Continuing Professional Education (CPE) hours for certificate renewal Principals and Principal as an Instructional Leader: 200 CPE hours required

Continuing education requirements for principals and principal as an instructional leader shall be related to the certificate(s) being renewed and focus on the standards required for issuance of the certificate(s), including:

- Content area knowledge and skills; and
- Professional ethics and standards of conduct

An educator holding multiple classes of certificates shall complete the higher number of required CPE clock-hours in the classes held during each five-year renewal period unless otherwise specified in applicable State Board for Educator Certification rules.

Completion of each CPE activity should be evidenced by documentation (e.g., transcripts certificates of completion, or attendance logs).

A principal and principal as instructional leader must attain at least 50 hours of CPE that includes training directly related to each of the following topics:

includes training directly related to each of the following topics:		
	effective and efficient management, including:	
	 collecting and analyzing information; 	
	 making decisions and managing time; and 	
	 supervising student discipline and managing behavior; 	
	recognizing early warning indicators that a student may be at risk of dropping out of	
	school;	
	digital learning, digital teaching, and integrating technology into classroom	
	instruction;	
	effective implementation of the Texas Model for Comprehensive School Counseling	
	Programs;	
	mental health programs addressing a mental health condition;	
	educating diverse student populations, including:	
	 students who are eligible to participate in special education programs; 	
	 students with intellectual or developmental disabilities; 	
	 students who are eligible to receive educational services; 	

students with mental health conditions or who engage in substance abuse;

<u>Continuing Professional Education</u>, as amended by SB 11 and HBs 18, 403, and 2424, 86th Texas Legislature, 2019.

students who are educationally disadvantaged;

students of limited English proficiency; and

students at risk of dropping out of school.

Continuing Professional Education (CPE) hours for certificate renewal Principals and Principal as an Instructional Leader: 200 CPE hours required

preventing, recognizing, and reporting any sexual conduct between an educator and student that is prohibited under Texas Penal Code, §21.12 or for which reporting is required under_TEC, §21.006; and

how mental health conditions, including grief and trauma affect student learning and behavior and how evidence-based grief informed, and trauma-informed strategies support the academic success of students affected by grief and trauma. The instruction must be based on:

- relevant best-practice based programs and research-based practices; and
- approved by the commissioner, in consultation with the Health and Human Services Commission.

Other CPE hours that may apply and may be used for certificate renewal:

Professional development activities that include:

- an evidence-based mental health first aid training program or an evidencebased grief-informed and trauma-informed care program that is offered through a classroom instruction format that requires in person attendance. A person receiving this training will receive twice the number of hours of instruction provided under that program, not to exceed 16 hours;
- suicide prevention training;
- an instructional course on the use of an automated external defibrillator (AED) that meets guidelines for AED training approved under Texas Health and Safety Code; and
- o education courses that:
 - o use technology to increase the educator's digital literacy; and
 - assist the educator in the use of digital technology in learning activities that improve teaching, assessment, and instructional practices.

The following are acceptable types of CPE activities:

participating in institutes, workshops, seminars, conferences, interactive distance learning, video conferencing, online activities, and in -service or staff development activities given by an approved provider or sponsor. Staff development activities completed through accredited public and private schools in order states, United States territories, and countries other than the Unites States may be accepted;

completing undergraduate courses, graduate courses, or training programs that are taken through an accredited institution of higher education that at the time was accredited or otherwise approved by an accrediting organization recognized the Texas Higher Education Board – 1 semester credit hour is equivalent to 15 CPE clock-hours.

<u>Continuing Professional Education</u>, as amended by SB 11 and HBs 18, 403, and 2424, 86th Texas Legislature, 2019.

Continuing Professional Education (CPE) hours for certificate renewal Principals and Principal as an Instructional Leader: 200 CPE hours required

participating in an independent study in content area knowledge and skills related to the certificate(s) being renewed, not to exceed 20% of the required clock-hours, which may include: • self-study of relevant professional materials (e.g., books, journals, periodicals, video and audio tapes, computer software, interactive distance learning, video conferencing, or online activities;
developing curriculum; or
 authoring a published work.
developing, teaching or presenting a CPE activity not to exceed 10% of the required
clock-hours; and
providing professional guidance as a mentor to another educator, not to exceed 30% of the required clock-hours.