection may be subject to any of the sanctions provided by subsection (a) of this section.

§249.17. Decision-Making Guidelines.

- (a) Purpose. The purpose of these guidelines is to achieve the following objectives:
 - (1) to provide a framework of analysis for the Texas Education Agency (TEA) staff, the presiding administrative law judge (ALJ), and the State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC) in considering matters under this chapter;
 - (2) to promote consistency in the exercise of sound discretion by the TEA staff, the presiding ALJ, and the SBEC in seeking, proposing, and making decisions under this chapter; and
 - (3) to provide guidance for the informal resolution of potentially contested matters.
- (b) Construction and application. This section shall be construed and applied so as to preserve SBEC members' discretion in making final decisions under this chapter. This section shall be further construed and applied so as to be consistent with §249.5(b) of this title (relating to Purpose; Policy Governing Disciplinary Proceedings) and this chapter, the Texas Education Code (TEC), and other applicable law, including SBEC decisions and orders.
- (c) Consideration. The following factors may be considered in seeking, proposing, or making a decision under this chapter:
 - (1) the seriousness of the violation;
 - (2) whether the misconduct was premeditated or intentional;
 - (3) attempted concealment of misconduct;
 - (4) prior misconduct and SBEC sanctions:
 - (5) the potential danger the conduct poses to the health and welfare of students;
 - (6) the effect of the prior conduct upon any victims of the conduct;
 - (7) whether sufficient time has passed and sufficient evidence is presented to demonstrate that the educator or applicant has been rehabilitated from the prior conduct;
 - (8) the effect of the conduct upon the educator's good moral character and ability to be a proper role model for students;

- (9) whether the sanction will deter future violations; and
- (10) any other relevant circumstances or facts.
- (d) Contract abandonment.
 - (1) Good cause. The following factors may be considered good cause when an educator is reported to have abandoned a contract in violation of the TEC, §§21.105(c), 21.160(c), or 21.210(c):
 - (A) serious illness or health condition of the educator or close family member of the educator;
 - (B) relocation to a new city as a result of change in employer of the educator's spouse or partner who resides with the educator; $\lceil \frac{\text{or}}{\text{e}} \rceil$
 - (C) significant change in the educator's family needs that requires the educator to relocate or to devote more time than allowed by current employment; or $\lceil \frac{1}{2} \rceil$
 - (D) the educator's reasonable belief that the educator had written permission from the school district administration to resign.
 - (2) Mitigating factors. The following factors shall [may] be considered in seeking, proposing, or making a decision under this chapter regarding an educator who has abandoned a contract in violation of the TEC, §§21.105(c), 21.160(c), or 21.210(c). The educator:
 - (A) [educator] gave written notice to the school district 30 days or more in advance of the first day of instruction for which the educator will not be present;
 - (B) [educator] assisted the school district in finding a replacement educator to fill the position;
 - (C) [educator] continued to work until the school district hired a replacement educator;
 - (D) [<u>educator</u>] assisted in training the replacement educator;
 - (E) [educator] showed good faith in communications and negotiations with the school district; [or]
 - (F) $\left[\frac{\text{educator}}{\text{educator}}\right]$ provided lesson plans for classes following the educator's resignation; $\left[\frac{1}{2}\right]$
 - (G) changed careers within the field of education:
 - to a position that required a different class of educator certification as defined in §230.33(b) of this title (relating to Classes of Certificates) [er]:
 - <u>to a position with a higher level of authority within the principal class of certificate; or</u>
 - (iii) to a position in an open-enrollment charter school or a district of innovation that

 is equivalent to the positions described in clauses (i) and (ii) of this
 subparagraph;
 - (H) had a reduction in base pay, excluding stipends, as compared to the educator's base pay for the prior year at the same school district;
 - [(1) had a change in the educator's campus assignment that caused a significant adverse impact on the educator's health condition or family needs; or
 - (I) (D) resigned due to working conditions that reasonably posed an immediate threat of significant physical harm to the educator : or []
 - (J) any other relevant circumstances or facts.
 - (3) Mandatory [minimum] sanction for contract abandonment. [An educator subject to sanction, who has abandoned a contract in violation of the TEC, §§21.105(e), 21.160(e), or 21.210(e) in a case where the factors listed in paragraph (1) or (2) of this subsection do not apply, may not receive a sanction of less than:]

- (A) An educator subject to sanction, who has abandoned a contract 44-30 days prior to the first day of instruction for the following school year in violation of the TEC, §§21.105(c), 21.160(c), or 21.210(c), in a case where the factors listed in subsection (c) of this section or in paragraph (1) or (2)(B)-(J) [(2)] of this subsection do not mitigate or apply, shall receive a sanction of an inscribed reprimand.
- (B) An educator subject to sanction, who has abandoned a contract less than 30 days prior to the first day of instruction for the following school year or at any point during the school year in violation of the TEC, §§21.105(c), 21.160(c), or 21.210(c), in a case where the factors listed in subsection (c) of this section or in paragraph (1) or (2) of this subsection do not mitigate or apply, may not receive a sanction of less than:
 - (i) [(A)] suspension for one year from the first day that, without district permission, the educator failed to appear for work under the contract, provided that the educator has not worked as an educator during that year and the case is resolved within that one year through an agreed final order; or
 - (ii) [(B)] suspension for one year from either the effective date of an agreed final order resolving the case or an agreed future date at the beginning of the following school year, if the educator has worked as an educator after abandoning the contract; or
 - (iii) [(C)] suspension for one year from the date that the SBEC adopts an order that becomes final following a default under §249.35 of this title (relating to Disposition Prior to Hearing; Default) or a contested case hearing at the State Office of Administrative Hearings (SOAH).
- (C) The factors listed in subsection (c) of this section and in paragraphs (1) and (2) of this subsection may mitigate an educator's sanction so significantly that the SBEC takes no disciplinary action.
- (e) Mandatory minimum sanction for felony-level conduct. An educator subject to sanction, who is courtordered to complete a period of deferred adjudication or community supervision for a felony-level criminal offense under state or federal law, may not receive a sanction of less than:
 - (1) suspension for a period concurrent with the term of deferred adjudication or community supervision, if the case is resolved through an agreed final order prior to the educator completing deferred adjudication or community supervision and the educator has not been employed as an educator during the period of deferred adjudication or community supervision; or
 - (2) suspension beginning on the effective date of an agreed final order for a period extending beyond the end of the educator's deferred adjudication or community supervision but may be less than the initial court-ordered term of deferred adjudication or community supervision, if the case is resolved through an agreed final order prior to the educator completing deferred adjudication or community supervision and the educator has been employed as an educator during the period of deferred adjudication or community supervision; or
 - (3) suspension beginning on the effective date of an agreed final order for a period at least half as long as the initial court-ordered term of deferred adjudication or community supervision, if the case is resolved through an agreed final order after the educator has completed deferred adjudication or community supervision; or
 - (4) suspension for a period equal to the term of deferred adjudication or community supervision that the criminal court initially ordered but beginning from the date of the final board decision, if the case is resolved through a final board decision following a contested case hearing at the SOAH or a default under §249.35 of this title.
- (f) Mandatory minimum sanction for misdemeanor-level conduct. If an educator is subject to sanction, and a court has ordered the educator to complete a period of deferred adjudication, community supervision, or pretrial diversion for a misdemeanor-level criminal offense under state or federal law, the educator may not receive a sanction of less than an inscribed reprimand.

- (g) Mandatory minimum sanction for test security violation. An educator who intentionally manipulates the results or violates the security or confidential integrity of any test required by the TEC, Chapter 39, Subchapter B, may not receive a sanction of less than suspension for one year from the effective date of an agreed final order or a final board decision following a contested case hearing at the SOAH.
- (h) Mandatory minimum sanction for drugs and alcohol on school campus. An educator who is subject to sanction because the educator has tested positive for drugs or alcohol while on school campus, was under the influence of drugs or alcohol on school campus, or was in possession of drugs or alcohol on school campus may not receive a sanction of less than a one-year suspension and required completion of a drug or alcohol treatment program.
- (i) Mandatory permanent revocation or denial. Notwithstanding subsection (c) of this section, the SBEC shall permanently revoke the teaching certificate of any educator or permanently deny the application of any applicant if, after a contested case hearing or a default under §249.35 of this title, it is determined that the educator or applicant:
 - (1) engaged in any sexual contact or romantic relationship with a student or minor;
 - (2) solicited any sexual contact or romantic relationship with a student or minor;
 - (3) possessed or distributed child pornography;
 - (4) was registered as a sex offender;
 - (5) committed criminal homicide;
 - (6) transferred, sold, distributed, or conspired to possess, transfer, sell, or distribute any controlled substance, the possession of which would be at least a Class A misdemeanor under the Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 481, on school property;
 - (7) intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causes bodily injury to a student or minor when the conduct of the educator or applicant is not immune from disciplinary proceedings by TEC, §22.0512; or
 - (8) committed any offense described in the TEC, §21.058.
- (j) Mandatory minimum for failure to report. An educator subject to sanction, who fails to report educator misconduct under the circumstances and in the manner required by the TEC, §21.006, and §249.14(d)-(f) of this title (relating to Complaint, Required Reporting, and Investigation; Investigative Notice; Filing of Petition), when the case is resolved through an agreed final order, may not receive a sanction of less than:
 - (1) an inscribed reprimand and a \$5,000 administrative penalty for a superintendent or director who fails to file timely a report to the SBEC; or
 - (2) an inscribed reprimand and a \$500 administrative penalty for a principal who fails to timely notify a superintendent or director.
- (k) Sanctioned misconduct in another state. The findings of fact contained in final orders from any other state jurisdiction may provide the factual basis for SBEC disciplinary action. If the underlying conduct for the administrative sanction of an educator's certificate or license issued in another state is a violation of SBEC rules, the SBEC may initiate a disciplinary action regarding the educator's Texas educator certificate and impose a sanction as provided under this chapter.

Subchapter E. Post-Hearing Matters

§249.42. Procedure for the Suspension, Surrender, or Revocation of a Certificate.

(a) When the State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC) issues an order of suspension, surrender, or revocation, the Texas Education Agency (TEA) staff shall mail a copy of the order to the person who formerly held the certificate. If the parties have not agreed to the terms of the order, TEA staff shall send a notice with the order, including the findings of fact and conclusions of law on which the SBEC based its decision, and a statement that should the person desire to request that the SBEC reconsider the decision, the person should file a Motion for Rehearing with the SBEC.

- (b) A record of the SBEC action suspending, accepting a surrender, or revoking the certificate shall be recorded on the educator's virtual certificate and shall become part of the person's official records maintained by the TEA staff.
- (c) The TEA staff shall also notify the employing school district of the SBEC's order when it becomes administratively final.