Press Release masthead

TEA News Releases Online April 17, 2014

Two Texas students selected for National Youth Science Camp


AUSTIN – The Texas Education Agency today announced that two students have been selected to represent Texas as delegates to the 2014 National Youth Science Camp. The National Youth Science Camp, one of the nation’s premier programs in secondary science education, is an annual summer forum where two delegates representing each state exchange ideas with leading scientists and other professionals from academic and corporate worlds.

Selected by the National Science Youth Foundation, delegates who are chosen to represent each state must have demonstrated exceptional academic achievement, leadership in school and community activities, and a genuine interest in the sciences. The two Texas students selected are:

  • Jennifer Han – a senior at Pflugerville High School in the Pflugerville ISD. Han has conducted research in molecular biology as a University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute Summer Scholar experimenting with proteins that areimplicated in breast cancer.
  • Kyle Sikora – a senior at the Academy of Science and Technology at The Woodlands College Park High School in the Conroe Independent School District. Sikora has analyzed the properties of Magneto-Rheological fluid and has served as a manager of his team during a NASA High School Aerospace Scholars program on-site experience.

Han and Sikora will participate in the National Youth Science Camp, hosted in West Virginia, beginning June 27. As part of the month-long program, lectures and hands-on research projects will be presented by scientists from across the United States.  Camp delegates are challenged to explore new areas in the biological and physical sciences, art, and music with resident staff members.  Delegates also present seminars covering their own areas of research and interest.

In addition to the two state delegates, up to four alternates are also selected. The three alternates for Texas include: Ginikachi Nwagbo of Stony Point High School (Round Rock ISD); Kathy Le of Carl Wunsche Sr. High School (Spring ISD); and Alonso Alejandro from Veterans Memorial High School (Brownsville ISD).

More information about the National Youth Science Camp is available online at and

For additional information on the Texas science curriculum standards, contact Irene Pickhardt,, in the Texas Education Agency Division of Curriculum.