

Commissioner Mike Morath

1701 North Congress Avenue • Austin, Texas 78701-1494 • 512 463-9734 • 512 463-9838 FAX • tea.texas.gov

IMPORTANT MONITORING INFORMATION

10/4/2023

CDN 015827 2023-2024

Sent Via Email fshemshack@ssttx.org

Mr. Fawzy Shemshack, Superintendent School of Science and Technology 5300 Wurzbach Rd. STE 800 San Antonio, TX 78238

Subject: Notification of Correction of Noncompliance

Dear Mr. Fawzy Shemshack:

The purpose of this correspondence is to notify the School of Science and Technology of the correction of noncompliance identified in the State Performance Plan (SPP).

School of Science and Technology received notification of noncompliance in a letter dated 10/10/2022 listing the following area(s) of noncompliance:

 SPP 11-Timely Evaluation TEC §29.004; 34 CFR §300.301(d); 34 CFR §300.300(b)(3)

A plan for correction of the noncompliance was included in your corrective action plan. Subsequently, the local education agency (LEA) was required to submit documentation to the Texas Education Agency (TEA) verifying correction for the issue of noncompliance noted above. The documentation submitted by the LEA indicated that this area of noncompliance has been addressed and the noncompliance has been corrected. Therefore, no further action on this issue is required at this time. Mr. Fawzy Shemshack, Superintendent School of Science and Technology Page 2

If you have questions regarding this correspondence, please contact Morgan Hubbard in the TEA Division of Monitoring, Review and Support at (512) 463-9414 or by e-mail at morgan.phillip-hubbard@tea.texas.gov.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Alexander Deputy Commissioner, Office of Special Populations and Monitoring, TEA

Division of Monitoring, Review and Support Texas Education Agency 512-463-9414 reviewandsupport@tea.texas.gov

Cc: Amy Donnelly, Special Education Director, School of Science and Technology Jeff Goldhorn, Executive Director, Region 20 Education Service Center (ESC) Amy Strauch, Special Education Contact, Region 20 ESC Scarlett Papas, Manager, Division of Charter and Virtual Schools Monitoring, TEA Lori Merrell, Director, Division of Monitoring, Review and Support, TEA Edward O'Neill, Executive Director, Department of Special Populations General Supervision TEA