

1701 North Congress Avenue • Austin, Texas 78701-1494 • 512 463-9734 • 512 463-9838 FAX • tea.texas.gov

IMPORTANT MONITORING INFORMATION

4/8/2024

CDN 089-903 2023-2024

Sent Via Email vanaukeni@nixonsmilev.net

Mr. Jeff Vanauken, Superintendent Nixon-Smiley Consolidated Independent School District (CISD) PO BOX 400 Nixon, TX 78140

Subject: Notification of Correction of Noncompliance

Dear Mr. Jeff Vanauken:

The purpose of this correspondence is to notify the Nixon-Smiley Consolidated Independent School District (CISD) of the correction of noncompliance identified in the Cyclical Desk Review.

Nixon-Smiley CISD received notification of noncompliance in a letter dated 4/28/2023 listing the following area(s) of noncompliance:

• IEP Development: PLAAFP

34 Code of Federal Regulations §300.320(a)(1)

 IEP Development: Goals 34 CFR §300.320(a)(2)(i)

A plan for correction of the noncompliance was included in your corrective action plan. Subsequently, the local education agency (LEA) was required to submit documentation to the Texas Education Agency (TEA) verifying correction for the abovementioned noncompliance. The documentation submitted by the LEA indicated that this area of

Mr. Jeff Vanauken, Superintendent Nixon-Smiley Consolidated Independent School District (ISD)

Page 2

noncompliance has been addressed, and the noncompliance has been corrected. Therefore, no further action on this issue is required at this time.

If you have questions regarding this correspondence, please contact Ismael (Angel) Rosales in the TEA Division of Review and Support at (512) 463-9414 or by e-mail at Ismael.Rosales @tea.texas.gov.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Alexander Deputy Commissioner, Office of Special Populations and Monitoring, TEA

Division of Review and Support Texas Education Agency

□: ReviewandSupport@tea.texas.gov

): 512-463-9414



Cc: Jacilyn Wheat, Special Education Director, Nixon-Smiley CISD
Rich Elsasser, Executive Director, Region 13 Education Service Center (ESC)
Laura Abbott, Special Education Contact, Region 13 ESC
Ismael Rosales, Manager, Division of Review and Support, TEA
Lori Merrell, Director, Division of Review and Support, TEA
Edward O'Neill, Executive Director, Department of Special Populations General
Supervision and Monitoring TEA