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Health Education Frequently Asked Questions 
August 4, 2023 

 
This document is intended to provide answers to the most commonly asked questions. Questions are 
organized into the following categories: 
 

• General 
• Coordinated School Health Programs 
• Parenting and Paternity Awareness 
• Other Health Education Related Questions 
 
General 
 
1. Are all K-5 schools required to offer health education instruction? 

 
Yes, according to Texas Education Code (TEC) §28.002(a)(2)(B) and 19 Texas Administrative 
Code (TAC) §74.1(a)(2)(B) and §74.2(a), schools must teach the Texas Essential Knowledge and 
Skills (TEKS) for health education. A school district may add elements at its discretion but must 
not delete or omit instruction. 
 
2. Are all 6-8 schools required to offer health education instruction? 
 
Yes, according to TEC §28.002(a)(2)(B) and 19 TAC §74.1(a)(2)(B) and §74.3(a), grades 6-8 
campuses must teach the TEKS for health education. A school district may add elements at its 
discretion but must not delete or omit instruction. 
 
A district must provide instruction in all of the TEKS for grade 6 to students enrolled in that 
grade level.  For grades 7-8, a district must provide instruction in all the TEKS to students in 
grades 7 and/or 8. Districts have the flexibility of when and how to offer the course in whatever 
instructional arrangement they choose. 
 
3. Is health education a state requirement for high school graduation? 
 
No, health education is not a state requirement for high school graduation. However, a local 
school district may offer additional opportunities for students to select health education as an 
elective course.  
  
 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.28.htm#28.002
https://texas-sos.appianportalsgov.com/rules-and-meetings?$locale=en_US&interface=VIEW_TAC_SUMMARY&queryAsDate=03%2F21%2F2025&recordId=201489
https://texas-sos.appianportalsgov.com/rules-and-meetings?$locale=en_US&interface=VIEW_TAC_SUMMARY&queryAsDate=03%2F21%2F2025&recordId=173219
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.28.htm#28.002
https://texas-sos.appianportalsgov.com/rules-and-meetings?$locale=en_US&interface=VIEW_TAC_SUMMARY&queryAsDate=03%2F21%2F2025&recordId=201489
https://texas-sos.appianportalsgov.com/rules-and-meetings?$locale=en_US&interface=VIEW_TAC_SUMMARY&queryAsDate=03%2F21%2F2025&recordId=209686
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4. Are students allowed to take high school health in middle school? 
 
Yes, the 19 TAC §74.26(b) states that districts may offer courses designated for grades 9-12 in 
earlier grade levels. A course must be considered completed and credit must be awarded if the 
student has demonstrated achievement by meeting the standard requirements of the course, 
including demonstrated proficiency in the subject matter, regardless of the time the student 
received instruction in the course or the grade level at which proficiency was attained.  
 
The academic achievement record (transcript) must reflect that students have satisfactorily 
completed courses at earlier grade levels than grades 9-12 and have been awarded state 
graduation credits. The teacher must also be appropriately certified to teach high school health. 
 
5.  What are the required number of hours or days needed to complete elementary, middle, 
and high school health education? 

According to 19 TAC §74.2(a), §74.3(a)(1), and §74.3(b)(1), a school district must ensure that 
sufficient time is provided for teachers to teach and students to learn all of the TEKS for the 
course. There are no state-mandated instructional time requirements.   
 
6. Can Health Science Technology courses be substituted for high school health courses? 
 
There is no state graduation requirement for high school health; therefore, substitutions for 
high school health education are a local district’s decision if a district chooses to keep health 
education as a local credit requirement only. For more information, you may view the 
graduation requirements. 
 
7.  What are the requirements for cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR)? 
 
Requirements related to cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) instruction and the use of an 
automated external defibrillator (AED) (as added by House Bill (HB) 4375, 88th Texas 
Legislature) are addressed in TEC §28.0023.   
 
The 19 TAC §74.38, addresses the CPR instruction requirements. Please see below for a 
summary.  
 
Instructional Requirements—must be provided to each student at least once before graduation 
from high school according to TEC §28.0023 and 19 TAC §74.38, which require a school district 
or an open-enrollment charter school to provide instruction to students in grades 7-12 in 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR).  
 
Student Requirement—CPR instruction may be provided as a part of any course. The instruction 
must include training developed by the American Heart Association or the American Red Cross, 
or use nationally recognized, evidence-based guidelines for emergency cardiovascular care and 
incorporate hands-on practice to support cognitive learning. 

https://texas-sos.appianportalsgov.com/rules-and-meetings?$locale=en_US&interface=VIEW_TAC_SUMMARY&queryAsDate=03%2F21%2F2025&recordId=198724
https://texas-sos.appianportalsgov.com/rules-and-meetings?$locale=en_US&interface=VIEW_TAC_SUMMARY&queryAsDate=03%2F21%2F2025&recordId=173219
https://texas-sos.appianportalsgov.com/rules-and-meetings?$locale=en_US&interface=VIEW_TAC_SUMMARY&queryAsDate=03%2F21%2F2025&recordId=209686
https://texas-sos.appianportalsgov.com/rules-and-meetings?$locale=en_US&interface=VIEW_TAC_SUMMARY&queryAsDate=03%2F21%2F2025&recordId=209686
http://tea.texas.gov/index2.aspx?id=5324
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/88R/billtext/pdf/HB04375F.pdf#navpanes=0
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.28.htm#28.0023
https://texas-sos.appianportalsgov.com/rules-and-meetings?$locale=en_US&interface=VIEW_TAC_SUMMARY&queryAsDate=03%2F21%2F2025&recordId=218927
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.28.htm#28.0023
https://texas-sos.appianportalsgov.com/rules-and-meetings?$locale=en_US&interface=VIEW_TAC_SUMMARY&queryAsDate=03%2F21%2F2025&recordId=218927
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Approved Instructors—A school district or an open-enrollment charter school may use 
emergency medical technicians, paramedics, police officers, firefighters, representatives of the 
American Heart Association or the American Red Cross, teachers, other school employees, or 
other similarly qualified individuals to provide instruction and training. 
 
Certificates of Completion—The required CPR instruction does not have to result in 
certification. If the instruction is intended to result in certification in CPR, the course instructor 
must be authorized to provide the instruction by the American Heart Association, the American 
Red Cross, or a similar nationally recognized association. 
 
Academic Achievement Record—The 19 TAC §74.5(j) states that a student who completes the 
required instruction in CPR as specified in 19 TAC §74.38 in grade 9, 10, 11, or 12 must have 
completion of the CPR instruction clearly indicated on the academic achievement record.  

 
Waivers—A school district or an open-enrollment charter school may waive the requirement 
under this section for a student, who due to a disability, is unable to complete the requirement. 
The determination regarding a student's ability to complete the CPR requirement will be made 
by:  

• the student's admission, review, and dismissal (ARD) committee if the student receives 
special education services under the Texas Education Code (TEC), Chapter 29, 
Subchapter A; or 

• the committee established for the student under Section 504, Rehabilitation Act of 1973 
(29 United States Code, §794) if the student does not receive special education services 
under the TEC, Chapter 29, Subchapter A, but is covered by the Rehabilitation Act of 
1973. 

 
The CPR requirements apply to any student who entered grade 7 in the 2010-2011 school year 
and thereafter.  
 
Coordinated School Health Programs 

8.  What is a coordinated school health (CSH) program? 

The TEC §38.013 states that the agency must make available to each school district one or more 
coordinated school health (CSH) programs in elementary school, middle school, and junior high 
school.  

Each CSH program must provide for coordinating education and services related to:  

1) physical health education, including programs designed to prevent obesity, 
cardiovascular disease, oral diseases, and Type 2 diabetes and programs designed to 
promote the role of proper nutrition;  

https://texas-sos.appianportalsgov.com/rules-and-meetings?$locale=en_US&interface=VIEW_TAC_SUMMARY&queryAsDate=03%2F21%2F2025&recordId=218926
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.38.htm#38.013
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2) mental health education, including education about mental health conditions, mental 
health well-being, skills to manage emotions, establishing and maintaining positive 
relationships, and responsible decision making;  

3) substance abuse education, including education about alcohol abuse, prescription drug 
abuse, and abuse of other controlled substances;  

4) physical education and physical activity; and  
5) parental involvement.  

 
9.  Are school districts required to implement CSH programs? 
 
Yes, the TEC §38.014 requires each school district to participate in appropriate training for the 
implementation of the approved CSH programs under TEC §38.013 and implement CSH 
programs in each elementary school, middle school, and junior high school in the district.   
 
10. Are open enrollment charter schools required to implement CSH programs? 
 
Yes, according to TEC §12.104(b)(3)(K), open-enrollment charter schools are subject to TEC, 
Chapter 38, Health and Safety. 
 
11. Are school districts designated as districts of innovation (DOI) allowed to exempt 
themselves from the CSH program requirement? 
 
No, the TEC §12A.004(a)(1) and 19 TAC §102.1309(a)(1) both state that a local innovation plan 
may not provide for the exemption of a district designated as a DOI from the provision of a 
state or federal requirement applicable to an open-enrollment charter school operating under 
TEC, Chapter 12, Subchapter D. 
 
12.  What are the CSH programs approved by the Texas Education Agency (TEA)? 
 
For a list of CSH programs that have been approved for elementary, middle, and junior high 
school please visit 
http://tea.texas.gov/Texas_Schools/Safe_and_Healthy_Schools/Coordinated_School_Health/A
pproved_Coordinated_School_Health_Programs/.   
 
Parenting and Paternity Awareness 
 
13.  What are the requirements for teaching the parenting and paternity awareness (p.a.p.a.) 
curriculum? 
 
The p.a.p.a. curriculum identified in TEC §28.002(p) and 19 TAC §74.35(a) is required to be 
offered in all public schools and open-enrollment charter schools and incorporated in the 
district or charter's middle or junior high and high school health curriculum. At the discretion of 
the district or charter, a teacher may modify the suggested sequence and pace of the program 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.38.htm#38.014
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.38.htm#38.013
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.12.htm#12.104
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.12A.htm#12A.004
https://texas-sos.appianportalsgov.com/rules-and-meetings?$locale=en_US&interface=VIEW_TAC_SUMMARY&queryAsDate=03%2F21%2F2025&recordId=210432
http://tea.texas.gov/Texas_Schools/Safe_and_Healthy_Schools/Coordinated_School_Health/Approved_Coordinated_School_Health_Programs/
http://tea.texas.gov/Texas_Schools/Safe_and_Healthy_Schools/Coordinated_School_Health/Approved_Coordinated_School_Health_Programs/
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.28.htm#28.002
https://texas-sos.appianportalsgov.com/rules-and-meetings?$locale=en_US&interface=VIEW_TAC_SUMMARY&queryAsDate=03%2F21%2F2025&recordId=143626
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at any grade level. A student under 14 years of age may not participate without parental 
permission. 
  
14.  What are the program components of the p.a.p.a. curriculum? 
 
The 19 TAC §74.35(a)(2) states that the p.a.p.a. program must address parenting skills and 
responsibilities, including child support and other legal rights and responsibilities that come 
with parenthood; address relationship skills, including money management, communication 
skills, and marriage preparation; and skills relating to the prevention of family violence, only if 
the school district's middle, junior high, or high schools do not have a family violence 
prevention program.  
 
15.  Where do school districts and charter schools obtain the p.a.p.a. curriculum? 
 
The p.a.p.a. curriculum materials and training are provided at no cost to school districts and 
charter schools by the Office of the Attorney General (OAG) of Texas. For additional information 
regarding the p.a.p.a. curriculum and training, contact your regional education service center 
(ESC) health program specialist. You may also contact the OAG by calling (512) 463-2100 or 
emailing papa@oag.texas.gov, or visit https://www.texasattorneygeneral.gov/cs/parenting-
and-paternity-awareness-p.a.p.a.  
 
16.  May school districts and charter schools use other materials related to p.a.p.a.? 
 
Yes, the TEC §28.002(p-2) permits a school district or charter school to develop or adopt 
research-based programs and curriculum materials for use in conjunction with the 
requirements for p.a.p.a. The programs and curriculum materials may provide instruction in 
child development, parenting skills, including abuse and neglect prevention; and assertiveness 
skills to prevent teenage pregnancy, abusive relationships, and family violence. 
 
Other Health Education Related Questions 
 
17.  What are the requirements regarding alcohol awareness instruction? 

The TEC §28.002(r) and the 19 TAC §74.35(b) require TEA to provide a list of evidence-based 
alcohol awareness curricula. School districts and open-enrollment charter schools must choose 
from the list a program that is evidence-based for use in the middle school, junior high school, 
and high school health education curriculum. For a list of programs please visit 
https://tea.texas.gov/academics/subject-areas/evidence-based-programs-for-alcohol-
awareness.   

18.  What is meant by an “evidence-based” alcohol awareness program? 
 
The TEC §28.002(r) defines “evidenced-based” as a program, practice, or strategy that has been 
proven to effectively prevent or delay alcohol use among students as determined by 

https://texas-sos.appianportalsgov.com/rules-and-meetings?$locale=en_US&interface=VIEW_TAC_SUMMARY&queryAsDate=03%2F21%2F2025&recordId=143626
mailto:papa@oag.texas.gov
https://www.texasattorneygeneral.gov/cs/parenting-and-paternity-awareness-p.a.p.a
https://www.texasattorneygeneral.gov/cs/parenting-and-paternity-awareness-p.a.p.a
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.28.htm#28.002
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.28.htm#28.002
https://texas-sos.appianportalsgov.com/rules-and-meetings?$locale=en_US&interface=VIEW_TAC_SUMMARY&queryAsDate=03%2F21%2F2025&recordId=143626
https://tea.texas.gov/academics/subject-areas/evidence-based-programs-for-alcohol-awareness
https://tea.texas.gov/academics/subject-areas/evidence-based-programs-for-alcohol-awareness
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.28.htm#28.002
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evaluations that use valid and reliable measures and that are published in peer-reviewed 
journals. 

19.  Do the TEKS for health education address bullying? 
 
The TEC §28.002(s) requires the State Board of Education, in consultation with the Texas School 
Safety Center, to adopt essential knowledge and skills for the health curriculum that include 
evidence-based practices that will effectively address awareness, prevention, identification, 
self-defense in response to, and resolution of and intervention in bullying and harassment. 
 
The TEKS for bullying are addressed in the injury and violence prevention and safety strand. To 
access the health education TEKS please visit 19 TAC, Chapter 115. 
 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.28.htm#28.002
https://texas-sos.appianportalsgov.com/rules-and-meetings?chapter=115&interface=VIEW_TAC&part=2&title=19

	August 4, 2023
	General
	Coordinated School Health Programs
	Parenting and Paternity Awareness
	Other Health Education Related Questions


