
  HIGH-QUALITY PREKINDERGARTEN COMPONENT (PK4 Only) – TEACHER QUALIFICATIONS 

Personnel teaching eligible four-year-old students in Texas must be appropriately certified to teach prekindergarten and have an 
“additional qualification.”  

Statute:  TEC §29.167 (b) Commissioner’s Rule:  TAC §102.1003 (d) 
*Updated to reflect changes enacted by House Bill (HB) 2729, 88th Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2023

Options 
(Code Table 

ID) 

Appropriately 
certified to teach 
early childhood 

Additional qualification for teachers in a LEA-provided Prekindergarten Classroom (PK4 Only): 

Option #1 
(Code 01) 

Yes Certification offered through a training center accredited by Association Montesorri Internationale or 
through the Montessori Accreditation Council for Teacher Education  

Option #2 
(Code 03) 

Yes 
Be employed as a prekindergarten teacher in a school district that has ensured specific 
prekindergarten professional development has been met: 

a. Has completed 150 hours of professional development in ECE-specific topics over a consecutive
five-year period; 75 of the 150 hours being in a mentoring/coaching relationship or;

b. Completes 30 hours of ECE-specific professional development annually with 15 of the 30 hours
being in a mentoring/coaching relationship until 150 hours are documented

Option #3 
(Code 05) 

Yes A Child Development Associate (CDA) credential  

Option #4 
(Code 06) 

Yes Documented completion of the Texas School Ready Training Program (TSR Comprehensive)  

Option #5 
(Code 07) 

Yes  *An associate or baccalaureate degree in ECE, Special Education-ECE or a non-ECE degree with 15
units of ECE-specific coursework

Option #6 
(Code 08) 

Yes *At least eight years’ experience of teaching in a nationally accredited child care program or Texas
Rising Star Program

https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/88R/billtext/pdf/HB02729F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://tealprod.tea.state.tx.us/TWEDS/103/0/0/0/CodeTable/List/15911
https://tealprod.tea.state.tx.us/TWEDS/103/0/0/0/CodeTable/List/15911


 HIGH-QUALITY PREKINDERGARTEN COMPONENT (PK4 Only) – TEACHER QUALIFICATIONS (CONTRACT ENTITY) 

Each teacher for a prekindergarten class provided by an entity with which a school district contracts to provide a prekindergarten 
program must: 

(1) be supervised by a person who meets the requirements under Subsection (b); and
(2) have one of the following qualifications

Statute:  TEC §29.167 (b-1) Commissioner’s Rule:  TAC §102.1003 (d) 
Updated to reflect changes enacted by House Bill (HB) 2729, 88th Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2023 

Options 
(Code Table 

ID) 

Appropriately 
certified to 
teach early 
childhood 

Additional qualification for teachers in a Prekindergarten Classroom (PK4 Only) provided by an 
entity with which a school district contracts to provide a Prekindergarten program (29.167 (b-1)): 

Option #1 
(Code 09) 

No Contract Entity - At least two years’ experience of teaching in a nationally accredited child care 
program or Texas Rising Star Program and a Child Development Associate (CDA) credential or another 
early childhood education credential approved by the agency 

Option #2 
(Code 10) 

No Contract Entity - At least two years’ experience of teaching in a nationally accredited child care 
program or Texas Rising Star Program and a certification offered through a training center accredited 
by Association Montessori Internationale or through the Montessori Accreditation Council for Teacher 
Education 

Option #3 
(Code 11) 

No Contract Entity - Been employed as a prekindergarten teacher in a school district that has ensured 
specific prekindergarten professional development requirements have been met 

a. Has completed 150 hours of professional development in ECE-specific topics over a consecutive
five-year period; 75 of the 150 hours being in a mentoring/coaching relationship or;

b. Completes 30 hours of ECE-specific professional development annually with 15 of the 30 hours
being in a mentoring/coaching relationship until 150 hours are documented

Option #4 
(Code 12) 

No Contract Entity- An associate or baccalaureate degree in ECE, Special Education-ECE or a non-ECE 
degree with 15 units of ECE-specific coursework

Option #5 
(Code 13) 

No Contract Entity - At least eight years’ experience of teaching in a nationally accredited child care 
program or Texas Rising Star Program 

https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/88R/billtext/pdf/HB02729F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://tealprod.tea.state.tx.us/TWEDS/103/0/0/0/CodeTable/List/15911
https://tealprod.tea.state.tx.us/TWEDS/103/0/0/0/CodeTable/List/15911



