Attendance FAQ’s

1.	May an absence be deemed excused but still be used to file truancy charges? 
	Texas Education Code Section 25.091 provides that a complaint or referral for failure to attend 	school is to be filed after a student has a certain number of absences "without excuse.” Section 	25.087 requires that certain absences be excused and provide that a student's absence may be 	excused for "any cause acceptable to the teacher, principal, or superintendent.” (04/2002)
2.	What is the education law that states how many days of school students are expected 	to attend and, how many days they can miss before they are held back? 
	Texas school districts are required to provide at least 180 days of instruction (Section 25.081, 	TEC). However, some districts have a waiver from the Commissioner of Education allowing 	them to substitute a few of those days for teacher professional development days. To receive 	credit for class, a student is required to attend school for at least 90 percent of the days the 	class is offered Section 25.092, TEC. Students with excessive absences may restore credit as 	provided by local policy.
3.	Is Kindergarten required in Texas? 
	A child is not required to attend school unless he or she is at least six (6) years old on September 	1st of the school year. Enrollment in Kindergarten is not required. However, if a child is enrolled 	in Kindergarten, regular attendance is required. If the child has too many unexcused absences 	while enrolled, compulsory attendance charges may be filed. A parent who enrolls a child in 	Kindergarten may choose to withdraw the child at anytime during the school year.
4.	Where can an administrator find updated information on attendance and school 	admission? 
	This information can be found in the Texas Education Code; however, it is summarized in the 	Administrator’s letter that is available each July. 		http://ritter.tea.state.tx.us/taa/legal081710-2.html
5.	What laws, policies, or guidelines must a school district follow in determining which 	school 	in its district a child should attend? 
	Section 25.031, Texas Education Code, empowers the school board to “assign and transfer 	any student from one school facility or classroom to another within its jurisdiction.” The locally 	elected board makes that call with a few exceptions in districts that continue to be covered by a 	federal desegregation order. A parent can petition for a transfer under Section 25.033, but final 	decision rest with the board.
6.	What options does a school district have in dealing with parents who do not have 	their children immunized? 
	Admission to a school is not allowed until records are produced showing that (1) the child has 	been immunized in accordance with state immunization rules; (2) the child has an exemption 	from immunization in accordance with state immunization rules; or (3) the child is entitled to 	provisional enrollment. Provisional enrollment applies to (1) students transferring from one 	Texas public or private school to another; (2) students who are homeless according to the 	federal 	McKinney-Vento Act; or (3) students who have begun required immunizations and are 	receiving them as quickly as medically feasible. For more information about immunization 	requirements, you may visit http://immunizetexas.com/ or contact the Immunization Division 	Customer Service team at (512) 458-7284 or (800) 252-9152.
7.	What are the policies for a student being absent for several days for educational 	purposes, but not a school function? 
	Absences for purposes of college visits are addressed in Section 25.087 (b-2), Education Code. 	Otherwise, whether the absence would be excused and under what conditions would be 	determined by local policy.
8.	At what age may a student drop out of school? 
	A child who is under 18 years of age is required to attend public school. There are several 	exemptions from this requirement. A primary exemption is for students who are enrolled in a 	private or parochial school, including a home school. Another primary exemption applies to 	students who are at least 17 years of age and are either enrolled in a GED (high school 	equivalency) program or have received either a high school diploma or GED certificate. The 	statutes stating the compulsory ages of attendance and the exemptions from attendance are 	Sections 25.085 and 25.086 of the Texas Education Code. If a child is required to attend school 	and fails to do so, criminal charges may be brought against the parent under Section 25.093 or 	against the student under Section 25.094 if the offence is a Class C Misdemeanor. There is some 	information on this topic in the attendance section of the Administrator’s Letter 	http://ritter.tea.state.tx.us/taa/legal081710-2.html.
9.	Is a pregnant student still allowed to attend public schools?
	A student is entitled to enroll in Texas public schools based on residency in the district, 	regardless of pregnancy. Federal law also prohibits discrimination in an educational 	program on the basis of pregnancy.
