

To the Administrator Addressed

Commissioner Mike Morath

1701 North Congress Avenue • Austin, Texas 78701-1494 • 512 463-9734 • 512 463-9838 FAX • tea.texas.gov

DATE:	October 31, 2019
SUBJECT:	House Bill 3 (HB 3) Implementation
CATEGORY:	Special Education Allotment Advisory Committee
NEXT STEPS:	Share with interested staff

The 86th Texas Legislature passed House Bill 3, which requires the formation of the following five advisory committees to support public education:

- The Reading Standards K-3 Advisory Committee
- The Special Education Allotment Advisory Committee
- The Compensatory Education Allotment Advisory Committee
- The Financial Aid Advisory Committee
- The Assessment Educator Advisory Committee

In accordance with House Bill 3, Commissioner of Education Mike Morath has formed the **Special Education Allotment Advisory Committee** to develop and make recommendations regarding methods of financing special education under the public school finance system. The following individuals have been appointed to the committee and are expected to attend monthly meetings culminating in a report due to the Texas Legislature no later than May 1, 2020. Members include:

Steven Aleman

Austin, TX Dana Johnson Georgetown, TX

Kelvin Bradford

Dallas, TX

Dilip J. Karnik, MD

Austin, TX

Norma Zoe Castillo

El Paso, TX Autumn R. Leal Cedar Park, TX

Patricia Disen

Lewisville, TX Paula Marshall Pearland, TX

Lisa Flores Austin, TX

Dr. Roman Garcia de Alba, Ph.D. Edinburg, TX

Diane Frost, Ph.D. Corsicana, TX

Amanda Sanchez-Muñoz San Elizario, TX

Shana Gaines Wylie, TX

Robert Scarfo Humble, TX

Kelly Guillen Amarillo. TX

Diana Serrano El Paso, TX Karen Slaughter Richardson, TX

Jessica Toste, Ph.D. Austin, TX

Kristin McGuire Austin, TX Ralph Unger Pleasanton, TX

Reyna Villela El Paso, TX

Audrey Young Nacogdoches, TX

Questions

If you have any questions related to the Special Education Allotment Advisory Committee, email HB3info@tea.texas.gov.