## RESOLUTION

**WHEREAS** Donna Bahorich concludes four years of outstanding service as chair of the State Board of Education; and

**WHEREAS** she built a reputation as an inclusive leader who reached across the aisle and across different stakeholder groups to solicit input, guidance, and wisdom from people in all walks of life; and

**WHEREAS** she was always striving to bring current and best practices to Texas such as the rotating TEKS Review Panel process that allows more educators, business people, and other citizens to be involved in standards revisions than ever before; and

WHEREAS Donna Bahorich created the Learning Roundtable, an annual free conference that attracted hundreds of attendees each year; and

**WHEREAS** she worked to increase the public's accessibility to instructional material proposed for use in Texas public schools; and

WHEREAS Donna Bahorich has been a strong supporter of charter schools throughout her tenure on the board; and

**WHEREAS** she helped spearhead efforts to create a new Long-Range Plan for Public Education after gathering information from Texans across the state; and

**WHEREAS** Donna Bahorich coordinated a statewide effort to gather public input about the state's student assessment and accountability systems; and

WHEREAS under her leadership, the board came together to create the first State of Texas approved ethnic studies course; and

**WHEREAS** Donna Bahorich forged strong ties with the Texas Education Agency, the Commissioner of Education; and the Texas Legislature; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED** That the State Board of Education offers its deep gratitude for her tireless work as chair of this body.

WITNESS our signatures this thirteenth day of September, two thousand and nineteen in Austin, Texas.

Georgina C. Pérez, SBOE District 1

Ruben Cortez, Jr., SBOE District 2

Marisa Perez-Diaz, SBOE District 3

Lawrence Allen, Jr., SBOE District 4

Ken Mercer, SBOE District 5

Matt Robinson, SBOE District 7

Barbara Cargill, SBOE District 8

Keven Ellis, SBOE District 9

Tom Maynard, SBOE District 10

Patricia Hardy, SBOE District 11

Pam Little, SBOE District 12

Aicha Davis, SBOE District 13

Sue Melton-Malone, SBOE District 14

Marty Rowley, SBOE District 15