Press Release masthead

TEA News Releases Online Feb. 10, 2014


AUSTIN – The Texas Education Agency (TEA) has notified six open-enrollment charter schools that the revocation process of their charter – established under Senate Bill 2 – will continue.

Six open-enrollment charter schools have met the legislative criteria for mandatory revocation under legislation passed by the 83rd Texas Legislature. Those schools include:

  • American Youthworks (Austin)
  • Azleway Charter School (Tyler)
  • Honors Academy (Farmers Branch)
  • Jamie’s House Charter School (Houston)
  • Koinonia Community Learning Academy (Houston)
  • Richard Milburn Academy (Suburban Houston Campus)

Senate Bill 2 requires mandatory revocation of a charter by the Commissioner of Education if a charter holder has failed to meet academic or financial accountability performance ratings for the three preceding school years. Failure can include three years in one specific area (academic or financial), or any combination of the two.

For the purposes of revocation, the initial three school years where academic performance ratings were considered included 2009-2010, 2010-2011 and 2012-2013. The school years where financial performance ratings were considered included 2010-2011, 2011-2012 and 2012-2013.

The six schools received notice of revocation from TEA in December. Each school subsequently submitted a request for an informal review regarding the decision to revoke. Informal reviews were conducted, and the six schools were notified that the decision to revoke has been upheld.

The six revocations will now be sent to the State Office of Administrative Hearings for a final hearing. The decision of the administrative judge will be final and cannot be appealed. If upheld by an administrative judge, revocation for all six would be effective June 30, 2014.