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(FOR TEA EMPLOYEES)

1.	Purpose.  To publish the procedures governing paid and unpaid leaves of absence in accordance with the provisions of the Texas Government Code, Section 661.908.
2.	Scope.  This procedure applies to employees of the Texas Education Agency (TEA). This leave policy shall be posted on the agency’s website for public access.
3.	Responsibility.  The Division of Human Resources is the office of primary responsibility (OPR) for this procedure.
4.	Nondiscrimination.  TEA shall comply fully with the nondiscrimination provisions of all federal and state laws and regulations by assuring that no person shall be excluded from consideration for selection, appointment, training, promotion, retention, or any other covered personnel action, nor be denied any benefits or participation in any educational programs or activities which it operates, on the grounds of race, religion, color, national origin, sex, disability, age, or veteran status (except where age or sex constitutes a bona fide occupational qualification necessary for proper and efficient administration).
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6.	Procedures. 
Employee information will be maintained in the agency’s Centralized Accounting and Payroll/Personnel System (CAPPS).
a.	Immediate Family Definition.  The definition of “immediate family” in the following procedures is governed by the applicable state and/or federal law or regulation.  Therefore, the definition necessarily varies when applied to several of these procedures.  Specific definitions of “immediate family” may be found in the following areas of this OP:  
      • Illness of Member of Employee’s Family for Sick LV – Section 6(d)(4) on pg. 5; 
      • Immediate Family (defined by ERS for Sick LV Pool) – Section 6(e)(2)(b) on page 8; 
      • FMLA-related – Section 6(g)(2)(c) on pg. 13;
      • Emergency Leave-related – Section 6(h)(1) on pg. 18.
b.	Employee Notification to Supervisor.  An employee is required to obtain approval and/or notify his or her supervisor of any absence regardless of the reasons for the absence.  It is the employee’s responsibility to request approval of annual or compensatory leave in advance and to keep his or her supervisor informed of the status of his or her medical condition on a regular basis (daily, weekly, bi-weekly) depending on the seriousness or duration of the illness or injury.  See other notification requirements applicable to each leave procedure.
c.	Annual Leave.
(1)	Annual Leave Entitlement.  An employee of the agency shall, without deduction in salary, be entitled to annual leave in each fiscal year.  (The CAPPS time reporting code is ANLVT.)
	Part-time employees will accrue annual leave on a proportionate basis and the maximum carryover will also be proportionate.  Annual leave shall be planned and approved in advance so that the work of a division or office may proceed in an orderly fashion, and managers are authorized to schedule such leave as appropriate during the fiscal year; however, managers shall reasonably accommodate an employee’s leave request to the extent that the work of a division or office is not unduly impaired.  

Such entitlement shall be earned in accordance with the following schedule:
	Full-Time Employee With
Total State Employment of:
	Hours Accrued 
Per Month:
	Maximum Hours Carried Forward to Next Fiscal Year:

	less than 2 years
	 8
	180

	at least 2 years but less than 5 years
	 9
	244

	at least 5 years but less than 10 years
	10
	268

	at least 10 years but less than 15 years
	11
	292

	at least 15 years but less than 20 years
	13
	340

	at least 20 years but less than 25 years
	15
	388

	at least 25 years but less than 30 years
	17
	436

	at least 30 years but less than 35 years
	19
	484

	at least 35 years or more
	21
	532



	Annual leave entitlement is accrued at the rate cited in the chart above in this OP 07-14, Section 6(c)(1).  Credit for the higher rate of accrual shall be given on the first calendar day of the month if the employee's anniversary date falls on the first calendar day of the month; otherwise, the increase will occur on the first calendar day of the following month.
	An employee will accrue annual leave entitlement beginning on the first day of employment with the state and terminating on the last day of duty.  Annual leave with pay may not be granted until the employee has had continuous employment with the state for six months, although credit will be accrued during that period.
	At the time of the new hire orientation, an employee is responsible for initiating the establishment of his or her eligibility for additional leave by completing the affidavit of prior state service in the Division of Human Resources.  Adjustments in total state service (longevity) for annual leave accrual and longevity pay purposes will be made when such prior state service has been verified by the Division of Human Resources.  
An employee shall be responsible for submitting all required data related to prior service to the Division of Human Resources within 15 days of employment.  
	Employment with state colleges and universities and the Texas State Technical Institute (TSTI) may be counted.  However, the following employment cannot be counted as state service: Prior work experience with Junior Colleges, Education Service Centers, and/or Independent School Districts.
	 For institutions and agencies of higher education, a regular employee is defined by law as one who is employed to work at least 20 hours per week for a period of at least 4½ months.
(2)	Restrictions on Annual Leave.  No annual leave may be taken until it is earned.  The net balance of unused accumulated leave, not to exceed the maximum cited in OP 07-14, Section 6(c)(1) on pg. 2, may be carried forward for any employee from one fiscal year to the next.
	All hours of unused accumulated annual leave which are lapsed at the end of a fiscal year will be credited to the employee's sick leave balance as of the first day of the next fiscal year.
	If an employee resigns before the end of the initial six months of state service, there is no annual leave entitlement.  Once the six months of state service is achieved, a break in service does not necessitate that the six-month requirement be met again, and an employee is entitled to take leave as it is accrued.
(3)	Computation of Annual Leave.  Credit for one month's annual leave accrual is given for each month or fraction of a month of state employment and is posted on the first day of employment and on the first day of each succeeding month thereafter.  Annual leave entitlement accrues from the first day of employment and is terminated on the last day of duty.  
	An employee who is on leave must return to duty before being eligible to use leave accrued for that month.  Annual leave accruals will not be posted until the date of the employee’s actual first day of return-to-duty and cannot be applied retroactively.  
	If an employee goes on paid leave following the last day of duty and does not return to duty, then subsequently separates from state employment, the employee is not entitled to leave accruals while on such paid leave for any calendar month(s) following the month in which the last day of duty occurs.  In computing annual leave taken, time during which an employee is excused from work because of holidays shall not be charged against the employee's annual leave.
(4)	Lump Sum Payment for Accrued Annual Leave.  A state employee who resigns, retires, is dismissed, or separates from state employment shall be entitled to be paid in a lump sum for all annual leave duly accrued at the time of separation from state employment, provided the employee has had continuous employment with the state for at least six months and provided that the employee has not been reemployed by another state agency within 30 days of such separation.  

Lump sum payments for accrued but unused annual leave is computed as though the employee actually worked for the agency.  Hence, a full-time agency employee will have 8 hours added to his or her accrued annual time for each state or national holiday that falls within the period after the date of separation and the last date of the period in which the employee could have used the time had the employee remained on the payroll.  Less than full-time employees will be eligible for this additional leave on a proportionate basis. Generally, this means a separating employee will need to wait approximately 45 days from separation before receiving a warrant.  
 (5)	Terminating Employees. Terminating employees who have submitted a letter of resignation must be physically present on their last day of employment.
 (6)	Transfer of Leave from One State Agency to Another.  A state employee who transfers directly from one state agency to another shall be entitled to credit with the new employing agency for accumulated but unused annual leave entitlement, provided that employment with the state is uninterrupted.  Service with Junior Colleges, Education Service Centers, and Independent School Districts does not constitute state service.  Holidays, annual leave, days on sick leave, weekends, emergency leaves, and other approved leaves, with or without pay, do not break the continuity of service.  Hence, a state employee can leave one state agency at the close of business on a Friday and transfer to another state agency effective with the beginning of business on the following Monday morning.
	If an employee resigns or separates from agency employment and is reemployed within 30 calendar days by a state agency to a position which accrues annual leave, the employee’s previous accrued but unused annual leave will be restored.
d.	Sick Leave.
(1)	Sick Leave Entitlement.  Sick leave, without deduction in salary, for an employee of the state shall be earned at the rate of 8 hours for each month, or fraction of a month, of employment, and shall accumulate with the unused amount of such leave carried forward each month.  Part-time employees accrue proportionately.  Sick leave with pay may be taken when sickness, injury, or pregnancy and confinement prevent the employee's performance of duty; when the employee is needed to care and assist an immediate family member who is acutely ill; and/or the employee or immediate family member seeks advice or care from a licensed health care provider. (The CAPPS time reporting code is SICKT.)
(2)	Obligation to Notify Supervisor of Illness.  An employee who must be absent from duty because of illness shall notify the supervisor or cause the supervisor to be notified of that fact at the earliest practicable time on that day, and such time should not exceed one hour.  

Unless otherwise directed, an employee who is on extended leave of any type (Family Medical Leave Act [FMLA], workers’ compensation, sick leave, sick leave pool, LWOP) is required to communicate directly with his or her immediate supervisor regarding any potential changes to his or her leave status and anticipated date of return.
(3)	Proof of Illness.
(a)		To be eligible for accumulated sick leave with or without pay during a continuous period of more than three working days, an employee who is absent because of illness is required, upon return to duty, to submit the prescribed Application for Approval of Sick Leave or a statement from the health care provider verifying that the absence was due to illness.  If the employee’s absence was due to a serious health condition, as defined by this OP, then the employee must provide the Certification of Health Care Provider form according to the requirements of that section.
(b)	The immediate supervisor or next-level supervisor may require an employee, when absent three or less continuous working days, to submit an Application for Approval of Sick Leave or a verification of illness from the Health Care Provider.
(c)	After an application is duly approved by the immediate supervisor or next-level supervisor, it shall be forwarded to Human Resources.  
(4)	Illness of a Member of Employee's Family.  The same sick leave procedures, including the use of the same forms, will be followed when an agency employee is absent because of illness on the part of a member of the employee's immediate family.  Immediate family is defined as those individuals who live in the same household and are related by kinship, adoption, or marriage. Foster children certified by the Texas Department of Protective and Regulatory Services (DPRS) and minor children of the employee, whether or not living in the same household, will be considered immediate family for purposes of regular sick leave. (The CAPPS time reporting code is SICKT.)

An employee's use of sick leave for family members not residing in that employee's household is strictly limited to the time necessary to provide care and assistance to a spouse, child, or parent of the employee that needs such care and assistance as a direct result of a documented medical condition.  This provision for sick leave does not extend to an employee’s parent-in-law if they do not live in the same household.
(5)	Proof of Illness for Member of Employee's Family.  An employee shall be required to provide information on the illness of family members in the same manner in which the employee provides information on his or her illness.
(6) 	Abuse of Sick Leave.  Malingering and other abuse of sick leave privileges, as determined by the division director, in consultation with the Division of Human Resources and the Office of General Counsel, shall constitute grounds for appropriate disciplinary action, up to and including dismissal from employment by the agency.
(7)	Transfer of Sick Leave from One State Agency to Another.  A state employee who transfers directly from one state agency to another shall be entitled to credit with the new employing agency for accumulated but unused sick leave entitlement, provided that employment with the state is uninterrupted.
(8)	Transfer of Sick Leave from an Education Service Center.  Sick leave may be transferred from education service centers to state employment at a rate not to exceed five days per year for each year of employment at the education service center.
(9)	Restoration of Sick Leave.  An employee separated from employment with the state under a formal reduction-in-force shall have his or her sick leave balance restored if reemployed by the state within 12 months after the end of the month of termination.  An employee separated for other reasons shall also have his or her sick leave balance restored if reemployed by the same state agency within 12 months after the end of the month of termination, provided there has been a break in service of at least 30 calendar days since termination.  The 30 day break in service is not required if reemployed by a different state agency.
	An employee who is restored to state employment following military service under veterans’ restoration provisions is generally considered to have been on furlough or leave of absence and, as such, is entitled to the crediting (restoring) of sick leave accrued, but unused, prior to such military service.
(10)	Computation of Sick Leave.  An employee of the agency shall, without deduction in salary, be entitled to sick leave subject to the following.  An employee will begin earning entitlement for paid sick leave on the first day of employment.  Credit for one month's accrual will be given and posted for each month or each fraction of a month to that employee's leave record on the first day of employment and the first day of each succeeding month of employment thereafter.  

The employee will accrue sick leave at the rate of 8 hours per month of full-time employment.  Part-time employees will accrue proportionately.  Sick leave accruals, like annual leave accruals, are posted on the first day of the month.  If the employee is on leave the first day of the month, sick leave accruals will not be posted until the date of the employee's actual first day of return to duty and cannot be applied retroactively.  Sick leave accumulates with the unused amount carried forward each month, and there is no limit to the amount which may be accrued.
(11)	Retirement Credit and Accrued Sick Leave.  One month of service credit will be added by the Employees Retirement System for each 160 hours, or fraction thereof, of sick leave accrual an employee has accumulated and is unused on the last day of employment prior to retirement.  An employee who was employed with the state on or before August 31, 2009 may also be eligible to use accumulated sick leave to satisfy service requirements for retirement eligibility.
(12)	Using Sick Leave in Lieu of Annual Leave.  If an employee is absent using annual leave and would otherwise be entitled to sick leave, then the fact that such leave is requested while on annual leave does not affect the employee’s entitlement to sick leave.  A supervisor has the option of requesting proof of illness in this situation.
(13)	Terminating Employees.  Terminating employees who have submitted a letter of resignation and have not reached their last working day at the agency may not use sick leave without an Application for Approval of Sick Leave or a statement from the health care provider verifying that the absence was due to illness.
      (14)	Donation of Sick Leave to Another Employee.
	(a)  An employee may donate any amount of the employee’s accrued sick leave to 
      another employee under these circumstances: 

 	(i) 	The recipient is in the same agency as the donor employee.

 	(ii) 	The recipient has exhausted all sick leave and all accrued paid leave, 
                    	including any time received from a sick leave pool.

 	(iii) 	There is no remuneration or gift in exchange for the sick leave donated.

 	(iv)	The recipient uses the sick leave as appropriate per the Texas 
                   	Government Code and agency leave policy.

 	(v) 	No service credit in the Employees Retirement System of Texas is 
                    	received that would be considered unused on the last day of the
                    	employee’s employment.
	(b)  Employees interested in donating or receiving donated sick leave should 
      contact Human Resources’ Benefits and Leave Coordinator for guidance and 
      policy interpretation.  Employees donating sick leave must submit the agency 
      form Donation of Sick Leave to Another Employee.
e.	Sick Leave Pool.
(1)	General Provisions.
(a)	All agency employees who have been employed with the agency for at least one year may apply to use the sick leave pool for their own catastrophic injury or illness or for a member of their immediate family.
(b)	An employee with a catastrophic illness is eligible to apply to use the sick leave pool after exhausting all accrued leave (i.e. sick, annual, holiday compensatory, compensatory, and overtime leave).
(c)	An employee must first apply for the sick leave pool, if applicable, before applying for any extended sick leave benefits.
(d)	An employee granted sick leave pool hours to be used intermittently must use all of their accrued leave as it accrues prior to using the granted sick leave pool hours unless the employee is on leave the first day of the month.  Employees who are on leave on the first day of the month will gain their accruals upon returning to duty during that month.
(e)	An employee using the sick leave pool for an entire month will earn sick and annual leave and is treated for all purposes as if absent on earned sick leave.
(f)	An employee with a catastrophic injury or illness is not required to contribute to the pool before use of the sick leave pool.
(g)	An employee who uses the sick leave pool is not required to pay back such leave.
(h)	An employee who is absent from work due to a job-related injury or illness is not eligible for the sick leave pool.
(i)	All agency staff who assist in processing the sick leave pool documents are charged with maintaining strict confidentiality and privacy in all cases.  Failure to comply may result in disciplinary action, including dismissal.
(j)	An employee must provide the Human Resources Division with a written statement from a licensed practitioner who is treating the employee or the employee’s immediate family.  The statement must provide sufficient information regarding the illness or injury to enable the Human Resources Director to evaluate the employee’s eligibility.
(2)	Definitions.
(a)	Catastrophic Injury or Illness - A severe condition or combination of conditions affecting the mental or physical health of the employee or the employee's immediate family that requires the services of a licensed practitioner for a prolonged period of time and forces the employee to exhaust all leave time earned and to lose compensation from the state. The determination that an illness or injury is catastrophic will be based on information provided by the individual’s health care provider. The health care provider must certify that the patient has a physical condition that is life threatening or a mental health condition that renders the individual capable of harming themselves.
(i)	Examples of mental health conditions that may be considered catastrophic are major depression, bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, or other psychotic disorders.
(ii)	Examples of physical health conditions that may be considered catastrophic are cancer, brain tumors, heart attacks, strokes, acquired immune deficiency syndrome, or cerebral aneurysms.
(iii)	Examples of conditions NOT covered unless accompanied by a catastrophic condition or a complication considered to be severe include gall bladder surgery, surgery for a herniated disk, carpal tunnel syndrome, allergies, bronchitis, most broken bones and orthopedic surgeries, and angina.
(b)	Immediate Family - As defined by the Employees Retirement System of Texas, comprised of those individuals related by kinship, adoption, marriage, or foster children who are so certified by the Texas DPRS who are living in the same household or if not in the same household are totally dependent upon the employee for personal care or services on a continuing basis.
(c)	Licensed Practitioner - A practitioner who is practicing within the scope of his or her license.
(3)	Contributions to Sick Leave Pool.
(a)	Contributions to the pool are strictly voluntary.  An employee shall use the Contribution to Sick Leave Pool form to donate sick leave to the pool.
(b)	An employee may contribute no less than 8 hours of sick leave to the pool each fiscal year.
(c)	An employee is encouraged to contribute to the pool at the time of separation from state employment.  An employee retiring from the agency may contribute any amount of sick leave to the sick leave pool.  However, a retiring employee is advised that donations of 160 hours or more may affect the employee’s retirement service credit or retirement eligibility.
(d)	With the exception of an employee separating from agency employment, an employee may not contribute sick leave to the pool to the extent that the contribution would cause the balance of accrued sick leave to fall below 80 hours.
(e)	An employee who contributes to the pool cannot withdraw it unless he or she is eligible to use it.
(f)	An employee who makes contributions to the pool may not stipulate that those contributions be used only by a particular person or make any other stipulations whatsoever regarding the contributions to the pool.
(g)       Authority to accept contributions to the pool is delegated to the Human Resources 
          Director.
(4)	Withdrawals from Sick Leave Pool.
(a)	A request for use of the sick leave pool shall be forwarded to the Division of Human Resources by the employee through the division director and next-level supervisor by using a Request for Sick Leave Pool.
(b)	All requests to utilize the sick leave pool must be accompanied by supporting documentation, including a signed statement from the patient’s health care provider verifying that the condition is a catastrophic illness or injury as defined under Section 6(e)(2) above. All medical documentation shall be submitted directly to the HR Benefits & Leave Coordinator.
(c)  	All requests to utilize the sick leave pool must be forwarded and approved prior to, or as soon as practicable, the employee's use of the sick leave pool benefits.
(c)	The Human Resources Director will consider all requests on a first-come, 
first-served basis.  A response to each complete request will be made within 
15 working days from the date of its receipt in the Division of Human Resources, indicating recommendation for approval or denial.
(d)	The amount and frequency of the sick leave pool granted for each request will be determined by the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s designee.  
The cumulative amount awarded to an employee cannot exceed one-third of the balance of hours in the pool, or 720 hours, whichever is less.
(e)	Any unused balance of the sick leave pool granted to an employee will be returned to the pool.  The estate of a deceased employee is not entitled to payment for unused sick leave pool.
(5)	Eligibility for Sick Leave Pool.  To be eligible for sick leave pool, an employee must meet the requirements specified under Section 6(e)(4) above, and:
(a)	Be continuously employed by the agency for a minimum of one full year;
(b)	An employee with more than six months but less than one year of TEA employment may request a waiver of the one-year requirement if the employee performs a function that is crucial to the agency’s mission and the employee has a proven record of outstanding performance, as documented by the employee’s supervisor and confirmed by the division director or department manager.  A request for such waiver may be initiated by the employee’s supervisor, with the approval of the division or department manager, and submitted to the Deputy Commissioner of Operations, with a copy provided to the Director of Human Resources;
(c)	Have exhausted or stand to exhaust all accrued leave (i.e. sick leave, annual leave, administrative leave, compensatory leave, holiday compensatory leave, and overtime leave); 
(d)	Have used sick leave in the past in a responsible manner.  Sick leave consistently depleted as it is accrued, or failure to maintain sick leave balances without good cause, or a pattern of being sick on Mondays, Fridays, or days immediately before or after a holiday may be evidence of unacceptable use of sick leave;
(e)	Currently be performing job duties at a fully satisfactory level according to the supervisor, and as reflected in documents related to the employee’s job performance. The determination of satisfactory job performance shall include an assessment of the employee’s most recent performance evaluation and any commendations, corrective memos, or counseling sessions occurring since the date of the most recent evaluation; and
(f)	Indicate intention to return to work.
f.	Extension of Sick Leave.
(1)	An employee who is temporarily unable to work due to a serious illness or injury, or pregnancy, and has exhausted or stands to exhaust all accrued leave (i.e. sick leave, annual leave, compensatory leave, holiday compensatory leave, and overtime leave) may be granted an extension of sick leave.  (Exception:  If the extended sick leave is covered by FMLA, any overtime leave used during that period will not affect the 12-week FMLA entitlement.)  

Requests for extensions of sick leave will be based upon exceptional circumstances, will be supported by medical documentation, and will require approval by the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s designee.  The granting of extension of sick leave is discretionary and will be approved only upon determination that it is in the best interest of the agency. The requested leave shall be approved only if it can be accomplished without causing a hardship to the division or department.
	A full-time employee may be granted up to one week (40 hours) for each full year of continuous service with TEA with a maximum of 15 weeks (600 hours).  Part-time employees are granted proportionately. If an employee separated from employment with TEA due to a reduction in force and returned to employment within 12 months, the employee is considered to be “continuously” employed for purposes of extended sick leave eligibility.
	An employee may request to take extension of sick leave intermittently, by reducing the normal weekly or daily work schedule, if the health care provider verifies that the employee’s treatment or recovery would be best accommodated by an intermittent schedule.  
 (2)	Eligibility for Extension of Sick Leave.  To be eligible for extension of sick leave with pay, an employee must meet the requirements specified under Section 6(f)(1) above, and:
(a)	First use sick leave pool, if eligible;
(b)	Be continuously employed by the agency for a minimum of one full year;
(c)	Have exhausted or stand to exhaust all accrued leave (i.e. sick leave, annual leave, and compensatory leave, and overtime leave);
(d)	Have used sick leave in the past in a responsible manner.  Sick leave consistently depleted as it is accrued, or failure to maintain sick leave balances without good cause, or a pattern of being sick on Mondays, Fridays, or days immediately before or after a holiday may be evidence of unacceptable use of sick leave;
(e)	Currently be performing job duties at a fully satisfactory level according to the supervisor, and as reflected in documents related to the employee’s job performance. The determination of satisfactory job performance shall include an assessment of the employee’s most recent performance evaluation and any commendations, corrective memos, or counseling sessions occurring since the date of the most recent evaluation; and
(f)	Indicate intention to return to work.
 (3)	Extension of Sick Leave Shall Not Be Granted for the Following Reasons:
(a)	Family member’s illness;
(b)	Absence of an employee not planning to return to work;
(c)	An illness that results in the employee’s absence from work for less than five consecutive work days, unless the illness otherwise qualifies for intermittent leave; 
(d)	As a substitute or supplement to workers' compensation benefits.
(4)	Procedures to Obtain Extension of Sick Leave.  
(a)	A request for an extension of sick leave shall be submitted to the division director (Request for Special Leave).  The division director and next-level supervisor will each be responsible for evaluating the request to determine its merits and the employee's eligibility (except that the medical criteria will be evaluated by the Human Resources Division).  Upon recommending its approval, the division director or next-level supervisor is responsible for forwarding the request, along with a copy of the most recent Employee Leave Summary to the Division of Human Resources.
(b)	The employee must submit a Health Care Provider’s Statement signed by the attending health care provider which reflects diagnosis, date condition commenced, probable duration of condition, and projected return to work date. The medical documentation shall be submitted directly to the HR Benefits & Leave Coordinator.
(c)	The Human Resources Director will review the request, consider all the relevant facts and circumstances, make a recommendation, and forward the relevant documents to the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s designee for a final determination.  The employee and the division director will be notified of the decision.  All extensions of sick leave shall terminate at 5:00 p.m. on the last day of the requested approval date.
(5)	Forms may be obtained from the Division of Human Resources.  A statement of authorized exceptions to the amount of sick leave an employee may take, or the reasons for them, shall be attached to the agency's duplicate payroll voucher for the appropriate payroll period.
g.   Family and Medical Leave.
(1)	General Provisions.
(a)	The FMLA of 1993, as amended, entitles an eligible employee to take up to 12 weeks of job-protected leave during a 12-month period for specified family and medical reasons or up to 26 weeks of job-protected leave for specified medical reasons to care for a covered service member.
(b)	FMLA may be paid leave or a form of Leave Without Pay (LWOP) depending on an employee’s individual circumstances.  The Texas Government Code provides that an employee must utilize all available and applicable annual and sick leave while taking the FMLA leave.  An employee may use sick leave for the adoption of a child under the age of 3.  For purposes of adoption, the employee may use the amount of sick leave that would ordinarily be necessary to recover from pregnancy and childbirth.  A state employee, who is the father of a child, may use his sick leave in conjunction with the child’s birth only if the child is actually ill or to care for his spouse while she is recovering from labor and delivery.  Additionally, an employee who is on FMLA leave and is receiving temporary disability benefit payments or workers’ compensation benefits cannot be required to use paid annual or sick leave while on FMLA leave.  Also, an employee who is on FMLA leave and is receiving temporary disability benefits or workers’ compensation benefits cannot elect to use his or her paid annual leave. The paid leave will count toward the 12-week maximum for FMLA leave.
(c)	To be eligible for FMLA benefits, an employee must have been employed by the state for at least 12 months and worked at least 1,250 hours during the last 
12 months immediately preceding the start of leave.  All state employment will be counted and it need not be continuous.
(d)	The agency will maintain group health insurance coverage for an employee on FMLA leave whenever such insurance is provided before the leave was taken and on the same terms as if the employee had continued to work.  Where appropriate, arrangements will be made for an employee to pay his or her share of health insurance premiums while on leave.  The agency may recover premiums it paid to maintain health insurance coverage for an employee who fails to return to work from FMLA leave.
	After paid leave is used, the state will continue to pay for its portion of an employee’s coverage under the group health plan during any full calendar month’s leave without pay which may be taken under FMLA.  However, if FMLA is exhausted and the employee is on unpaid leave for a full calendar month, the employee must pay the portion ordinarily paid by the state and the employee’s portion to continue benefits.
(e)	Upon return from FMLA leave, an employee must be restored to his or her original job, or to an equivalent job with equivalent pay, benefits, and other terms and conditions.  In addition, an employee's use of FMLA leave cannot result in the loss of any employment benefit that the employee earned or was entitled to before using FMLA leave.
(f)	The agency requires an employee to provide the Certification of Health Care Provider form describing the serious health condition, or, in the case of military caregiver leave, the serious injury or illness of the covered service member.
(g)	The agency requires an employee to provide documentation of the need for qualifying exigency leave as appropriate based on the facts and circumstances.  Such documentation may include the service member’s military orders and a written statement from the employee providing the appropriate facts relating to the particular qualifying exigency.
(h)	The agency may require an employee to use accumulated but unused sick, annual leave, and all applicable paid leave types before taking unpaid leave.
(i)	An employee does not have the option of choosing whether or not to designate leave as FMLA leave for a qualifying event, as interpreted by the State Auditor’s Office.  In all circumstances, it is the agency’s responsibility to determine whether leave qualifies as FMLA leave or whether it is paid or unpaid, and to give notice of the designation to the employee.
(2)	Definitions.
(a)	Serious Health Condition - An illness, injury, impairment, or physical or mental condition that involves:
(i)	Any period of incapacity or treatment connected with inpatient care (i.e., an overnight stay) in a hospital, hospice, or residential medical care facility;
(ii)	Any period of incapacity requiring absence of more than three calendar days from work, school, or other regular daily activity that also involves continuing treatment by or under the supervision of a health care provider; 
(iii)	Continuing treatment by or under the supervision of a health care provider due to pregnancy or prenatal care;
(iv)	Continuing treatment by or under the supervision of a health care provider due to a chronic serious health condition which continues over an extended period of time and may cause episodic rather than a continuing period of incapacity (e.g. asthma, diabetes, epilepsy, etc.); and
(v)	Continuing treatment by or under the supervision of a health care provider for restorative surgery after an accident or injury, or for a condition that would likely result in a period of incapacity of more than three calendar days in the absence of medical treatment (such as cancer, severe arthritis, or kidney disease).
(b)	Health Care Provider - Includes a doctor of medicine or osteopathy, podiatrist, dentist, clinical psychologists, optometrist, chiropractor (limited to treatment consisting of manual manipulation of the spine to correct a subluxation as demonstrated by X-ray to exist), nurse practitioner, nurse-midwife, or Christian Science practitioner.  This will also include any health care provider from whom an employer or a group health plan’s benefits manager will accept certification of the existence of a serious health condition to substantiate a claim for benefits, or a health care provider as defined in the preceding description who practices in a country other than the United States, who is licensed to practice in accordance with the laws and regulations of that country.
(c)	Immediate Family Member - A child (son or daughter), spouse, or parent of the employee.
(d)	Military Caregiver – A spouse, son, daughter, parent, or next of kin of a covered service member with a serious injury or illness.
(e)	Covered Service Member – A current member of the Armed Forces, including a member of the National Guard or Reserves, who is undergoing medical treatment, recuperation, or therapy, is otherwise in outpatient status, or is otherwise on the temporary disability retired list, for a serious injury or illness.  A serious injury or illness is one that was incurred by a military member in the line of duty on active duty that may render the military member medically unfit to perform his or her duties.
 (f)	Qualifying Exigency – An issue arising from a covered military member’s short notice deployment (i.e., deployment on seven or less days of notice) for a period of seven days from the date of notification; military events and related activities, such as official ceremonies, programs, or events sponsored by the military or family support or assistance programs and informational briefings sponsored or promoted by the military, military service organizations, or the American Red Cross that are related to the active duty or call to active duty status of a covered military member; certain childcare and related activities arising from the active duty or call to active duty status of a covered military member, such as arranging for alternative childcare, providing childcare on a no routine, urgent, immediate need basis, enrolling or transferring a child to a new school or daycare facility, and attending certain meetings at a school or day care facility; financial and legal arrangements to address a covered military member’s absences; attending counseling provided by someone other than a health care provider for oneself, the covered military member, or the child of the covered service member, the need for which arises from the active duty or call to active duty status of the covered military member; taking up to five days of leave to spend with a covered military member who is on short-term temporary, rest and recuperation leave during deployment; attending certain post-deployment activities, and other official ceremonies or programs sponsored by the military for a period of 90 days following the termination of the covered military member’s active duty status, and addressing issues arising from the death of a covered military member.

(3)	Family and Medical Leave Entitlement.
(a)	An employee will be granted up to a total of 12 work weeks of leave during any 
12-month period, measured forward from the first day of FMLA leave, for any of the following reasons:
(i)	The birth of a son or daughter of an employee and in order to care for such son or daughter;
(ii)	The placement of a child (son or daughter) with the employee for adoption or foster care;
(iii)	To care for an immediate family member (spouse, son, daughter, or parent of the employee) with a serious health condition;
(iv)	To take medical leave when the employee is unable to work because of a serious health condition. 
(v)	For qualifying exigency arising out of the fact that the employee’s spouse, son, daughter, or parent is a covered military member on active duty (or has been notified of an impending call or order to active duty) in support of a contingency operation; 
	Note:  The term “son” or “daughter” means a biological, adopted, or foster child; a step-child; a legal ward; or a child of a person standing in loco parentis.
(b)	An employee will be granted up to a total of 26 work weeks of leave during a single 12-month period, measured forward from the first day of FMLA leave, to serve as a military caregiver to care for a covered service member.  An eligible employee is limited to a combined total of 26 weeks of leave for any FMLA-qualifying reason during the “single 12-month period.”  Only 12 of the 26 weeks may be for FMLA qualifying reason other than to care for a covered service member.
(c)	Leave for birth or adoption (including foster care placement) must conclude within 12 months of the birth or placement.
(d)	FMLA leave may be taken intermittently or on a reduced leave schedule under the following circumstances:
(i)	If such leave is medically necessary for medical treatments or recovery from a serious health condition (of either the employee, an immediate family member, or a covered service member) and if the medical need can be best accommodated through an intermittent or reduced leave schedule. Leave taken due to the birth or adoption of a child is considered medically necessary if the mother has a serious health condition in connection with the birth of her child or if the child has a serious health condition. Employees who require intermittent or reduced schedule leave must make a reasonable effort to schedule the leave in a manner that does not unduly disrupt the work of the division or department.
(ii)	If it is not medically necessary to take leave intermittently or on a reduced leave schedule, it is within the discretion of the division director or next-level supervisor to approve such leave. The decision to approve or deny a proposed schedule shall be based on the extent to which such leave may cause a disruption to the work of the division or department.
(iii)	If such leave is for a qualifying exigency arising out of the active duty of a covered military member.
(e)	If both spouses are employed by the agency, both are permitted to take a combined total of 12 weeks during any 12-month period if the leave taken is for:
(i)	The birth of the employee’s son or daughter, or to care for the child after birth;
(ii)	The placement of a son or daughter with the employee for adoption or foster care, or to care for the child after placement, or
(iii)	To care for the employee’s parent with a serious health condition.
	When the husband and wife both use a portion of the total 12 weeks FMLA entitlement for one of the purposes described above, the husband and wife would each be entitled to the difference between the amount individually taken and 12 weeks of FMLA leave for a purpose other than those covered in subparagraph (d).
(iv)	If both spouses are employed by the same agency, both are permitted to take a combined total of 26 weeks in a single 12-month period if the leave is to care for a covered service member with a serious injury or illness.
(4)	Employee Notice and Certification.
(a)	An employee seeking to use FMLA leave will be required to provide:
(i)	30-day advance notice of the need to take FMLA leave when the need is foreseeable;
(ii)	30-day advance notice of the need to take FMLA military caregiver leave for planned medical treatment for a serious injury or illness of a covered service member;
(iii)	If the need for leave is not foreseeable, then the employee must provide notice as soon as practicable after learning of the need for leave. Notice may be given by the employee’s spokesperson if the employee is unable to do so personally; and
(iv)	Notice may be given verbally or by email or fax. The Application for Family and Medical Leave form may be submitted to facilitate the leave request.
(b)	An employee seeking leave due to a serious health condition affecting the employee or an immediate family member will be required to provide:
(i)	Medical certification supporting the need for leave;
(ii)	Other medical opinions and periodic recertification at the employer's expense and discretion; and 
(iii)	A fitness-for-duty report to return to work.
(c)	If the employee advises the agency in writing that he or she does not intend to return to work, the employment is deemed terminated and the employee's entitlement to reinstatement, continued leave, and health benefits ceases.
(d)	In the case of foreseeable leave, an employee who fails to provide timely medical certification within 15 calendar days after being requested to furnish such certification may be denied leave until the required certification is provided.
(e)	When the need for leave is not foreseeable, an employee must provide medical certification within 15 calendar days after being requested to furnish such certification, or as soon as reasonably possible.
(f)	A state employee, who is the father of a child, may use paid sick leave in conjunction with FMLA leave due to the child’s birth only if the child is actually ill or to care for his spouse while she is recovering from labor and delivery. Application for such leave will require medical documentation (Health Care Provider’s Statement).
(5)	Related Procedures.
(a)	Designation of FMLA Leave.
(i)	It is the Human Resources Division’s responsibility to make the determination if leave should be designated as FMLA leave based on information provided by the employee, which may include certification by the employee's health care provider (Certification of Health Care Provider).
(ii)	Such designation must normally be made before the leave begins, can be made during the leave period, or within two business days of the employee’s return to work.
(iii)	An employer is permitted to choose one of several methods for determining the “12-month period” in which the 12 weeks of leave entitlement occurs except in cases involving military caregiver leave.  The agency will use the 12-month period measuring forward from the date the employee’s first FMLA leave begins.
(iv)	A state employee must use all accrued annual and sick leave (except FLSA overtime) for FMLA before being granted leave without pay for FMLA purposes, with the exception of an employee who is on FMLA leave and is receiving temporary disability benefit payments or workers’ compensation benefits.  FLSA overtime, even when used for family or medical purposes, will be designated as FMLA leave.  
(v)	The agency may designate any part of extended sick leave as FMLA leave.  All sick leave pool, with the exception of that taken to care for in-laws, should be designated as FMLA leave.
(b)	Division Directors’ Responsibilities.  Managers are responsible for ensuring that leave requests are processed in accordance with policy.
(i)	Managers will review each leave request and, if the form indicates FMLA leave is being requested, send the request and the employee to the Human Resources Division.  
(ii)	Information used to determine if leave requests qualify as FMLA leave must come from the employee.	
(iii)	An employee must be notified whenever paid leave is designated as FMLA leave (Response to Employee’s Request for Family and Medical Leave).  The notification must occur before leave is completed and the employee has returned to work.
(iv)	The Human Resources Division is responsible for maintaining accurate FMLA leave records.
(c)	Recordkeeping.
(i)	Leave taken will be recorded as FMLA leave as soon as it is identified as FMLA-qualifying leave pursuant to the definitions in Section 6(g)(3)(a) on page 14.
(ii)	The HR Benefits & Leave Coordinator is responsible for tracking FMLA leave.  The 12-month period is measured forward from the date an employee first uses FMLA leave.
(6)	Procedure to Obtain Family and Medical Leave.  The request for family and medical leave may be initiated by the employee and submitted to the Human Resources Division for review and approval.  The Human Resources Division is responsible for evaluating the request for eligibility.  Following approval, the Response to Employee’s Request for Family and Medical Leave shall be completed and sent to the employee.
(7)	Qualification for FMLA.  The Human Resources Director will determine if an employee’s absence(s) qualify for FMLA leave.
(8)	Procedural Questions and Reference Document.  When questions or clarification is sought by an employee on FMLA rules, the federal regulations (29 CFR, Part 25, and FMLA) will be used as the resource document for this purpose.
h.	Emergency Leave.
In accordance with Government Code, Section 661.902, the Commissioner or their designee may make a determination regarding the reasons for emergency leave and shall grant an emergency leave when it is determined that the employee shows good cause for such leave, it is requested by the employee, and it is believed in good faith that the employee intends to return to their position with the agency on expiration of the period of Emergency Leave. 

Emergency leave will be granted only for the minimum time necessary to satisfy the emergency.  
	Reporting:  Not later than October 1 of each year, the agency will report to the Comptroller the name and position of each employee granted more than 32 hours of Emergency Leave during the previous fiscal year.  This will include the reason and total number of hours of Emergency Leave granted the employee in that fiscal year.
(1)	Emergency Leave for Death in Family.  The Human Resources Director, as designated by the Commissioner, shall grant an emergency leave to an employee because of a death in the employee's immediate family.  The death of the employee's spouse, the employee's or spouse's parents, brothers, sisters, grandparents, children, or grandchildren shall constitute adequate need for emergency leave.  
(2)	Amounts of Emergency Leave Authorized. The agency may approve four days of emergency leave because of the death of a member of the employee’s immediate family if the funeral services occur within the Continental United States.  For funeral services occurring outside of the Continental United States, the agency may authorize up to five days of emergency leave.  An employee may be awarded additional hours beyond these parameters if unique circumstances merit the approval of this supplemental leave.
(3)	Procedure to Obtain Emergency Leave for Death in Family.  Request for emergency leave because of the death of a member of the employee's immediate family shall be initiated by the employee at the earliest practical time on the agency form provided for that purpose (Request for Emergency Leave).  The request shall contain the approval or disapproval of the employee's division director or higher-level manager and be sent to the Division of Human Resources.  If a request is disapproved by the division director, the reason(s) must be given.  The Human Resources Director will make a recommendation and forward it to the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s designee for a final determination. 
(4)	Emergency Leave for Reasons Other Than Death in Family.  
  	(a)  Emergency Facility Closure. Emergency Leave for reasons other than a death in a family include emergencies involving sudden facility closure by the Texas Facilities Commission, the Commissioner or their designee. The Request for Emergency Leave form will not be required in this situation.  (The CAPPS time reporting code is EMGFT).
  (b)   Weather-related Emergency.  Requests shall be initiated by the employee by submitting the Request for Emergency Leave form. The request shall contain the full facts and circumstances which are to be considered in evaluating the request.  The request must be approved or disapproved by the appropriate division director or higher-level manager and sent to the Division of Human Resources.  If a request is disapproved by the division director, the reason(s) must be given.  The Human Resources Director will make a recommendation and forward it to the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s designee for a final determination.   (The CAPPS time reporting code is EMGWT).
 (c)    Other.  In addition, Emergency Leave may be used for purposes that are not actually emergencies but are allowable leaves granted to TEA employees via agency operating procedures. (The CAPPS time reporting code is EMGNY).  

Examples include: (1)   Weekly school volunteering per OP 07-28 School Volunteer Program, and (2)   An additional 4 hours of leave granted to employees to attend parent/teacher conferences at their child’s school per fiscal year (See this OP Section 6(w) on pg. 26).
i.	Parental Leave.  An employee with less than 12 months of state service or less than 1,250 hours of work in the 12 months immediately preceding the start of leave is entitled to a parental leave of absence, not to exceed 12 weeks, if the employee uses all available and applicable paid annual and sick leave while taking the parental leave.  Such parental leave may only be taken for the birth of a natural child or the adoption or foster care placement with the employee of a child under 3 years of age.  The leave period begins with the date of birth or the adoption or foster care placement.
j.	Compensatory Time.
(1)	Eligibility for Compensatory Time.
(a)	It may be necessary to require an employee to work extra time beyond the employee’s regular work schedule to perform the duties of his or her position during peak loads.  Such time is worked only with the prior approval of the division director or higher-level manager.  This can be done via a signed memo or through an email approving the compensatory time. The memo or email must substantiate that the compensatory time hours approved are necessary to accomplish the functions of the division or department.
(b)	Deputy Commissioners, Directors I-V, General Counsels III, IV and V, Portfolio Managers III and IV, and Chief Investment Officers are ineligible to earn compensatory time except on weekends, holidays, or when the employee’s duties require extensive travel during the week, and the total number of hours worked, paid leave, and holidays exceeds 40 hours during the workweek.
(c)	A nonexempt employee (an employee who is subject to the overtime provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act; see OP 07-19 - Overtime) who has not worked more than 40 hours in a workweek but the total of hours worked and hours of paid leave or paid holidays exceed 40 hours, the nonexempt employee shall be granted equivalent compensatory time off for the excess hours. 
(d)	Exempt employees (employees who are exempt from the overtime provisions of the FLSA, see OP 07-19 - Overtime) shall not be compensated with compensatory time for extra time worked unless written advance approval of the division director or higher-level manager and/or designee has been obtained.  Compensatory time is earned for hours required in excess of 40 hours in a workweek in which the combination of hours worked, paid leave, and holidays exceeds a total of 40 hours.  (See Attachment 1 for examples of situations that might warrant accrual of compensatory time for an exempt employee.)
(e)	Holidays.  Any employee who is required to work on any of the designated state or other authorized holidays shall be entitled to holiday compensatory time off to be taken during the 12-month period following the date on which the compensatory time was accrued on such day as may be mutually agreed upon by the employee and supervisor.  See OP 07-18 – Official Holidays for more information.  
(The CAPPS holiday-related time reporting codes are REGHW and HCMPT.)
(2)	Provisions Pertaining to Compensatory Time.
(a)	Supervisors are expected to monitor closely the accrual of compensatory time and to limit its accrual to the minimum amount required to perform the unit’s functions.
(b)	Compensatory time may only be allowed for time actually worked or time spent traveling to or from an out of town assignment. An employee may not earn compensatory time for work performed at the employee’s personal residence unless the employee obtains advanced approval from the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s designed.	 
(c)	When compensatory time is approved and worked, it will be credited in 15-minute increments.  Duty time begins on arrival at the work station and ends upon departure from the work station at the end of the day.  Voluntary early arrival or late departure from work is not compensable as compensatory time and will not be logged as such.  (The CAPPS-related time reporting codes are REGHR and COMPT.)
(d)	Compensatory time should be granted as soon as possible after it has been earned by an employee.  Compensatory time must be taken during the 12-month period following the workweek in which the compensatory time was earned.  Supervisors should make every effort to allow employees to utilize accrued compensatory time before the end of the 12-month deadline.  Compensatory time may not be taken until it is earned. For example, an employee works 2 extra hours on Tuesday; however, those two hours are not included in compensatory time earned balances until the employee completes a 40-hour work week.
(e)	No employee may be paid for any unused compensatory time.  An employee who is separated from state employment is not entitled to be paid for compensatory leave.  Compensatory time may not be transferred between agencies when an employee transfers from one state agency to another.  Such compensatory time must be taken prior to termination or transfer, and the employee must specify in the resignation letter how the leave will be used prior to the last day on the payroll.
(f)	The estate of a deceased employee may not be paid for the employee’s earned, but unused compensatory time.
k.	Negative Leave Balances.  Negative leave balances, which are prohibited by statute, will be corrected during the month in which they occur or as soon as practicable thereafter.  Corrections will be made by one of the following methods, as applicable:
(1)	Utilizing annual, compensatory, and/or overtime leave to cover insufficient sick leave;
(2)	Obtaining approval for utilizing the sick leave pool, an extension of sick leave, or leave of absence without pay, if applicable; or
(3)	Submitting a Personnel Action Form (PAF) for a Leave Without Pay (LWOP) docked (warrant adjustment).  Such action will require a payroll adjustment which should be made to the employee’s regular payroll during the month in which the absence occurred. Employees are prohibited from remaining on unpaid leave for any period that exceeds the amount of leave allowed by Section 6(r)(2) on pg. 24 of this OP.
(4)	Employees with a negative leave balance shall be removed from the regular payroll to prevent overpayment, and paid via supplemental payroll based on an accounting of the number of LWOP hours taken. 
l.	Payment of Accumulated Annual and Sick Leave to the Estate of a State Employee Upon His or Her Death.
(1)	Authorization.  Upon the death of an employee of TEA, the state shall pay the employee's estate for all of the employee's accumulated annual leave and ½ of the accumulated sick leave or for 336 hours of sick leave, whichever is less.  The payment shall be calculated at the rate of compensation being paid the employee at the time of death, and shall include payment for the workday during which the death occurred, regardless of the hour.
(2)	Procedure to Effect Payment.  The “Remarks” section of the final PAF submitted following the death of an agency employee will contain the following entry:
	“In accordance with Texas Government Code Ann., Sections 661.032 and 661.062, the estate of the above named employee is entitled to payment for all accumulated annual leave and for ½ accumulated sick leave or for 336 hours of sick leave, whichever is less, computed as follows:
	Annual Leave (no. of hours x rate per hour) =                
	½ Sick Leave (no. of hours x rate per hour) =                .”
m.	Military Leave.
(1)	Leave for Authorized Training.  The Texas Government Code provides for military leave, without loss of salary or annual leave, for state officers and employees who are members of the state military forces, or members of any of the reserve components of the Armed Forces of the United States, to engage in authorized training or duty ordered or authorized by proper authority.  Such leave cannot exceed 15 workdays in any one federal fiscal year.  An employee who remains on active duty after exhausting his or her paid leave will be on leave without pay.  Military leave requests are initiated by the employee, and must be approved by the division director or higher-level manager prior to the taking of such leave.  The employee's approved request and orders to active duty shall be forwarded to the Division of Human Resources.
	An employee shall be entitled to emergency leave from his or her respective duties without loss of time, efficiency rating, annual leave, or salary on all days during which he or she shall be engaged in authorized training or duty ordered or authorized by proper authority, not to exceed 15 days in any one federal fiscal year as provided in Texas Government Code, Section 431.005.
(2)	Leave for Active Duty with National Guard.  Texas Government Code, Section 661.903 authorizes a leave of absence with full pay to any state employee who is called to active duty with the National Guard by the Governor of Texas because of a state emergency.  Such leave shall be granted without any loss to the employee of military or annual leave.  A copy of the employee's orders to active duty with the National Guard shall be forwarded to the Division of Human Resources. The employee may use any accrued annual, sick, or earned compensatory time to maintain benefits while on military duty.
(3)	Leave for National Emergency.  An employee called to active duty during a national emergency by a reserve branch of the United States Armed Forces shall have a leave of absence.  The employee shall not lose the ability to accrue state service credit while on active duty but shall not accrue annual or sick leave.  However, the employee shall retain any accrued annual or sick leave and shall be credited with such balances upon return.
(4)	Restoration to Employment of Certain State Employees Who Serve Honorably in the Armed Forces.
(a)	Reemployment Entitlement.  Texas Government Code, Section 613.006, provides that any employee of the state, other than a temporary employee, who leaves a position for the purpose of entering the Armed Forces of the United States, Texas National Guard, or any of the reserve components of the Armed Forces of the United States, shall be restored to employment in the same department or office and in the same position held at the time of induction, enlistment, or order to active federal or state military duty or service, or to a position of like seniority, status, and pay if still physically and mentally qualified to perform the duties of such position.
(b)	Nature of Discharge from Armed Forces.  Such an employee must have been discharged, separated, or released from active military service under honorable conditions within five years from the date of induction, enlistment, or call to active service.
(c)	Provisions Governing Disability.  If an employee is not qualified to perform the duties of the prior position or of another position of like seniority, status, and pay because of disability sustained during military service but is qualified to perform the duties of another position in the same department or office, the veteran shall be restored to employment in another position, the duties of which the employee is qualified to perform, and which will provide like seniority, status, and pay, or the nearest possible approximation thereof.
(d)	Entitlement to Retirement or Other Benefits.  Any person restored to a position under these provisions shall be considered as having been on furlough or leave of absence while in federal or state military service, and shall be entitled to participation in retirement or other benefits to which a state employee is, or may be, entitled.  Any such person shall not be discharged from such position without cause within one year after such restoration.
(e)	Procedures for Applying for Restoration to Employment.  A veteran eligible for restoration to employment within TEA under this policy shall make written application for such restoration to the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s designee within 90 days after discharge or release from active federal or state military service.  Evidence of discharge, separation, or release from military service under honorable conditions must accompany the application.
n.	Leave for Volunteer Firefighters and Emergency Medical Services Volunteers.  
A state employee who is a volunteer firefighter or emergency medical services volunteer shall be granted a leave of absence with full pay to attend training schools conducted by state agencies.  Such leave shall not exceed five working days in any one fiscal year, and shall not be charged against the employee's annual or sick leave.  Leave with full pay may also be granted to a volunteer firefighter or emergency medical services volunteer for the purpose of responding to emergency fire or medical situations.  This leave is not charged against an employee’s annual or sick leave privileges.  (The CAPPS time reporting code is VFFTR.)
o.	Leave for Certified American Red Cross Activities.  A state employee who is a certified disaster service volunteer of the American Red Cross, or who is in training to become such a volunteer, may be granted a leave of absence not to exceed 10 days each year to participate in specialized disaster relief services in the state of Texas.  The employee must have supervisory authorization in addition to a request from the American Red Cross and the approval of the Governor’s office.
p.	Foster Parent Leave.  A state employee who is a foster parent to a child under the conservatorship of the Texas Department of Protective and Regulatory Services (DPRS) is entitled to a leave of absence with full pay for the purpose of attending staff meetings held by the Texas DPRS regarding the employee’s foster child.  In addition, the employee may attend, with a paid leave of absence, the Admission, Review, and Dismissal (ARD) meeting held by a school district regarding a foster child.  (The CAPPS time reporting code is FPRNT.)
q.	Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA) Leave.  A state employee may be granted leave not to exceed five hours each month to participate in mandatory training or perform volunteer services for CASA without deduction in salary or loss of annual or sick leave, overtime, or state compensatory time.  The employee must request this paid leave prior to taking the leave from their supervisor and must provide his/her supervisor with proof that the employee attended mandatory training or performed CASA volunteer services.  This documentation shall be forwarded to the Human Resources Division. (The CAPPS time reporting code is CASAT.)
r.	Leave of Absence Without Pay (LWOP).
(1)	Criteria for LWOP eligibility:
(a)	Leave without pay (LWOP) is intended to allow an employee to take a leave of absence under circumstances in which such leave is in the mutual interest of the agency and the employee. A request for LWOP requires the approval of the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s designee.  The leave will not be approved if it would cause a hardship for the division or department.
(b)	LWOP may be granted only after all applicable paid leave entitlements have been exhausted (with the exception of leave taken based on Workers’ Compensation eligibility or active military duty).
(c)	The employee intends to return to work at the conclusion of the leave period, as      verified by the employee’s signature on the leave request form, and it can reasonably be expected that the employee will return and resume full responsibility for the duties of his or her position.
(d)	The employee’s performance must meet agency standards according to the supervisor and as reflected in the employee’s most recent performance evaluation and other documents pertaining to the employee’s job performance.
(e)	The employee must have a history of using leave in a responsible manner.
(f)	If the need for leave is foreseeable, the LWOP must be scheduled in advance and the employee must work with the supervisor to schedule the leave at a time that will not cause a hardship to the division.
(2)	Length of allowable LWOP:
(a)	An employee with TEA service totaling one year or less may be granted up to one month LWOP.
(b)	An employee may be granted an additional one week LWOP for each full year of total TEA service.
(c)	A period of LWOP may not exceed 6 months.
(d)	Any time period during which an employee is absent from work on unpaid leave will count towards the allowable amount of LWOP.
(3)	Upon conclusion of the LWOP, the employee will be returned to his or her position, except under very limited circumstances in which it is not feasible to hold the position open for the duration of the leave period. If the employee’s position is no longer available, the employee will be placed in the first available position for which the employee is qualified, in a comparable or lesser salary group.
(4)	At the conclusion of the allowed leave period, the employee must return to work. If the employee does not return to work and the employee is not eligible for any other form of leave, the employee’s failure to return to work may result in immediate termination.
(5)	Notwithstanding the criteria and restrictions stated above:  
          (a)      An employee who is eligible for leave based on the FMLA or parental leave is entitled to take leave without pay for the duration of their FMLA or parental leave period if paid leave is not available (see Section 6(g)(1) of this OP).
(b)	An employee who is on active duty military leave is entitled to a leave of absence without pay as required by the Texas Government Code Section 661.904 and the Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA), Title 38 § 4301-4313 and 4316-4319 (see Section 6(m) of this OP). 
(c)	An employee who requires a leave of absence due to a “disability”, as defined by the Americans with Disabilities Act, may be granted LWOP as a reasonable accommodation if the granting of such leave will not cause undue hardship (according to the requirements of OP 07-17 Nondiscrimination).
(d)	An employee who is eligible for Workers’ Compensation may be granted leave without pay pursuant to the requirements of OP 07-36 Workers’ Compensation.
(6)	During each full month in which an employee is on LWOP:
(a)	The employee will not accrue annual or sick leave;
(b)	The employee will not earn state service credit for purposes of longevity pay, annual leave accruals, retirement benefits, or Benefit Replacement Pay (BRP); and
(c)	The employee is not eligible for the state’s contribution to their health insurance, and the employee is responsible for paying the insurance premium in full (unless the employee’s leave is covered by FMLA).
(7)	Application Process.
(a)	A request for LWOP shall be submitted on the Request for Special Leave form at least 30 days prior to the desired date of leave, if the need for leave is foreseeable.  If the need for leave is not foreseeable, the request shall be submitted as soon as possible after the employee becomes aware of such need.
(b)	The request for LWOP shall be forwarded to the Human Resources Division.
(c)	If LWOP is requested due to a medical condition, the employee shall submit a statement from the health care provider to the Human Resources Division verifying that the absence is due to illness or injury, and specifying the length of absence or the anticipated date of return.
s.	Jury Duty.  Jury duty is a responsibility of citizenship, and time so spent is regarded as being present on the job.  No deduction shall be made from the salary or wages of any employee who is called for jury service; nor shall such employee be required to account to the state for any fee or compensation received for jury service.  The employee is required to show proof of the jury duty by forwarding a copy of the court/juror’s excuse to the HR Benefits & Leave Coordinator.
(The CAPPS time reporting code is JURYD.) 
t.	Subpoenas (Court Witness).
(1)	On occasion, personnel are required to testify in a judicial or legislative proceeding as representative of, or on behalf of, TEA.  In such instances, when an employee appears as a witness in an official capacity for the agency, time so spent is regarded as being present on the job, and it is not necessary to take leave for the appearance.  The employee is not entitled to any witness fees for such a governmental appearance.  The employee may receive reimbursement for mileage and a per diem for expenses incurred while serving as a witness in an official capacity, as long as there is no double reimbursement to the employee for such expenses (see Texas Government Code, Section 659.005).  Questions or problems concerning a subpoena received by an agency employee should be referred to the Office of Legal Services.  Likewise, any questions pertaining to travel allowances or fees relating to a subpoena should be referred to the Division of Accounting Operations.
(2)	An employee who appears in a judicial or legislative proceeding in a non-official capacity will be granted leave as follows:
(a)	If testifying in a non-official capacity in a personal matter (a matter in which the employee is a party), the employee may use available leave balances under applicable policies;
(b)	If subpoenaed to testify in a non-official capacity in a proceeding that does not involve a personal matter (employee is not a party), an employee may request and be granted Emergency Leave (EMGNY) for a period not to exceed three days.  The subpoena must be forwarded to the Human Resources Division (see OP 07-13 Leave Accounting).
(c)	For employees who are exempt from FLSA, if leave must be taken to appear as a witness at a judicial proceeding and the employee has no available and applicable leave to apply to the absence, then the employee may apply for Emergency Leave (EMGNY) for this purpose.  The subpoena must be forwarded to the Human Resources Division (see OP 07-13 Leave Accounting). 
	Although an employee will be required to use all applicable accrued leave for this purpose, a deduction may not be made from the salary of an FLSA-exempt employee who is absent due to attendance as a witness at a judicial proceeding (see Texas Government Code, Section 659.016(e)).
(3)	If an employee appears as a witness in a non-official capacity, the employee may accept any customary witness fees (see Texas Government Code, Section 659.005).
u.	Election Leave.  Under the provisions of House Bill 1 and the Texas Government Code, days on which an election is held throughout the state shall not be observed as holidays during the biennium.  However, an employee shall be allowed sufficient time off without deduction from pay or leave time accrued to vote on a day in which an election is held throughout the state.
	With the expansion of absentee voting locations and having sufficient time (two hours) before or after work schedules, the agency expects that very few employees will need to use work time to vote on statewide election days.  The Human Resources Director should be consulted if assistance is needed on this procedure. (The CAPPS time reporting code is VOTES.)
v.	School Volunteer Program.  Per agency OP 07-28, employees may volunteer one hour per week in an area school if certain criteria are met.  (The CAPPS time reporting code is EMGNY with “SCHVO” entered in the Override Reason Code field.)

w.	Parent-Teacher Conference/Educational Activities Leave.  A parent of a child who is a student attending PreK-12th grade may use up to 8 hours of their accrued sick leave each fiscal year to attend educational activities for their child.  Examples include:  Educational programs, Parent/teacher conferences, Tutoring, Volunteering in their child’s school, Field trips, Academic competitions, Extra-curricular events, etc.).  (The CAPPS time reporting code is EDACT.)

	Note:  Per this OP Section 6(h)(4)(c) on pg. 19, an employee may use up to 4 hours of Emergency Leave each fiscal year to attend parent-teacher conference sessions for the employee’s children who are in pre-kindergarten through twelfth grade (Note: This is not per child). (The CAPPS time reporting code is EMGNY, with “PTC” entered in the Override Reason Code field.)

x.	Donation of Blood Leave.  An employee may be granted sufficient time off to donate blood up to 4 times per fiscal year without a deduction in salary or accrued leave.  The employee must request approval from their supervisor prior to taking the leave.  The employee must provide his/her supervisor with proof that the employee donated blood.  (The CAPPS time reporting code is DNRBL.)
y.	Organ or Bone Marrow Donor Leave.  An employee may request up to 5 working days in a fiscal year to serve as a bone marrow donor or up to 30 working days in a fiscal year to serve as an organ donor.  An employee may request this leave by submitting a Request for Special Leave Form approved by their division director and higher-level manager through Human Resources to make a recommendation to the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s designee for a final determination. (The CAPPS time reporting codes are DNROG or DNRBM.)
z.	Leave During an Agency Investigation.  The Commissioner or their designee may grant leave without a deduction in salary to a state employee who is the subject of an investigation, or a victim of, or witness to an event subject to an investigation being conducted by the agency,
(The CAPPS time reporting code is INVLT.)
Reporting:  Before the last day of each quarter of the fiscal year, the agency must submit a report to the State Auditor’s Office and Legislative Budget Board which includes the name of each employee who has been the subject of an agency investigation and who has been granted 168 hours or more of leave under this section during that fiscal quarter.  The report also must include a brief statement as to the reason each employee remained on leave.
aa. 	Medical and Mental Health Care Leave for Certain Veterans.  
In accordance with Government Code, Section 661.924, an employee who is a veteran (as defined by Section 434.023(a)), and is eligible for health benefits under a program administered by the Veterans Health Administration of the US Department of Veterans Affairs may be granted leave without a deduction in salary or loss of agency accrued leave or compensatory time to obtain medical or mental health care administered by that program, including physical rehabilitation.  Proper documentation must be submitted to the HR Benefits and Leave Coordinator.  (The CAPPS time reporting code is VMHLT.)

Except as provided by Subsection (d) of Government Code 661.924, leave may not exceed 15 days each fiscal year.  However, the Commissioner or their designee may grant additional days of leave if deemed appropriate for the employee. 

ab.	Disabling of Computer Access.
  Any time an employee begins a leave of absence of more than 30 days, the employee’s computer access shall be disabled until the employee’s return. An exception to this policy may be granted by the division director or higher-level supervisor if the employee’s job requires continuing computer access during the leave period. 

The employee’s supervisor must notify the Information Security Function and Computer Access any time an employee begins a leave of absence of more than 30 days, and must inform them if continuing computer access has been granted.  In the event of separation of employment; the employee’s computer access shall be disabled on their last physical day.

 	
	    Megan Aghazadian                           	 	August 30, 2017                 
    Deputy Commissioner of Operations		Effective Date
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EXAMPLES OF EXCESS HOURS THAT MIGHT WARRANT EARNING OF COMPENSATORY TIME FOR EXEMPT EMPLOYEES

Assumptions
The following examples, while not all inclusive, cite instances for which compensatory time would be allowed for extra work hours.  In considering these examples, it is assumed that:  (1) the employee is exempt from the overtime provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act; (2) the hours are in excess of a combination of hours worked, paid leave, and holidays totaling 40 hours for one workweek; and (3) the employee had prior approval to work the extra hours as overtime.

Example No. 1
An employee's regular work hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.  The employee is required to work an additional two hours (5:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.) on Monday and Tuesday.  The employee's supervisor adjusts the employee work hours by requiring the employee to take off at 3:00 p.m. on Friday.  The employee worked a total of 42 hours during the workweek and is, therefore, entitled to two hours of compensatory time.

Example No. 2
An employee's regular work hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.  The employee voluntarily arrives at his or her work station at 7:30 a.m.  The employee goes to lunch with his or her supervisor at 12:00 noon.  During the lunch break, incidental business discussions are held between supervisor and employee.  The employee subsequently concludes his or her workday at 5:00 p.m.  The employee is entitled to no compensatory time for this particular workday.

Example No. 3
A division director and his or her assistant are required to attend a State Board of Education meeting on Saturday.  The meeting convenes at 8:30 a.m. and concludes at 12:30 p.m.  The director and assistant are entitled to four hours of compensatory time.

Example No. 4
A consultant is instructed by his or her supervisor to attend a workshop in El Paso.  The consultant flies to El Paso on Wednesday morning, leaving Austin at 8:10 a.m.  The workshop concludes on Friday afternoon at 3:00 p.m.  The return flight to Austin arrives at 7:30 p.m.  Since the employee's regular work hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, he or she is entitled to two and one-half hours of compensatory time.

Example No. 5
The team leader of a monitoring team determines that in order to complete an assignment at ABC ISD, the team must travel on Sunday so that they can commence field work promptly on Monday morning.  Each member of the monitoring team spends three hours on Sunday in route to the assignment at ABC ISD.  Each member of the team would be entitled to three hours of compensatory time.

Example No. 6
This same monitoring team convenes on Thursday night to prepare for an exit conference with school officials on the following Friday morning.  This preparatory meeting lasts from 7:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.  Each attending team member is entitled to one and one-half hours of compensatory time.  (Note:  Overtime hours could be avoided in this case if the team leader chooses not to commence work one morning until 9:30 a.m.)

Example No. 7
Members of the monitoring team are required to hold a meeting after school hours to allow for parent input.  The meeting is planned for and lasts from 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.  Each team member required to be present for the meeting is entitled to two hours of compensatory time.
