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TEss Minimum Salary Schedule Increases

Texas Education Agency

« Basic Allotment increased from $5,140 to $6,160

* Results in noticeable increases to each step of the minimum salary
schedule (MSS)

Providing these increases is not optional - it is mandatory

MSS-related increases are not dependent on the amount of the HB3 “gain”

- These increases along with the repeal of the Cost of Education Index (CEl)
impact TRS Contributions (State vs. Local Share)

 To the Administrator Addressed: Minimum Salary Schedule
Increase pursuant to House Bill 3 (HB3) - June 11, 2019

In Statute:
Texas Education Code, Section 21.402 — (HB3, Enrolled — Page 254)




TE/ss New Minimum Salary Schedule

Texas Education Agency

Years of Experience Annual Salary (10-Months) Years of Experience Annual Salary (10-Months)

$33,660 $45,630

1 $34,390 11 $46,770
2 $35,100 12 $47,850
3 $35,830 13 $48,850
4 $37,350 14 $49,810
5 $38,880 15 $50,710
6 $40,410 16 $51,570
7 $41,830 17 $52,370
8 $43,170 18 $53,140
9 $44,440 19 $53,860
20+ $54,540




TE/: Minimum Salary Schedule Increases

Texas Education Agency

Years of Experience Increase over FY2019 MSS Years of Experience Increase over FY2019 MSS

S 5,580 S 7,550

1 $ 5,700 11 S 7,750
2 $ 5,810 12 S 7,920
3 $ 5,940 13 S 8,090
4 $ 6,180 14 S 8,250
5 S 6,440 15 S 8,400
6 $ 6,690 16 $ 8,540
7 & 6930 17 $ 8,670
8 $ 7150 18 $ 8,300
9 S 7360 19 $ 8,920
20+ S 9,030




. TRS Contributions for Charters
TE‘" and Districts of Innovation

« HB3 created uniformity in TRS Contributions above the MSS

*  Charter schools are now required to pay the state contribution on the
portion of a member's salary that exceeds the statutory minimum

«  Similarly, the bill clarified that districts of innovation (DOIs) that exempt
themselves from the minimum salary schedule cannot exempt themselves
from paying the state contribution on the portion of a member’s salary that
exceeds the statutory minimum.

« To the Administrator Addressed: Minimum Salary Schedule
Increase pursuant to House Bill 3 (HB3) - June 11, 2019

In Statute:
Government Code, Section 825.405(a) — (HB3, Enrolled — Page 167)




Traditional School Districts (Example)

Teacher with 0 years experience makes $40,000

This is greater than the prior state minimum
salary of $28,080

The State pays the TRS contribution (6.8%) on
the salary up to the MSS level as multiplied by
the district's CEl (assumed at 1.12). So:
$28,080 x 1.12 x 6.8% = resulting in a TRS
contribution of $2,138.57 paid by the state.

The district must pay the remaining TRS
Contribution of $581.43 (6.8%) above MSS x
CEl.

Total TRS Contribution = $2,720 ($40,000 x
0.8%)

TEss TRS Contributions Prior to HB3 & SB12

Texas Education Agency

Charter Schools and Districts of Innovation (DOI)
(Example)

« Teacher with O years experience makes $40,000

« Thisis greater than the prior state minimum
salary of $28,080

« The State pays the TRS contribution (6.8%) up to
the full salary of the teacher

« Total TRS Contribution =$2,720 ($40,000 x 6.8%)




TE/& TRS Contributions After HB3 & SB12

Texas Education Agency

All School Districts and Charter Schools
« Teacher with O years experience makes $40,000
« Thisis greater than the new state minimum salary of $33,660

« The State pays the TRS contribution (7.5%) on the salary up to the MSS level
($33,660) resulting in a TRS contribution of $2,524.50 paid by the state.

« The district or charter school must pay the TRS Contribution of $475.50 (7.5%)
for the salary above the MSS.

« Total TRS Contribution = $3,000 ($40,000 x 7.5%)




TE/ s Frequently Asked Questions

Texas Education Agency

Frequently Asked Question:
Do districts have to increase salaries up to the minimum salary schedule if ?

Answer:
Yes, unless exempted from MSS via a DOI plan.

Key Point:
House Bill 3 did not change or relax district requirement to comply with the
MSS.




TE/ s Frequently Asked Questions

Texas Education Agency

Frequently Asked Question:
When are the new salary rates effective?

Answer:

The new salary rates are effective for the 2019-2020 school year. The first
paycheck for impacted employees that reflects days worked under their new
contract should reflect the increased rates of pay.

Key Point:
Consult with TRS and/or district attorneys when making compensation
decisions.




TEss MSS - Next Steps (Districts)

Texas Education Agency

District Next Steps

Districts must ensure that local salary schedules comply with the new
minimum salary schedule for all relevant employees subject to Chapter 21 of
the TEC for the 2019-2020 school year

Districts must confirm with TRS the appropriate month to switch to the new
minimum salary schedule (this will depend on when teacher contracts begin
and end - examples will follow later in the presentation)

Districts of innovation and charter schools must ensure that they are
remitting the appropriate amount of TRS contributions related to salaries

above the MSS



Additional Information:
Calculation of the 30 Percent
for compensation increases

_




TEss Calculation of the 30 Percent

Texas Education Agency

 HB3 created a new spending requirement related to
compensation increases for school years when the basic
allotment increases

« 30 percent of any year-over-year entitlement gains:

75 percent for compensation increases to classroom teachers, librarians, nurses and
counselors, with increased compensation for veteran teachers.

25 percent may be used for other employee categories except administrators

« To the Administrator Addressed: House Bill 3 (HB3)
Implementation: Salary Increases- June 11, 2019

In Statute:
Texas Education Code, Section 48.051(c) — (HB3, Enrolled — Page 37)




TEss 30 Percent Breakdown

Texas Education Agency

« Compensation increases are for full-time employees other than administrators

- This requirement applies for future school years where the basic allotment is
increased.

« 75 Percent (of the 30 Percent)

. Must be used to increase compensation paid to classroom teachers, full-time librarians, full-time
counselors certified under Subchapter B, Chapter 21, and full-time nurses

. Districts and charter schools must prioritize differentiated compensation (which includes benefits such
as insurance premiums) for classroom teachers with more than five years of experience

« 25 Percent (of the 30 Percent)
. May be used as determined locally to increase compensation paid to full-time district employees, except
administrators

- This category may also include the categories of employees captured under the 75 percent

In Statute:
Texas Education Code, Section 48.051(c) — (HB3, Enrolled — Page 37)




TE . Calculation of the 30 Percent

1. Calculate 2018-2019 M&O Funding per ADA  The compensation

(Chapter 42 State Aid + Local M&O Taxes - increase amount is

Recapture) not computed by
2. Calculate 2019-2020 M&QO Funding per ADA mU'ﬁ'F"Y'ng the

(Chapter 48 State Aid + Local M&O Taxes - basic allotment

Excess Local Revenue) increase by 30%.

Hardship Grants
from HB21, Formula
Transition Grants
from HB3 and ASF

4. Multiply the result from #3 by 30%. should all be
included.

3. It #2 > #1, then multiply the “gain per ADA" by
the projected 2019-2020 ADA to arrive at the
“total gain” from HB3




TEA Frequently Asked Questions

s Educatio Ag\r

Frequently Asked Question:
Can my district utilize across the board pay raises and still meet the 30 Percent
requirement?

Answer: The legislation specifically uses the phrase “prioritizing differentiated
compensation...” for experienced teachers. House Bill 3 establishes an
expectation that compensation increases given to experienced teachers would
be higher than other compensation changes planned for the new school year,
and equal compensation increases to all educators would seem inconsistent
with this statutory language.

Key Point: All districts are required under HB3 (Article 5, Section 5.008) to
report to the legislature on each salary increase by employee’s position and
amount. Expect future guidance on this reporting requirement.




TEss Increasing Rates of Pay vs. Hiring More Staff

Texas Education Agency

 Increasing rates of pay * Increasing numbers of

for existing employees teaching staff

= Funds used to increase rates = While hiring additional teaching
of pay for existing teachers, staff would result in additional
or increased rates of pay for expenditures, only spending
teachers employed during associated with compensation
the year, would count toward rate increases count toward the
the 30 percent requirement 30 percent requirement.

= Money spent on newly created
positions up to prior pay levels
would not count toward the 30
percent requirement.




TE/ s Frequently Asked Questions

Texas Education Agency

Frequently Asked Question:
Can my district utilize “one-time” stipends to avoid a recurring payroll obligation
and still meet the 30 Percent requirement?

Answer: This provision was intended to provide permanent increases in teacher pay. Also, for
chapter 21 positions, pay may not be characterized as supplemental for duty that isn’t
supplemental solely in order to avoid the statutory requirements to maintain rates of pay across
a contract term. Consult with your district’s attorney whether decisions comply with House Bill 3
and with the prohibition on providing gifts of public funds for contracted employees.

Key Point: All districts are required under HB3 (Article 5, Section 5.008) to
report to the legislature on each salary increase by employee’s position and
amount. Expect future guidance on this reporting requirement.




TE/ s Frequently Asked Questions

Texas Education Agency

Frequently Asked Question:
Will there be settle-up on compensation increases provided under the 30
Percent?

Answer: Similar to other spending requirements, the statute does not
differentiate between allocating funds for compensation increases based on
budgeted vs actual amounts. Consult with your district’s attorney whether
decisions comply with House Bill 3. Please note the prohibition on providing
gifts of public funds.

Key Point:

Agency enforcement of spending requirements, when districts attempted them
in good faith but when the efforts were found insufficient when accounting for
actual funds, has typically involved requiring a cure in the following year.




TEA. Interplay of the MSS with the 30 Percent

House Bill 3 contains two requirements related to compensation
= Minimum Salary Schedule
= 30 Percent

District compliance with the MSS increases can be used to count
toward the 30 Percent requirement, and vice versa, but please
note:

= Districts must fully comply with both requirements

= The 30 Percent has differentiated compensation as a requirement that
may not be addressed solely by compliance with the new MSS.

= |f a district’s gain is negative or zero, the district must still comply with the
MSS increases.




TE\s Districts must comply with both MSS & 30%

Texas Education Agency

Example A: A district's increase in the MSS Example B: A district’s increase in the MSS
costs less than what must be spent for the costs more than what must be spent for the
30% requirement. So, compensation 30% requirement. So, the district must
increases occur in addition to the MSS. allocate more new money for MSS raises.

MSS
MSS

30

30 Percent Percent




TEss An Example

Texas Education Agency

Assume the following

= The district projects a per ADA increase of $635 over 2018-19.
= The district projects an ADA of 3000 for 2019-20.

= The 30% of budget increase totals $571,500.
= 75% = $428,625
= 25% = $142,875
= With regard to employees targeted with the 75% funding:

= The district employs 194 teachers full time, of which 107 are projected to have more
than 5 years experience in 2019-20.

= The district employs another 11 individuals as full time librarians, counselors, or
nurses.




Texas Education Agency

$65,000
$60,000
$55,000
$50,000
$45,000
$40,000
$35,000
$30,000

$25,000

01 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20+

2018-19 Pre HB3 State Minimum Salary Schedule

2019-20 HB3 State Minimum Salary Schedule
s 7 (018-19 District Minimum Salary Schedule

New District 2019-20 Minimum Salary Schedule

TTESS Distinguished (If Consistently Rated)

TE/: An Example - Continued

= The district previously had a minimum
salary schedule based on creditable
years of service above the previous state
minimum salary schedule. (Each year
after 20 years of experience, pay is
increased by $300 per year).




TE/: An Example - Continued

Texas Education Agency

$65,000 . .
= The district previously had a minimum

salary schedule based on creditable
$55,000 years of service above the previous state
minimum salary schedule. (Each year

$60,000

$50,000 J— ) ‘
after 20 years of experience, pay is

545,000 increased by $300 per year).
$40,000 .

= The new state minimum salary schedule
$35,000 is above the district’s prior schedule, but
$30,000 only at certain years of service.
$25,000

01 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20+

2018-19 Pre HB3 State Minimum Salary Schedule

2019-20 HB3 State Minimum Salary Schedule
s 7 (018-19 District Minimum Salary Schedule

New District 2019-20 Minimum Salary Schedule

TTESS Distinguished (If Consistently Rated)




TEJ: An Example - Continued

Texas Education Agency

S65,000 . .
= The district previously had a minimum

salary schedule based on creditable
$55,000 years of service above the previous state
minimum salary schedule. (Each year

$60,000

$50,000 — ) ‘
after 20 years of experience, pay is
545,000 increased by $300 per year).
540,000 .
= The new state minimum salary schedule
$35,000 is above the district’s prior schedule, but
$30,000 only at certain years of service.
$25,000 = The district raised its minimum salary
o 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20+ Schedu|e, but not even|y across the
2018-19 Pre HB3 State Minimum Salary Schedule board.

2019-20 HB3 State Minimum Salary Schedule
e 7 ()18-19 District Minimum Salary Schedule
e ey District 2019-20 Minimum Salary Schedule

TTESS Distinguished (If Consistently Rated)




TEJ: An Example - Continued

Texas Education Agency

S65,000 . . . .
= The district previously had a minimum
$60,000 salary schedule based on creditable years
of service above the previous state
$55,000 .
minimum salary schedule. (Each year after
$50,000 20 years of experience, pay is increased by
$300 per year).
545,000 . .
= The new state minimum salary schedule is
$40,000 above the district’s prior schedule, but only
55 000 at certain years of service.
| = The district raised its minimum salary
$30,000 schedule, but not evenly across the board.
$25,000 = For teachers with more than 5 years

012 3 456 7 8 9 101112 13 14 15 16 17 18 1920+ experience, if they are rated Distinguished
under TTESS, the district adds $500 to the
amount the teacher would have otherwise

2019-20 HB3 State Minimum Salary Schedule recelved from the Step Increase ralse
s ) 018-19 District Minimum Salary Schedule

2018-19 Pre HB3 State Minimum Salary Schedule

e ey District 2019-20 Minimum Salary Schedule

s+ eeee TTESS Distinguished (If Consistently Rated)




Texas Education Agency

$65,000
$60,000
$55,000
$50,000
$45,000
$40,000
$35,000
$30,000

$25,000

01 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20+

2018-19 Pre HB3 State Minimum Salary Schedule

2019-20 HB3 State Minimum Salary Schedule
s ) 018-19 District Minimum Salary Schedule
e ey District 2019-20 Minimum Salary Schedule

s+ eeee TTESS Distinguished (If Consistently Rated)

TEJ: An Example - Continued

= The district previously had a minimum salary
schedule based on creditable years of service
above the previous state minimum salary
schedule. (Each year after 20 years of
experience, pay is increased by $300 per year).

= The new state minimum salary schedule is above
the district's prior schedule, but only at certain
years of service.

= The district raised its minimum salary schedule,
but not evenly across the board.

= For teachers with more than 5 years experience,
if they are rated Distinguished under TTESS, the
district adds $500 to the amount the teacher
would have otherwise received from the step
increase raise.

= This district does not advance teachers on it's
local salary scale step if the teacher’s rating is
Needs Improvement in TTESS (but still ensures
all teachers make the state minimum).




TEJ: An Example - Continued

Texas Education Agency

$65,000
$60,000
$55,000
$50,000
$45,000
$40,000
$35,000
$30,000

$25,000

01 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20+

2018-19 Pre HB3 State Minimum Salary Schedule

2019-20 HB3 State Minimum Salary Schedule
s ) 018-19 District Minimum Salary Schedule
e ey District 2019-20 Minimum Salary Schedule

s+ eeee TTESS Distinguished (If Consistently Rated)

Results in an average $3738
salary increase per veteran
educator (before TRS increase)

The district previously had a minimum salary
schedule based on creditable years of service
above the previous state minimum salary
schedule. (Each year after 20 years of
experience, pay is increased by $300 per year).

The new state minimum salary schedule is above
the district's prior schedule, but only at certain
years of service.

The district raised its minimum salary schedule,
but not evenly across the board.

For teachers with more than 5 years experience,
if they are rated Distinguished under TTESS, the
district adds $500 to the amount the teacher
would have otherwise received from the step
increase raise.

This district does not advance teachers on it's
local salary scale step if the teacher’s rating is
Needs Improvement in TTESS (but still ensures
all teachers make the state minimum).



TEss. Frequently Asked Questions

Ethg\r

Frequently Asked Question:
If our district has already adopted a particular salary schedule in an attempt to
comply with the 30 percent requirement, can we amend it?

Answer: Consult with your local attorneys for particular situations. In general,
districts operating under Chapter 21 contracts can increase teacher
compensation schedules as long as the contract start date has not yet been
reached and may not decrease once the teacher may no longer unilaterally
resign from the contract. Other situations allow changes after the start date of
the contract pending the specifics of district contract language and the nature of
the compensation changes. Please note the prohibition on providing gifts of
public funds.




TEs. Next Steps (TEA and District)

eeeeeeeeeeeeeee

TEA Next Steps District Next Steps
« TEA will gather questions « Districts should download the

submitted and post TEA school finance template to
responses at help them estimate their 2019-

www.tea.texas.gov/hb3 2020 revenue per ADA

. TEA will post the School e Districts should consult with

. attorneys before makin
Finance Excel Template to the decisiori/s elated 16 5

TEA Website by July 1 compensation increases and/or
TRS contributions



http://www.tea.texas.gov/hb3

» .
TEM. House Bill 3 Resources

» Contact us with any questions:
HB3info@tea.texas.gov

* |Inthe subject line, please include the HB3-
related topic

* Visit TEA's website (tea.texas.gov/HB3) for the
most recent information from the agency on
IB 3 implementation



mailto:HB3info@tea.texas.gov
https://tea.texas.gov/hb3/

o
b cmd

Thank you!

Additional questions: Email HB3info@tea.texas.gov

(include the topic name in the subject line)
‘ o ‘ » | ‘ '



mailto:HB3info@tea.texas.gov
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