Senate confirms Bahorich as SBOE chair

The Texas Senate on March 14 unanimously confirmed the reappointment of Donna Bahorich as chair of the State Board of Education. The two-year appointment runs through Feb. 1, 2019. 

“I’m honored that Gov. Abbott and the Texas Senate have affirmed their confidence in me to continue to chair the State Board of Education. Along with my fellow board members, I look forward to continuing our efforts to strengthen curriculum standards, approve high quality textbooks, increase transparency in both curriculum standards development and textbooks adoption, and provide oversight to the $37 billion Permanent School Fund,” Bahorich said. 

Bahorich, R-Houston, was initially elected to the board in 2012. The governor, who selects the chair from one of the 15 elected board members, first appointed Bahorich as chair in June 2015. On Jan. 24, he reappointed her to a second term. 

The Senate in March also confirmed the governor’s appointment of Mike Morath as commissioner of education. Morath took office on Jan. 4, 2016. His term expires on Jan. 15, 2019.