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Texas Education Agency

PKTEACHER REQUIREMENT (SCHOOL SYSTEMS)
Personnel teaching eligible four-year-old students in Texas must be appropriately certified to teach prekindergarten and
have an “additional qualification.” Statute: TEC 29.167 (b) Commissioner’s Rule: TAC §102.1003 (d)

*See page 2 for requirements specific to entities contracting with a school system to provide a prekindergarten program

Certification offered through a training center accredited by Association Montessori
Internationale or through the Montessori Accreditation Council for Teacher Education

Be employed as a prekindergarten teacher in a school district that has ensured specific
prekindergarten professional development has been met:

a. Has completed 150 hours of professional development in ECE-specific topics over a
consecutive five-year period; 75 of the 150 hours being in a mentoring/coaching
relationship or;

b. Completes 30 hours of ECE-specific professional development annually with 15 of the 30
hours being in a mentoring/coaching relationship until 150 hours are documented

A Child Development Associate (CDA) credential

Documented completion of the Texas School Ready Training Program (TSR Comprehensive)

An associate or baccalaureate degree in ECE, Special Education-ECE or a non-ECE degree with
15 units of ECE-specific coursework

At least eight years’ experience of teaching in a nationally accredited child care program or Texas
Rising Star Program

Be employed as a prekindergarten teacher in a school district with no additional high-quality
prekindergarten qualification
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Texas Education Agency

PKTEACHER REQUIREMENT (CONTRACT ENTITY)
Each teacher for a prekindergarten class provided by an entity with which a school district contracts to provide a prekindergarten program must be appropriately
certified or: (1) be supervised by a person who meets the requirements under Subsection (b); and (2) have one of the following qualifications
Statute: TEC 829.167 (b-1) Commissioner’s Rule: TAC §102.1003
*While certification is not required in a contract entity, if a teacher is certified, supervision is not required. PK4 contract entity teachers would still require an additional
qualification.

Note: The PK Teacher Requirement code should only be reported for teachers serving eligible four-year-old students to comply with the HQPK requirements.
Contract Entity information updated to reflect changes enacted by House Bill 2, 89" Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2025

Options Appropriately

(Code Table certified to Additional qualification for teachers in a Prekindergarten Classroom (PK4) provided by an entity
ID) teach early with which a school district contracts to provide a Prekindergarten program TEC 829.167 (b-1):
childhood
Obtion #1 Contract Entity - At least two years’ experience of teaching in a nationally accredited child care
(Cpode 09) No program or Texas Rising Star Program and a Child Development Associate (CDA) credential or
another early childhood education credential approved by the agency
Contract Entity - At least two years’ experience of teaching in a nationally accredited child care
Option #2 program or Texas Rising Star Program and a certification offered through a training center

(Code 10) No accredited by Association Montessori Internationale or through the Montessori Accreditation

Council for Teacher Education

Contract Entity - Been employed as a prekindergarten teacher in a school district that has ensured
specific prekindergarten professional development requirements have been met
a. Has completed 150 hours of professional development in ECE-specific topics over a

%ﬁ:’:ﬁ? No consecutive five-year period; 75 of the 150 hours being in a mentoring/coaching relationship
or;
b. Completes 30 hours of ECE-specific professional development annually with 15 of the 30
hours being in a mentoring/coaching relationship until 150 hours are documented
Option #4 No Contract Entity- An associate or baccalaureate degree in ECE, Special Education-ECE or a non-ECE
(Code 12) degree with 15 units of ECE-specific coursework
Option #5 No Contract Entity - At least eight years’ experience of teaching in a nationally accredited child care
(Code 13) program or Texas Rising Star Program
Option #6 No Contract Entity — employed as a prekindergarten teacher in a school district with no additional high-

(Code 99) quality prekindergarten qualifications




