	



[bookmark: _GoBack]Notes on Terminology: In this handbook, the term “minutes” is interchangeable with “days” in accordance with the program type listed on the chart in 3.8 Calendar.

Note: Starting in the 2018–2019 school year, HB 2442 of the 85th Texas Legislature, 2017, repealed the seven-hour school day requirement from the Texas Education Code (TEC) §25.082.

Note: Due to the flexibilities provided by 75,600 minutes of operation and the repeal of the seven-hour school day requirement by HB 2442, school districts and charter schools that meet certain requirements may release their student early from school and still receive full funding. Therefore, early release waivers for the 2018–2019 school year are rescinded. 
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	Change
	2017-2018
	2018-2019

	Revision
	[bookmark: _Ref293064012][bookmark: _Ref265220034]3.2.2.2 Time Spent in Course for Which Student Has Already Received Credit Not Eligible as Instructional Hours
If a student repeats a course for which the student has already received credit, the time that the student spends taking the course for a subsequent time does not count toward the accumulation of attendance hours for FSP funding purposes; that is, this time does not count as classroom time for purposes of the 2-through-4-hour rule. 

	3.2.2.2 Time Spent in Course for Which Student Has Already Received Credit Not Eligible as Instructional Hours
If a student repeats a course for which the student has already received credit, the time that the student spends taking the course for a subsequent time does not count toward the accumulation of attendance hours for FSP funding purposes; that is, this time does not count as instructional time for purposes of the 2-through-4-hour rule. 



	Revision
	[bookmark: _Ref234900435]3.2.2.3 Funding Eligibility of Students Who Have Met All Graduation Requirements except Passing Required State Assessments 
 Your school district may serve and generate FSP funding for a student who has met all graduation requirements other than passing required state assessments and who continues to attend school to participate in a study program for those assessments, provided all other eligibility requirements are met. Time spent in the study program is considered classroom time for FSP funding purposes; that is, this time counts as classroom time for purposes of the 2-through-4-hour rule.
Note: Students who have met all graduation requirements other than passing required state assessments are the only students for whom time spent in such a study program may be considered classroom time for FSP funding purposes. For any other student, this time is not considered classroom time for FSP funding purposes.

	3.2.2.3 Funding Eligibility of Students Who Have Met All Graduation Requirements except Passing Required State Assessments 
If a student has completed all of the requirements for a high school diploma, the student is not eligible to continue to generate ADA for funding purposes. Exceptions are students who are eligible to graduate but who continue their education to meet the requirements of a higher high school diploma standard or students who have not met the assessment requirements for graduation. (See 3.2.2.4 Funding Eligibility of Students Who Have Met All Graduation Requirements except Passing Required State Assessments.)





	Addition
	3.2.2.4 Funding Eligibility of Students Who Have Met All Graduation Requirements except Passing Required State Assessments 

Your school district may serve and generate FSP funding for a student who has met all graduation requirements other than passing required state assessments and who continues to attend school to participate in a study program for those assessments, provided all other eligibility requirements are met. Time spent in the study program is considered classroom time for FSP funding purposes; that is, this time counts as classroom time for purposes of the 2-through-4-hour rule.

Note: Students who have met all graduation requirements other than passing required state assessments are the only students for whom time spent in such a study program may be considered classroom time for FSP funding purposes. For any other student, this time is not considered classroom time for FSP funding purposes.

	3.2.2.4 Funding Eligibility of Students Who Have Met All Graduation Requirements except Passing Required State Assessments 

Your school district may serve and generate FSP funding for a student who has met all graduation requirements other than passing required state assessments and who continues to attend school to participate in a study program for those assessments, provided all other eligibility requirements are met. Time spent in the study program is considered instructional time for FSP funding purposes; that is, this time counts as instructional time for purposes of the 2-through-4-hour rule.

Note: Students who have met all graduation requirements other than passing required state assessments are the only students for whom time spent in such a study program may be considered instructional time for FSP funding purposes. For any other student, this time is not considered instructional time for FSP funding purposes.


	Addition
	
[none]
	3.2.2.5 Funding Eligibility for Students Award a Diploma Outside of the United States
If a student has been awarded a high school diploma, the student is not eligible to continue to generate ADA for funding purposes. However, a student that holds a diploma from a country outside of the United States may be eligible to enroll and generate ADA for funding purposes in a Texas public school if the district has determined that the diploma does not meet the minimum requirements for a Texas high school diploma. Districts must evaluate out-of-country transcripts carefully. These students must still meet eligibility requirements for funding.


	Revision
	3.2.3.1 Additional Information about Minimum Eligible Age 
A child of a military family who moves to your district from another state that is a member state of the Interstate Compact on Educational Opportunity for Military Children is entitled to continue enrollment at the same grade level, including kindergarten, that he or she was enrolled in that other state regardless of the child’s age.

	3.2.3.1 Additional Information about Minimum Eligible Age
A child of a military family who moves to your district from another state that is a member state of the Interstate Compact on Educational Opportunity for Military Children is entitled to continue enrollment at the same grade level, including kindergarten, in which the student was enrolled in the sending state regardless of the child’s age.

	Revision and Deletion
	[bookmark: _Ref234901143][bookmark: _Toc496098291]3.4.4 Information and Record Transfer
For a high school student transferring from one Texas public school district or charter school to another, the following additional information is required to be sent via the TREx for the student’s high school transcript:
· student’s address, including city, state, and zip code
· district name
· either exit level Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills assessment and date the exit level requirement was met or State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness end-of-course assessment information
· advanced measures completed for the distinguished graduation program, if applicable
· Texas Grant indicator code required by the end of the student’s junior year   
· graduation program type required by the end of the student’s junior year
· College Board campus code
	3.4.4 Information and Record Transfer
For a high school student transferring from one Texas public school district or charter school to another, the following additional information is required to be sent via the TREx for the student’s high school transcript:
· student’s address, including city, state, and zip code
· district name
· either the date the exit level requirement for Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was met or for State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) the performance level on each end-of-course assessment and the date the performance was met
· advanced measures completed for the distinguished graduation program, if applicable
· graduation program type required by the end of the student’s junior year
· College Board College Entrance Examination Board (CEEB) campus code and ACT High School code (optional)


	Revision
	3.6.3 Requirements for a Student to Be Considered Present for FSP (Funding) Purposes
. . .
To be considered temporarily absent, the student must begin classes or return to school on the same day of the appointment.


	3.6.3 Requirements for a Student to Be Considered Present for FSP (Funding) Purposes
. . .
To be considered temporarily absent, the student must begin classes or return to class on the same day of the appointment.

	Revision
	3.6.3 Requirements for a Student to Be Considered Present for FSP (Funding) Purposes
is temporarily absent because of a documented appointment for the student or the student’s child that is with a health care professional licensed, certified, or registered by an appropriate agency of the State of Texas  to practice in the United States. A documented appointment with a health care professional includes an appointment of a student diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder with a health care practitioner to receive a generally recognized service for persons with that disorder. To be considered temporarily absent, the student must begin classes or return to class on the same day of the appointment. The appointment should be supported by a document, such as a note from the health care professional. 

	3.6.3 Requirements for a Student to Be Considered Present for FSP (Funding) Purposes
is temporarily absent because of a documented appointment for the student or the student’s child that is with a health care professional licensed, certified, or registered by an appropriate agency of the State of Texas [footnoteRef:1] to practice in the United States.[footnoteRef:2] A documented appointment with a health care professional includes an appointment of a student diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder with a health care practitioner[footnoteRef:3] to receive a generally recognized service[footnoteRef:4] for persons with that disorder.[footnoteRef:5] To be considered temporarily absent, the student must begin classes or return to class on the same day of the appointment. The appointment must be supported by a document, such as a note from the health care professional.[footnoteRef:6] 
 [1:  You can access the Texas Medical Board’s searchable database of licensed physicians at http://reg.tmb.state.tx.us/OnLineVerif/Phys_NoticeVerif.asp.]  [2:  TEC, §25.087(b)(2)]  [3:  See the Texas Insurance Code, §1355.015(b), for a description of the term health care practitioner.]  [4:  Generally recognized services include, but are not limited to, applied behavioral analysis, speech therapy, and occupational therapy.]  [5:  TEC, §25.087(b-3)]  [6:  19 TAC §129.21(j)(3)] 


	Revision and Deletion
	3.6.3.1 Early Graduation or Graduation Ceremonies and Attendance
Students Who Graduate Early: If a student has completed the requirements for a high school diploma before the last school day of the school year, the student is not eligible to continue to generate ADA for funding purposes for the remaining days of the school year.
	[bookmark: _Ref205604280]3.6.3.1 Attendance Taken Before the End of the Academic Year
Students Who Graduate Early: If a student graduates from high school before the last school day of the school year, the student is not eligible to continue to generate ADA for funding purposes for the remaining days of the school year.


	Addition and Revision
	[bookmark: _Ref203893802][bookmark: _Ref203969346][bookmark: _Toc496098313]3.8 Calendar
Your school district must operate so that it provides for at least 75,600 minutes of instruction, including intermissions and recesses (school days) for students (minus any minutes waived by the TEA in writing unless your district has been approved to provide fewer school minutes to certain students through a program such as the Optional Flexible Year Program. However, even if your district has been approved to provide fewer school minutes through such a program, under no circumstances may it offer fewer than 71,400 school minutes. 


	3.8 Calendar
The following table provides the required number of operational and/or instructional minutes for districts and charter schools to receive full funding:
	Program Type
	Operational Minutes
	Instructional Minutes
	Days of Instruction
	Full Funding

	School Districts
	75,600
	
	Provide 75,600 minutes of operation along with any applicable waivers

	Charter Schools Operating Before January 1, 2015
	75,600
	
	180 
	Provide 180 days of attendance with a minimum of four hours of daily instruction with any applicable waivers and complying with their charter contract terms regarding student instruction time OR provide 75,600 minutes of operation along with any applicable waivers

	Charter Schools Operating After January 1, 2015
	75,600
	
	Provide 75,600 minutes of operation along with any applicable waivers

	
Prekindergarten

	
	32,400

	
	Provide 32,400 minutes of instruction along with any applicable waivers

	· Dropout[footnoteRef:7] Recovery Campus(es) or Program(s) [7:  TEC, §12.1141(c) or §39.0548; school program(s) and campus(es)] 

· Day Treatment Facility
· Residential Treatment Facility
· Psychiatric Hospital
· Medical Hospital
· Correctional Facility
· Disciplinary Alternative Education Program (DAEP)
· Adult High[footnoteRef:8] School and Industry Certification charter school [8:  TEC, §29.259] 

	
	









43,200
	
	Provide 43,200 minutes of instruction along with any applicable waivers

	Juvenile Justice Alternative Education Program (JJAEP)
	
	
	180
	Provide seven hours (420 minutes) of operation per day.  Refer to 10.3.1 Requirements for JJAEP






	Revision and Deletion
	3.8 Calendar
Days of instruction are the number of days to satisfy the instructional time requirements established under the Student Attendance Accounting Handbook that are required by a district or charter school to accumulate 75,600 minutes of operation in a school year. 
Charter schools are not subject to the 75,600-minute requirement. However, state funding is reduced in proportion to the number of minutes by which a charter school’s calendar falls below 75,600 minutes. To receive full funding, a charter school must offer 75,600 minutes (including intermissions and recesses), minus any minutes waived by the TEA in writing, just as a school district is required to. Also, if a charter school elects to have a calendar that includes fewer than 75,600 minutes with planned staff development days factored in (for example, 175 school days (73,500 minutes) + 3 planned staff development waiver days (1,260 minutes) = only 178 days (74,760 minutes)) and requests waivers for those staff development days, the waivers will not be granted, and funding will not be generated for the days for which waivers were requested.

	3.8 Calendar
Note: Since school districts and charter schools – as part of their third TSDS PEIMS data submission – do not report their calendars to TEA until after the school year is complete, districts may not realize they are subject to a funding reduction until time has expired to correct their calendars.  Therefore, ensure that you have the required number of minutes/days built into your school board approved calendar. 

Charter schools operating before January 1, 2015, are not subject to the 75,600-minute requirement. However, charter schools operating before January 1, 2015 must provide 180 days of attendance with a minimum of four hours of daily instruction with any applicable waivers and complying with their charter contract terms regarding student instruction time or 75,600 operational minutes. Also, districts or charter schools operating under the provisions in TEC §42.005 (i-k), are eligible to receive full ADA funding in accordance with the operational and/or instructional minutes listed.


	Addition
	3.8 Calendar
. . .
Your district must not report attendance on days when no instruction is offered (for example, senior days). When a holiday occurs within an attendance accounting period, your district must document the date and name or purpose of the holiday in all reports required for audit purposes (detailed in Section 2).

	3.8 Calendar
. . .
Your district must not report attendance on days when no instruction is offered (for example, senior days where seniors are not required to attend school). When a holiday occurs within an attendance accounting period, your district must document the date and name or purpose of the holiday in all reports required for audit purposes (detailed in Section 2).


	Deletion
	3.8.1 Length of School Day
A school day must be at least 420 minutes each day, including intermissions and recesses.[footnoteRef:9] Open-enrollment charter schools are not subject to this requirement and may have a shorter school day if their charter so provides. [9:  TEC, §25.082(a)] 


	3.8.1 Length of School Day
[none]

	Addition and Revision
	3.8.2.1 Makeup Days and Waivers
. . .
Your district must adopt a school calendar with at least 75,600 minutes of instruction (including intermissions and recesses). Your district is encouraged to make sure that the adopted calendar includes additional minutes to account for bad weather or other missed school days related to health and safety concerns. 

HB 2610 requires school districts and charter schools to meet 75,600 minutes of instruction (including intermissions and recesses) in order to receive FSP funding. If your district or charter school closes school on a scheduled school day, your district or charter school should have enough minutes built into its adopted calendar to make-up for any missed minutes or your district’s or charter school’s FSP funding may be reduced proportionately.

A school district or charter school may add additional minutes to its school calendar to reach the required 75,600 minutes of instruction (including intermissions and recesses). While the TEA does not prohibit a district or charter school from scheduling additional minutes on a weekend day or a national holiday, the TEA strongly discourages scheduling any additional minutes on this type of day because attendance is likely to be low. The TEA encourages districts and charter schools to select practical days that do not fall on the weekend or on national holidays, as the agency does not grant waivers for low attendance on a makeup day. adopting a calendar that includes additional minutes to account for these types of issues.


	3.8.1.2 Makeup Days and Waivers
Your district must adopt a school calendar that is in accordance with the program type that is listed on the chart in Section 3.8. Your district is encouraged to make sure that the adopted calendar includes additional minutes to account for at least two bad weather or other missed school days related to health and safety concerns. 

If your district or charter school closes school on a scheduled school day, your district or charter school should have enough minutes built into its adopted calendar to make-up for any missed minutes or your district’s or charter school’s FSP funding may be reduced proportionately.

A school district or charter school may add additional minutes to its school calendar to reach the required number of minutes/days in accordance with the program type that is listed on the chart in Section 3.8. While the TEA does not prohibit a district or charter school from scheduling additional minutes on a weekend day or a national holiday, the TEA strongly discourages scheduling any additional minutes on this type of day because attendance is likely to be low. The TEA encourages districts and charter schools to select practical days that do not fall on the weekend or on national holidays, as the agency does not grant waivers for low attendance on a makeup day. 

	Deletion and Revision
	3.8.2.2 Missed School Day Waivers
If, because of weather, safety, or health issues, your district or charter school falls short of the required 75,600 minutes beyond the additional minutes already built in the adopted school calendar, your school district may apply to the TEA for a missed school day waiver. A missed school day waiver application must be submitted using the TEA’s automated waiver application system, which is available in the online TEA Login (TEAL) secure environment.

	3.8.1.3 Missed School Day Waivers
Due to weather, safety, or health issues, you fall short of the required number of minutes/days in accordance with the program type that is listed on the chart in Section 3.8 (beyond the additional minutes/days already built into the adopted school calendar for makeup minutes/days). A missed school day waiver application must be submitted using the TEA’s automated waiver application system, which is available in the online TEA Login (TEAL) secure environment.


	Revision 
	3.8.2.3 Low-Attendance Day Waivers

	[bookmark: _Ref385345473]3.8.1.4 Low-Attendance Day Waivers



	Deletion
	3.8.2.4 Early-Release Day Waivers
Your district must submit any request for a waiver for an early-release day at least 31 days in advance of the target date for the early release. An early-release day waiver application must be submitted using the TEA’s automated waiver application system, which is available in the online TEAL secure environment.

If the waiver is approved, the early-release school day must be at least 4 hours. The TEA will grant a maximum of six early release waivers per school year.

	

[none]


	Addition
	[none] 
	3.8.1.5 Staff Development Waivers
Staff development waiver minutes are for staff development in place of student instruction; therefore, the waiver minutes are only applicable to staff development provided instead of student instruction during the school year. The total waiver minutes for staff development may not exceed 2,100 minutes per school year. For charter schools operating before January 1, 2015 staff development waivers may not exceed 5 days per school year. 

Staff development waiver minutes (days) may not be used prior to the first day of student instruction or after the last day of student instruction. On staff development days when students are in attendance part of the day, in order to receive full ADA funding, the district or open-enrollment charter school must provide at least 120 minutes of student instruction. In addition to the 120 minutes of student instruction, any staff development waiver minutes reported must reflect actual staff development minutes provided. 

Note: Districts or charter schools must demonstrate that they are providing high-quality staff development that will impact student outcomes.

	Revision and Deletion
	3.11.16 Example 16
Your district plans to have several days of early dismissal (early-release days) during the school year.

Your district should submit a request for approval of a waiver for early-release days using the TEA’s automated waiver application system, which is available in the online TEAL secure environment. The waiver will allow your district to have up to 6 early-release days during the school year. (Early-release days are not required to be the same days for all campuses in your district.)

	3.11.16 Example 16
Effective for the 2018-2019 school year, the agency will no longer offer Early Release waivers and Early Release waivers previously approved for the 2018-2019 school year are rescinded.

	Revision and Addition
	3.11.19 Example 19
A district received a waiver for 5 additional days of staff development. This waiver allows the district to offer an instructional track that contains only 175 days (73,500 minutes) of instruction. The only rule associated with attendance accounting that is affected by this particular waiver is the requirement that all instructional tracks must consist of at least 75,600 (including intermissions and recesses) minutes.
The attendance of all students who attend this instructional track must be reported in six approximately equal reporting periods. The total number of school days, if added together from all reporting periods, must equal the actual number of school days offered over the full year (in this case, 175 (73,500 minutes)).


	3.11.19 Example 19
A district and a charter school operating after January 1, 2015, received a waiver for 2,100 minutes of staff development. This waiver allows the district to offer an instructional track that contains 73,500 minutes of operation. The only rule associated with attendance accounting that is affected by this particular waiver is the requirement that all instructional tracks must consist of at least 75,600 (including intermissions and recesses) minutes.
The attendance of all students who attend this instructional track must be reported in six approximately equal reporting periods. The total number of school days, if added together from all reporting periods, must equal the actual number of school days offered over the full year. 

A charter school operating before January 1, 2015, received a waiver for 5 additional days of staff development. This waiver allows the district to offer an instructional track that contains only 175 days of instruction.
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	Addition
	[bookmark: _Ref323805390][bookmark: _Toc505328800]4.18.9 Codes 91–98 - Off Home Campus Examples
Example 8: A student with a disability attends and receives special education services in a community setting or environment (not operated by a school district) that prepares the student for postsecondary education/training, integrated employment, and/or independent living skills (including 18 plus programs/services). The student may also receive direct involvement or instruction provided by school district personnel.



	4.18.9 Codes 91–98 - Off Home Campus Examples
Example 8: A student with a disability attends and receives special education services in a community setting or environment (not operated by a school district) that prepares the student for postsecondary education/training, integrated employment, and/or independent living skills (including 18 plus programs/services). The student may also receive direct involvement or instruction provided by school district personnel.

The instructional setting code for this student is 97, off home campus - community class.



	Deletion
	4.9.3 PPCD Services and PK Programs
When a student who is eligible for both special education and PK is served in a PK classroom, the student should be assigned the appropriate instructional setting code based on the location, amount, and type of special education services provided to the student. The student is eligible for full-day attendance (ADA eligibility code of 1) if the student is scheduled for and receives at least 4 hours of instruction and services (that is, receives at least 2 hours of special education services in addition to the 2 hours of PK program instruction). The student is eligible for half-day attendance (ADA eligibility code of 2) if the student is scheduled for and receives at least 2 hours but fewer than 4 hours of instruction or services.


	4.9.3 PPCD Services and PK Programs
When a student who is eligible for both special education and PK is served in a PK classroom, the student should be assigned the appropriate instructional setting code based on the location, amount, and type of special education services provided to the student. The student is eligible for full-day attendance (ADA eligibility code of 1) if the student is scheduled for and receives at least 4 hours of instruction and services. The student is eligible for half-day attendance (ADA eligibility code of 2) if the student is scheduled for and receives at least 2 hours but fewer than 4 hours of instruction or services.



	Deletion
	4.9.3 PPCD Services and PK Programs
When a student who is eligible for special education but is not eligible for PK is served in a PK classroom, the student’s instructional setting code should be determined based on the information in the chart on the following page. The student’s ADA eligibility is determined by the amount of time that the student is provided special education services each day. The student is eligible for full-day attendance (ADA eligibility code of 1) if the student is scheduled for and receives at least 4 hours of special education services each day. The student is eligible for half-day attendance (ADA eligibility code of 2) if the student is scheduled for and receives at least 2 hours but fewer than 4 hours of special education services each day.[footnoteRef:10] [10:  Special  education services, as explained in 19 TAC §89.63(c)(1), may include  indirect, and/or consultative services by a special education teacher.  See Coding Chart 1: PPCD Services and PK for ADA eligibility .] 


When a student who is eligible for special education but not eligible for PK is served in a PK classroom, a special education teacher must be in the classroom for the student’s entire instructional day for ADA and weighted funding to be generated.


	4.9.3 PPCD Services and PK Programs
When a student who is eligible for special education but is not eligible for PK is served in a PK classroom, the student’s instructional setting code should be determined based on the amount of special education services, located in the chart on the following page.[footnoteRef:11] [11:  Special  education services, as explained in 19 TAC §89.63(c)(1), may include  indirect, and/or consultative services by a special education teacher.  See Coding Chart 1: PPCD Services and PK for ADA eligibility .] 
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	Change
	2017-2018
	2018-2019

	Revision
	[bookmark: _Toc497205391]5.7.2 Practicum Course Eligibility Requirements
. . .

	
Combination of Classroom Instruction, Work-Based Instruction
	Units of Credit
	CTE Code

	2 hours per day (average)
	2
	V2

	3 hours per day (average)
	3
	V3












	5.7.2 Practicum Course Eligibility Requirements
. . .

	
Combination of Classroom Instruction and Work-Based Instruction (Work-Site or Lab-Based)
	Units of Credit
	CTE Code

	2 hours per day (average)
	2
	V2

	3 hours per day (average)
	3
	V3




	Addition
	5.13.15 Example 15
[none]





	5.13.15 Example 15
A student is enrolled in Welding I, a two-credit course.  The course is scheduled to meet each school day during the school’s 4th and 5th periods. Each class period is 50 minutes (100 total minutes/day). Because of a schedule conflict this student is only able to attend the Welding I class during 5th period.  How many CTE contact hours can be claimed for this student?

Zero.  A student is not eligible to receive any CTE contact hours for partial participation in a CTE course (5.2.3). 



2018-2019 Student Attendance Accounting Handbook: Section 5
Change Document


The terms “exit” and “reclassify,” as used in Section 6 of the handbook, are interchangeable with the term “transfer,” used in the Texas Education Code, Chapter 29, Subchapter B.


	Change
	2017-2018
	2018-2019

	Revision
	[bookmark: _Ref204585420][bookmark: _Toc451953414]6.2 Eligibility
. . . 

The LPAC must designate, subject to parental approval, the initial instructional placement of each ELL in the required program; classify the student’s level of English proficiency according to the results of appropriate tests; designate the level of academic achievement of each ELL student; and recommend the student’s exit from the bilingual or ESL education program.[footnoteRef:12]  [12:  19 TAC §89.1220(g)] 

	6.2 Eligibility
. . . 

 The LPAC must designate, subject to parental approval, the initial instructional placement of each ELL in the required program; classify the student’s level of English proficiency according to the results of appropriate tests; identify the level of academic achievement of each ELL student; and recommend the student’s exit from the bilingual or ESL education program.[footnoteRef:13] [13:  19 TAC §89.1220(g)] 


	Revision and Deletion 
	6.3 Enrollment Procedures

a. If your district is required to provide a bilingual education program, it must administer an OLPT in the home language of each student who is eligible to be served in the bilingual education program. If the home language of the student is Spanish, your district must administer the Spanish version of the TEA-approved OLPT that is administered in English. If the home language of the student is other than Spanish, your district must determine the student’s level of proficiency using informal oral language assessment measures.

b.	If the student is in PK, kindergarten, or grade 1, trained district personnel administer the OLPT in English. If the student tests below the cutoff score (determined by the exam instrument used), the student is considered an ELL as determined by the LPAC. 

c.	If the student is in grades 2 through 12, trained district personnel administer the OLPT. 


	6.3 Enrollment Procedures

1. If your district is required to provide a bilingual education program, trained district personnel must administer an OLPT in the home language of each student who is eligible to be served in the bilingual education program. If the home language of the student is Spanish, your district must administer the Spanish version of the TEA-approved OLPT that is administered in English. 

b.	If the student is in PK, kindergarten, or grade 1, trained district personnel administer the OLPT in English. If the student tests below the cutoff score (determined by the exam instrument used), the student is considered an ELL as determined by the LPAC. 

c.	If the student is in grades 2 through 12, trained district personnel administer the OLPT in English. 


	Revision and Deletion
	6.3.1 Students Who Move to Your District
When a bilingual/ESL student moves to your school district, your district (the receiving district) should immediately begin serving the student in the bilingual or ESL education program while it waits for documentation (LPAC records and assessment information) from the sending district. If your district does not receive this documentation within 4 weeks (20 school days) of the student’s enrollment in your district, your district must go through the standard identification and assessment procedures in order to code the student as an ELL in a bilingual education or an ESL program. Your district should make diligent, documented attempts to get the required documentation from the sending district to avoid possible miscoding.

	6.3.1 Students Who Move to Your District
When a bilingual/ESL student moves to your school district, your district (the receiving district) should immediately begin serving the student in the bilingual or ESL education program while it works actively to secure documentation (LPAC records and assessment information) from the sending district. In the event that no LPAC records are received from the sending district, district should make multiple diligent, documented attempts to get the required documentation from the sending district to avoid possible miscoding. If your district does not receive this documentation within 4 weeks (20 school days) of the student’s enrollment in your district, your district must go through the standard identification and assessment procedures in order to code the student as an ELL in a bilingual education or an ESL program.

	Revision and Deletion
	6.4 Eligibility of Your District’s Bilingual or ESL Education Program for State Funding

1. A student is served in a full-time bilingual instructional program by staff members certified or on permit to teach bilingual education. The amount of instruction in each language (the student’s home language and English) must be commensurate with the student’s level of proficiency in both languages and the student’s level of academic achievement. ELL students must be provided instruction in language arts, mathematics, science, health, and social studies both in their home language and in English. The appropriate bilingual program type code should be recorded for each student served in a bilingual program.

2.	A student is provided instruction in ESL by staff members certified or on permit to teach ESL or bilingual education. In PK through grade 8, the amount of time accorded to instruction in ESL Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) may vary from the amount of time accorded to instruction in English language arts in the general education program for non-ELL students to a full-time instructional setting using second language acquisition methods. In high school, the ESL program must be consistent with graduation requirements[footnoteRef:14]. The LPAC may recommend appropriate services that may include content courses provided through sheltered instructional approaches by trained teachers, enrollment in ESL courses, additional state elective English courses, and special assistance provided through locally determined programs. The appropriate ESL program type code should be recorded for each student served in an ESL program. [14:  under 19 TAC Chapter 74] 


	[bookmark: _Toc497205411]6.4 Eligibility of Your District’s Bilingual or ESL Education Program for State Funding

1. A student is served in a full-time bilingual instructional program by staff members certified to teach bilingual education. The amount of instruction in each language (the student’s home language and English) must align with TEA guidelines specific to either transitional bilingual programs (early exit, late exit) or dual language programs (one-way, two-way). The appropriate bilingual program type code should be recorded for each student served in a bilingual program.

2.	A student is provided instruction in ESL by staff members certified to teach ESL or bilingual education. In PK through grade 8, teachers integrate the English Language Proficiency Standards (ELPS) using second language acquisition methods while delivering content instruction, either via pull-out or content-based ESL programming. In high school, the ESL program must be consistent with graduation requirements[footnoteRef:15]. The LPAC may recommend appropriate services that may include content courses provided through sheltered instructional approaches by trained teachers, enrollment in ESL courses, additional state elective English courses, and special assistance provided through locally determined programs. The appropriate ESL program type code should be recorded for each student served in an ESL program. [15:  under 19 TAC Chapter 74] 




	Revision
	[bookmark: _Toc497205415]6.7 Bilingual and ESL Education Services Your District Is Required to Provide

1. bilingual education in PK through the elementary grades;

2.	bilingual education, instruction in English as a second language, or other TEA-approved transitional language instruction in middle school; and
. . . 

2. For all other ELL students in grades 9 through 12, LPAC documentation must reflect appropriate services to meet the student’s needs. For example, LPAC documentation may indicate that a student will enroll in state elective English courses to strengthen his or her English skills, enroll in ESL courses for local credit, participate in tutorials, or be assigned to teachers with training in sheltered instruction or training in ESL methods.

	6.7 Bilingual and ESL Education Services Your District Is Required to Provide
1. bilingual or ESL education in PK through the elementary grades;

2.	bilingual education or instruction in English as a second language in middle school; and

. . . 

b.	For all other ELL students in grades 9 through 12, LPAC documentation must reflect appropriate services to meet the student’s needs. For example, LPAC documentation may indicate that a student will enroll in state elective English courses to strengthen his or her English skills, enroll in ESL courses for local credit, participate in tutorials, or be assigned to teachers with training in sheltered instruction. 



	Revision and Deletion
	6.8 Withdrawal/Reclassification
. . . 

1. A student is withdrawn from the bilingual or ESL education program if:

· the LPAC classifies the student as English proficient when the student attains the required exit criteria as stated in the TEC, §29.056(g) (see 6.2 Eligibility
· . . . 
· ); or

· the parent requests in writing to remove his or her child from the program and place the child in a general education classroom; or

· the student withdraws from (leaves) the district (not exits from the bilingual or ESL education program).

	6.8 Exit Procedures/Reclassification
. . . 

1. A student is withdrawn from the bilingual or ESL education program if:

· the LPAC classifies the student as English proficient when the student attains the required exit criteria as stated in the TEC, §29.056(g) (see 6.2 Eligibility
· . . . 
· ); or

· the parent requests in writing to remove his or her child from the program and place the child in a general education classroom; or



	Revision
	6.8.1 Effective Date of Withdrawal
For a student who withdraws from the district, the date the student withdraws is considered the effective date of change. District personnel record the effective date in the attendance accounting system, and eligible bilingual/ESL days are no longer accumulated from that date forward.

	6.8.1 Effective Date of Campus/District Withdrawal
For a student who withdraws from a campus/district, the date the student withdraws is considered the effective date of change. District personnel record the effective date in the attendance accounting system, and eligible bilingual/ESL days are no longer accumulated from that date forward.


	Revision
	[bookmark: _Toc497205420]6.8.4 Continuation of Bilingual or ESL Education Program Services After a Student Has Met Exit Criteria
A student who has met the exit criteria for being transferred (transitioned/exited/reclassified) out of the bilingual or ESL education program may continue to participate in the program, with school and parental approval. However, such a student is not eligible to generate bilingual/ESL ADA.

	6.8.4 Continuation of Bilingual or ESL Education Program Services After a Student Has Met Exit Criteria
A student who has met the exit criteria for being reclassified out of the bilingual or ESL education program may continue to participate in the program, with school and parental approval. However, such a student is not eligible to generate bilingual/ESL ADA.


	Revision and Addition
	[bookmark: _Ref234914354][bookmark: _Toc497205422]6.10 Teacher Certification Requirements
The following paragraphs describe the certification requirements for teachers of bilingual and ESL education program courses.

	6.10 Teacher Certification Requirements
The following paragraphs describe the certification requirements for teachers of bilingual and ESL education program courses. Funding is generated by a Local Education Agency (LEA) if a student is identified as an ELL and is being served in a Bilingual or ESL program.


	Revision and Addition
	6.10.1 Students in Grades PK through 5
Students in grades PK through 5 (or through 6, if grade 6 is clustered with elementary grades) who are counted for funding in the bilingual education program must be served by bilingual-certified staff members. 

	[bookmark: _Ref324846675][bookmark: _Toc497205423]6.10.1 Students in Grades PK through 5
Students in grades PK through 5 (or through 6, if grade 6 is clustered with elementary grades) who are counted for funding in the transitional bilingual education program (early exit, late exit) must be served by bilingual-certified staff members. In dual language programs (one-way, two-way), a teacher assigned to the component of the program provided in a language other than English must hold a bilingual teaching credential. A teacher assigned to the component of a dual language program provided in English must be certified by the board in either bilingual education or English as a second language.


	Revision and Addition
	6.11.1 Home Language Survey Requirements
Your district must conduct only one home language survey for each student.

Your district must administer home language surveys to students new to the district for whom a survey has never been completed (in Texas) or for whom a copy of the survey cannot be located within 
20 school days. Your district should not administer the home language survey to a student for whom a survey is currently on file with the district.

Your district must require that the survey be signed by the student’s parent or guardian for students in PK through grade 8, or by the student for students in grades 9 through 12. 

For a student moving from one district to another within Texas, the original copy of the home language survey or a copy of the original copy of the home language survey must be kept in the student’s record. If the original copy or a copy of the original copy is not included in the student’s record, then a new home language survey must be conducted by the receiving district.

	[bookmark: _Ref201466486][bookmark: _Toc497205427]6.11.1 Home Language Survey Requirements
When a student enrolls in a Texas school for the very first time, the Home Language Survey is completed. This original Home Language Survey is retained in the student’s record over the course of the student’s educational career. 

Your district must administer home language surveys to students new to the district: 
· for whom a survey has never been completed (in Texas);
·  or for whom a copy of the survey cannot be located within 
20 school days (after multiple documented attempts). 

Your district should not administer the home language survey to a student for whom a survey is currently on file with the district.

Your district must require that the survey be signed by the student’s parent or guardian for students in PK through grade 8, or by the student for students in grades 9 through 12. Electronic parent signatures are permissible.


	Revision
	[bookmark: _Ref298752420][bookmark: _Toc497205429]6.11.3 LPAC Recommendation and Parental Approval Requirements
A district may identify a student as an ELL, exit a student from a program, or place a student in a program without written approval of the student’s parent or guardian if:
. . . 

4. a parent or guardian has not objected in writing to the Adopted entry, exit, or placement.[footnoteRef:16] [16:  19 TAC §89.1220(m)] 


	6.11.3 LPAC Recommendation and Parental Approval Requirements
The LPAC may identify a student as an ELL, exit a student from a program, or place a student in a program without written approval of the student’s parent or guardian if:
. . . 

4. a parent or guardian has not objected in writing to the proposed entry, exit, or placement.[footnoteRef:17] [17:  19 TAC §89.1220(m)] 



	Deletion
	[bookmark: _Toc492022180]6.11.4 Proof That a Student Has Been Served in an Eligible Bilingual or ESL Education Program
Proof (such as grade books, student Academic Achievement Records [AARs], class rosters, or all of these) must also exist that a student is:

· served in a full-time bilingual instructional program by staff members certified or on permit to teach bilingual education,

· provided instruction in ESL by staff members certified or on permit to teach ESL or bilingual education for the amount of time accorded to English language arts in the regular instructional program,

· provided sheltered instruction as recommended by the LPAC (students in grades 9 through 12 may receive services other than ESL), or

· served in a program approved by the TEA under an exception or a waiver.

	[none]

	Addition
	[bookmark: _Ref298752604][bookmark: _Toc497205431]6.12 Quality Control
At the beginning of each semester and at the end of each 6-week reporting period, the appropriate bilingual/ESL staff members should verify the Student Detail Report to ensure that a student’s coding is correct.

	6.12 Quality Control
At the beginning of each semester and at the end of each 6-week or 9-week reporting period, the appropriate bilingual/ESL staff members should verify the Student Detail Report to ensure that a student’s coding is correct.


	Addition
	[none]
	6.13.6 Example 6
A student is enrolled in a one-way dual language program starting in kindergarten and meets criteria for program exit at the end of 4th grade. The district’s dual language program extends to the secondary level. The LPAC documents the student’s reclassification but recommends that the student continue participation in the dual language program.

If the student’s parent approves, your district may continue to serve the student in the dual language program for the entire program duration. This is true for all students participating in a one-way or two-way dual language program because continued program participation leads to attainment of the district’s biliteracy goals. This is also true for any student that participated in ESL or transitional bilingual programming who wishes to continue participation after reclassification. However, your district must not claim the student for bilingual/ESL state funds. Funds must not be collected even though the LPAC recommended placement in the program and the Home Language Survey indicates a language other than English because the student has met criteria for reclassification. 




2018-2019 Student Attendance Accounting Handbook: Section 6
Change Document

22

	Change
	2017-2018
	2018-2019

	Addition
	[none]

	[bookmark: _Toc497205443]7.2.7.1 Documentation Required
The Office of the Governor, Criminal Justice Division honors recipients annually in September. The resolution (certificate) awarded to an individual, serves as proof of eligibility to enroll these children in free prekindergarten if they are age-eligible. A list of past honorees may be viewed on the Criminal Justice Division—Past Honorees webpage. Honorees may also provide a letter from their local representative as documentation for eligibility. If an individual has a prekindergarten-aged child and has been nominated but not notified as an honoree prior to the current school year, that individual may make a request that the Early Childhood Education Division to determine eligibility based on the nomination submitted for review to the Criminal Justice Division[footnoteRef:18]. [18:  Office of the Governor Past Star of Texas Awards] 



	Revision
	[bookmark: _Ref265241189][bookmark: _Ref386793451][bookmark: _Toc497205446]7.5 Eligible Days Present and ADA Eligibility
. . . 
Note: The 2-through-4-hour rule includes recess and in-class meals. For funding purposes classroom time includes recess and in-class meals.

	7.5 Eligible Days Present and ADA Eligibility
. . . 
Note: The 2-through-4-hour rule includes recess and in-class breakfast. For funding purposes, instructional time includes recess and in-class breakfast.
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	Deletion
	[bookmark: _Ref358893579][bookmark: _Toc497205508][bookmark: _Ref265242583]11.3.1 Dual Credit (High School and College or University) Programs

A public junior college, college, or university may offer a course in which a high school student may enroll and for which the student may simultaneously receive both high school and college credit. 

	11.3.1 Dual Credit (High School and College or University) Programs

A public junior college, college, or university may offer a course in which a high school student may enroll and for which the student may receive both high school and college credit. 


	Addition
	11.3.1 Dual Credit (High School and College or University) Programs
. . . 
[none]

	11.3.1 Dual Credit (High School and College or University) Programs
. . . 
The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB) may offer courses under which a licensed hospital (bill requires one hospital located in a county that borders the United Mexican States and that has population of at least 700,000 and not more than 800,000) may offer dual credit courses to high school students enrolled in a school district in partnership with the district[footnoteRef:19]. [19: HB 2937] 



	Addition
	11.6 Optional Flexible School Day Program (OFSDP)
. . . 
· Weekend or night classes
· Extended day classes
· Classes offered throughout the year
· Flexible schedules
· Credit recovery classes (Your district may offer these classes during the summer recess for students who have not earned a full ADA during the school year. A student cannot earn more than the equivalent of one ADA in a year.) 

	11.6 Optional Flexible School Day Program (OFSDP)
. . . 
· Weekend or night classes
· Extended day classes
· Classes offered throughout the year
· Flexible schedules
· Credit recovery classes (Your district may offer these classes during the summer recess for students who have not earned a full ADA during the school year. A student cannot earn more than the equivalent of one ADA in a year.) 
· A dropout recovery program in which courses are conducted online


	Addition 
	[bookmark: _Toc499790607]11.6.1 Student Eligibility
. . . 
· the student is at risk of dropping out of school, as defined by the TEC, §29.081,
· the student is attending a school implementing an approved innovative campus plan, 
· the student is attending a school with an approved early college high school program designation, or
· the student, as a result of attendance requirements under the TEC, §25.092, will be denied credit for one or more classes in which the student has been enrolled; and
· the student, if less than 18 years of age and not emancipated by marriage or    
court order, and the student’s parent, or person standing in parental relation to the student, agree in writing to the student’s participation. 

	11.6.1 Student Eligibility
. . . 
· the student is at risk of dropping out of school, as defined by the TEC, §29.081,
· the student is attending a school implementing an approved innovative campus plan, 
· the student is attending an online dropout recovery education program, as defined by the TEC, §29.081 (e-2)[footnoteRef:20], [20:  TEC, §29.081 (e-2)] 

· the student is attending a school with an approved early college high school program designation, 
· the student, as a result of attendance requirements
· the student is at risk of dropping out of school, as defined by the TEC, §29.081,
· the student, as a result of attendance requirements under the TEC, §25.092, will be denied credit for one or more classes in which the student has been enrolled; and
· the student, if less than 18 years of age and not emancipated by marriage or    
court order, and the student’s parent, or person standing in parental relation to the student, agree in writing to the student’s participation. 


	Revision
	[bookmark: _Ref428277164][bookmark: _Toc497205514]11.6.2 OFSDP Funding
The OFSDP is not a competitive grant program. The OFSDP program provides an alternative method of attendance accounting. A student must receive 2 hours of instruction in the OFSDP (or in OFSDP and traditional attendance program courses) to generate half-day attendance. A student must receive 4 hours of instruction in the OFSDP (or in OFSDP and traditional attendance program courses) to generate full-day attendance. Funding is based on the total eligible minutes of instructional contact time each student receives. 
The maximum number of instructional minutes allowed each school day, including any classroom time accounted for in traditional courses toward graduation requirements, is 600 minutes, or 10 hours.

Classroom time for the OFSDP is funded at the same rate under the FSP formulas as attendance for a full-time equivalent student. A full-time equivalent student is expected to have 720 instructional contact hours per year. 

	11.6.2 OFSDP Funding
The OFSDP is not a competitive grant program. The OFSDP program provides an alternative method of attendance accounting. A student must receive a minimum of 45 minutes of instruction on any given day to accrue eligible OFSDP minutes for the day. For each 4 hours or 240 minutes of eligible instruction a student receives, the student earns one eligible day present. Eligible days present are then converted to ADA for funding purposes.
The maximum number of instructional minutes allowed each school day, including any instructional time accounted for in traditional courses toward graduation requirements, is 600 minutes, or 10 hours.

Instructional time for the OFSDP is funded at the same rate under the FSP formulas as attendance for ADA in the traditional program; however, a single course cannot accrue more than 10,800 minutes and a full-time equivalent student is expected to have a total of 43,200 minutes of instruction per year to generate one ADA.

	Addition and Revision
	[bookmark: _Toc492022266]11.6.4 Application Process
To participate in the OFSDP, your district must submit an annual application notifying the TEA that it plans to participate. The application requires the following information: implementation plan description, staff plans, schedules, and student attendance accounting security procedures and documentation.

Note: Applications no longer need to be submitted 90 days before the program’s start date.

	[bookmark: _Toc499790610]11.6.4 Attendance Accounting and FSP Funding for OFSDP participation through an Online Dropout Recovery Education Program
If an eligible student participates in a course offered through an online dropout recovery education program at a district or charter school with an approved OFSDP and meets the requirements for enrollment in a Texas public school district or charter school, the student is eligible to generate FSP funding for each course the student successfully completes.  Online dropout recovery education programs must be able to track and report the number of minutes spent by an eligible student in each course so that minutes do not exceed the maximum allowed per course. Districts and charter schools must report ineligible minutes for courses that are not completed successfully.


	Revision
	[bookmark: _Toc497205529]11.8.2 HSEP Attendance Accounting and Funding
. . . 
The maximum number of instructional contact minutes allowed each school day, including any classroom time accounted for in traditional courses toward graduation requirements, is 600 minutes.


	11.8.2 HSEP Attendance Accounting and Funding
. . . 
The maximum number of instructional contact minutes allowed each school day, including any instructional time accounted for in traditional courses toward graduation requirements, is 600 minutes.


	Revision
	11.9.2.1 Entitlement to Continue at Grade Level 

A child of a military family who moves to your district from another member state is entitled to continue enrollment at the same grade level, including kindergarten, that he or she was enrolled in in that other state regardless of the child’s age. The child must be admitted and will be considered to meet minimum age eligibility requirements to generate ADA on presentation of the following:
. . . 



	11.9.2.1 Entitlement to Continue at Grade Level 
A child of a military family who moves to your district from another member state is entitled to continue enrollment at the same grade level, including kindergarten, in which the student was enrolled in the sending state regardless of the child’s age. The child must be admitted and will be considered to meet minimum age eligibility requirements to generate ADA on presentation of the following:
. . . 
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	Revision
	12.2.1.1 Student Eligibility for Full-Time Enrollment in TxVSN Courses or Program
. . .
A student is eligible for full-time enrollment in TxVSN courses or in a TxVSN OLS program only if the student meets one of the following three criteria:

1.	the student was enrolled in a public school in this state in the preceding school year;

2.	the student has been placed in substitute care[footnoteRef:21] in this state, regardless of whether the student was enrolled in a public school in this state in the preceding school year; or
 [21:  Per the Texas Family Code, §263.001(a)(4), “substitute care” means the placement of a child who is in the conservatorship of the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services or an authorized agency in care outside the child’s home. The term includes foster care, institutional care, adoption, placement with a relative of the child, or commitment to the Texas Juvenile Justice Department. ] 

3.	the student:
a.	is a dependent of a member of the United States military;
b.	was previously enrolled in high school in this state; and
c.	no longer resides in this state as a result of a military deployment or transfer.


	12.2.1.1 Student Eligibility for Full-Time Enrollment in TxVSN Courses or Program
. . .
A student is eligible for full-time enrollment in TxVSN courses or in a TxVSN OLS program only if the student meets criteria #1 and #2 in 12.2.1 and also meets one of the following four criteria:

1. the student was enrolled in a public school in this state in the preceding school year; or

2. the student is a dependent of a member of the United States military who has been deployed or transferred to this state and was enrolled in a publicly funded school outside of this state in the preceding year; or

3. the student has been placed in substitute care[footnoteRef:22] in this state, regardless of whether the student was enrolled in a public school in this state in the preceding school year; or
 [22:  Per the Texas Family Code, §263.001(a)(4), “substitute care” means the placement of a child who is in the conservatorship of the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services or an authorized agency in care outside the child’s home. The term includes foster care, institutional care, adoption, placement with a relative of the child, or commitment to the Texas Juvenile Justice Department] 

4. the student:
a.	is a dependent of a member of the United States military;
b.	was previously enrolled in high school in this state; and
c.	no longer resides in this state as a result of a military deployment or transfer.




	Revision
	12.3.5 Distance Learning
. . .

*To reiterate, “remote instruction” means instruction provided through a technology that allows for real-time, two-way interaction between a student and teacher who are in different physical locations.

	[bookmark: _Toc497205545]12.3.5 Distance Learning
. . .

*To reiterate, “remote instruction” means instruction provided through a technology that allows for real-time, two-way audio and two-way video interaction between a student and teacher who are in different physical locations.



	Revision
	[bookmark: _Ref356989510][bookmark: _Toc497205546][bookmark: _Ref356989544][bookmark: _Toc451953542]12.4 On-Campus Online Courses Not Provided through the TxVSN
. . .
· For the duration of the course, a certified[footnoteRef:23] teacher must be present in the room in which the student is taking the course to answer questions and otherwise assist the student.   [23:  For a teacher other than a special education or bilingual/ESL teacher, the requirement that a teacher be certified does not apply to an open-enrollment charter school unless the school’s charter requires that courses be taught by certified teachers. ] 



	12.4 On-Campus Online Courses Not Provided through the TxVSN
. . .
· For the duration of the course, a certified[footnoteRef:24] teacher for the appropriate grade level must be present in the room in which the student is taking the course to answer questions and otherwise assist the student.   [24:  For a teacher other than a special education or bilingual/ESL teacher, the requirement that a teacher be certified does not apply to an open-enrollment charter school unless the school’s charter requires that courses be taught by certified teachers. ] 




	Revision
	[bookmark: _Toc497205547]12.5 Self-Paced Computer Courses
. . .
· For the duration of the course, a certified[footnoteRef:25] teacher must be present in the room in which the student is taking the course to answer questions and otherwise assist the student.   [25:  For a teacher other than a special education or bilingual/ESL teacher, the requirement that a teacher be certified does not apply to an open-enrollment charter school unless the school’s charter requires that courses be taught by certified teachers. ] 



	12.5 Self-Paced Computer Courses
. . .
· For the duration of the course, a certified[footnoteRef:26] teacher for the appropriate grade level must be present in the room in which the student is taking the course to answer questions and otherwise assist the student.   [26:  For a teacher other than a special education or bilingual/ESL teacher, the requirement that a teacher be certified does not apply to an open-enrollment charter school unless the school’s charter requires that courses be taught by certified teachers. ] 






2018-2019 Student Attendance Accounting Handbook: Index
Change Document


	Change
	2017-2018
	2018-2019

	Addition and Deletion
	[bookmark: _Ref234916130][bookmark: _Toc497205548]
Section 13 Appendix: Average Daily Attendance (ADA) and Funding

School Days: School days are the total number of days that classes are held in the school year.  The law requires that districts have 75,600 minutes unless a waiver has been issued to shorten the school year. Charter schools are required to have a 75,600 minutes in the school year minus the number of minutes that are approved for waivers. Maximum funding is based on 75,600 minutes.



	
Section 13 Appendix: Average Daily Attendance (ADA) and Funding

School Days: School days are the total number of days that classes are held in the school year.  The law requires that districts have 75,600 minutes unless a waiver has been issued to shorten the school year Charter schools are not subject to the 75,600-minute requirement. However, state funding is reduced in proportion to the number of minutes by which a charter school’s calendar falls below 75,600 minutes. To receive full funding, a charter school must offer 75,600 minutes (including intermissions and recesses), minus any minutes waived by the TEA in writing, just as a school district is required to.  Maximum funding is based on 75,600 minutes.



	





	Change
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	Revision
	
[bookmark: _Toc137532804][bookmark: _Toc137533297][bookmark: _Toc137533987][bookmark: _Ref319507972][bookmark: _Ref321928784][bookmark: _Ref329935622][bookmark: _Toc173046189][bookmark: _Toc497205551]Glossary

instructional day – That portion of the school day in which instruction takes place. The instructional day includes lunch, recess, intermissions, etc.

operational time – The time of when the first school bell to the last school bell (bell to bell).



	
Glossary

instructional day – That portion of the school day in which instruction takes place. The instructional day includes, recess and in-class breakfast.

operational time – The time between the first instructional school bell and the last instructional school bell (bell to bell).



	Deletion
	
school day – A school day must be at least 7 hours (420 minutes) each day, including intermissions and recesses. Open-enrollment charter schools are not subject to this requirement and may have a shorter school day if their charter so provides.

	
[none]

	Revision
	school year – A period of at least 75,600 (including intermissions and recesses) minutes of instruction. Each school district must operate so that the district provides for at least 75,600 (including intermissions and recesses)  minutes of instruction for students.
	school year – For each school year each school district must operate for at least 75,600 minutes, including time allocated for instruction, intermissions, and recesses for students.





	Change
	2017-2018
	2018-2019

	Revision and Deletion
	
Resources

TSDS PEIMS Data Standards:	http://www.tea.state.tx.us/index4.aspx?id=3014  

[none]


	
Resources

TSDS PEIMS Data Standards:
https://www.texasstudentdatasystem.org/TSDS/TEDS/TEDS_Latest_Release/   

TREX web page: http://tea.texas.gov/index4.aspx?id=25769817556  




	Addition
	Resources

[none]
	Resources

TREX Support…………(512) 463-9229
















